Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Peeler

by Catquatwa - Compo Entry

Once, the earth was just a place where fruit lived. Then the human man came (You). He was a monster (As in really mean). The apples, pears and other fruit ran into a pit and died while the bananas where left. You must peel the bananas and throw away the rotten purple ones.
*****************************************************************************
**If you get an error, then you need to install the version that is missing of .NET**

NOTE: I don't care about bad ratings :) I made this game for fun. If there are any errors it will be not installing (See Above) or something else (I don't know what). The music was made on the first day, and the game was on the second.

My Other games: http://h-games.co.uk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#266Humor3.19
#656Audio1.78
#853Mood2.06
#897Innovation1.95
#915Graphics1.68
#922Theme2.08
#933Fun1.82
#963Overall1.82

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:37pm

ahahaha vaery fun!!!

razavidn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Sadly won't install for me! Some kind of .NET error?

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:46pm

You should separate the source and game into different downloads, the file size is pretty massive :o

pighead10 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Erm. What?

Shinmera says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:48pm

I'm guessing this is one of those joke entries or something.

Cosine says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Gives me an error when I throw...

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Overall I found this game okay, the concept was very innovative but when it came to gameplay it wasn't very fun. I found that the rotten bananas were pointless as I found that if I just kept mashing peel I ended up with more points then if I was careful to throw away the rotten ones. (this could probably be solved by making rotten bananas a lot more common which would probably make it quite a fun game) The banana animation was a quite a nice touch actually so I upped you in the graphics since you couldn't really exhibit it anywhere else. The soundtrack was quite nice and the game was really funny (especially the back story) the mood was okay and the audio helped it. It suited the theme perfectly in an extremely unique way. Overall I found this could have been great but since the rotten bananas aren't common enough to be remotely a problem it ended up being boring after the first try, good concept but poor execution well done though.

MegasDragos1 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Unfortunately it won't install. Sorry!

Graham Weldon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:08am

.NET failure here

Simonaiso says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:36am

Doesn't run for me; what do I need to do with .NET? I love bananas.

Catquatwa says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:15pm

If Anyone gets a .NET error, that is explained in the Description

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:22pm

I dunno, I'm sort of an apple person, so this game doesn't really speak to me as well as it could...

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:10am

You should add more pictures of bananas to make the player more hesitate! Using keyboard input might be better than the mouse to make the game more nervous

goodbadokay says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:24am

Banana banana banana banana111!!!

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:03am

This would be a fun game if it were in a frenetic rhythm! Like time limits and leader boards. Although the animation was cool some polishment with the visual would be nice too

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:02am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

ChimeraAnt says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:33am

cant play

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Nice

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]