Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Clumsea

by Loutrattitude - Jam Entry

CLUMSEA is a small fun game created in 72 hours for Ludum Dare 33.

Story : because of climate change, tornadoes increased their presence over the oceans. One day, while you were hunting some nice and crispy giant prawns near the surface, one of those big tornadoes sucked you out of the water and spat you to the ground in the middle of a big human city. But as you guessed, move on earth is a hell of a job!

In this game, you control this giant sea animal (in post jam version there are TWO different monsters!) and you have to make your way back to the ocean. But be careful, don't destroy everything trying to reach your goal ! Maybe moving through small roads and building is not easy as it seems!

Made in Unity 5. Sound powered by fmod.

Controls :
WASD or Arrow Keys to move your character ( AZERTY keyboard may not be working if you don't change the input manually at launch )
Mouse to move the camera
Space bar / Enter to validate in the menus
ESC or R to restart the level

You can choose between two version : 1.0 is the deadline version. 1.2 is the one we released a few hours after.

Version 1.0 :
Version 1.0 is the Jam version. No menu, no victory condition.

Version 1.2 :
You can choose one of the two characters available, in game tutorial, victory and defeat conditions. More things to destroy. You also have some bugs coming with it ! But they are awesome, trust us !

Team :
Code by Cyril Savary, Julien Delample
Game Design by Mathieu Labelle
Art by Romain Renault, Arthur Maugendre, Arthur Pin
Sound Design by Tomavatars

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#93Humor(Jam)3.78
#163Fun(Jam)3.60
#201Overall(Jam)3.63
#237Audio(Jam)3.45
#244Theme(Jam)3.80
#250Graphics(Jam)3.95
#290Mood(Jam)3.43
#373Innovation(Jam)3.21

Comments

lebrokholic says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:33am

Wow! Simply, wow! Extremely cool monster, I definitely like him!

Leuthil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:34am

Haha this game is awesome. Love the concept, the graphics, and the monster :) It felt super hard to control though and I realized it's because it seems like only SD (Down and Right) seem to be working? Not sure why that is but it was pretty funny either way.

Ferret says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:35am

I really liked this game! The controls are kind of wonky though, maybe that's the point? I really liked the music and design of the world, it was fun falling through building. An odd thing happened though around the skyscraper area, my dude couldn't destroy anything anymore, including the fire hydrants :(

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:37am

Entertaining game, but the controls were tough to get a hang of. Fun for the smashing of things though, nice work!

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:37am

I was a giant seeming drunk lobster who crushed a city. The building destruction is awesome forget making it to the goal. **** the police. Truly we are the monsters.

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:07am

A bit hard to control but the graphics, music and the overall gameplay makes this a fantastic game. Good work!

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:08am

Ups, forgot to rate!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:49am

controls didn't work for me, no idea why, i have usual qwerty keyboard, esc worked nothing else :/

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:58am

The falling is pretty comical, the music/sound effects go great with the game. Great job!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:33am

Hahaha... It's really, really fun to play! Well polished and nice graphics!

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:02am

Hahah! Very nice game. Didnt really get a hold of the controls, but the results were very fun xD

QuexD says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:58am

I try so hard to do good but all I do is evil. 5/5

TheMiggo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:50am

Looks and sounds really polished.
Movement was a bit annoying in my opinion. It was also hard to see where the sea is.

MoreRPG Team says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Awesome destruction!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:48pm

LobsterApocolypse! I love it.

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:32pm

OS/X build, please? :P

Dejvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:34pm

funny game but really hard to control to the point, that it becomes annoying. otherwise, quite well made game.

blahgyn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Controls were little hard, but awesome game!

Dibasis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:54pm

I like the game, however the monster is really hard to control as when you tap a button it goes flying and continues to move in that direction, plus W and A dont work (only S and D) arrow keys work fine however. Like being able to restart using ESC, ended up smashing the houses instead of trying to get to the ocean as it seemed like a more fun approach

Loutrattitude says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Thank you for your kind words everyone, the team still work to fix all the remaining major bugs, and optimize the whole game.
For all of you criticizing the monster movements : we know :D ! It's one of our intention to really challenge the player, and make him re-learn what he know about third person games.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Being a drunk giant lobster is hilarious

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:56am

I didn't really know how to control the monster, but I laughed a lot, so I think it's job well done!

BOBANY says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:41am

Very cool, dont have much control over the monster

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Haha, this was pretty fun. Hard to know exactly when you're in control or not but it was satisfying getting a long run of destruction.

dydx says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:54am

Hey, I came here to let you know I added ZQSD support to my game.

Also, the Mac build of your game doesn't seem to work :(
Lemme know if you get it working!

sprawl says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:32am

Once you get the hang of it, it gets really fun ! Destroyable meshes are always fun to toy with.

It's a shame there was no win screen when I reached the sea :(

Goob job, very fun game !

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:24am

Cool game, fun concept and good art/music to go with it!
I like that you can refill your health by breaking the red water thingies (don't know how it's called in english ^^)
Would be nice to have something telling you where to go or what distance you have left to cover.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Hilarious game! Loved the art. Was fun to watch him stumble into buildings. Once I learned what I was supposed to do, it was a lot more fun. Would suggest making the beginning of the level much easier, with room to play around and get comfortable with the controls and then slowly increasing the difficulty

Team Myopia says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:30am

Awesome job. Using WASD didn't seem to control the same as the arrow keys, only S seemed to work.

Some sort of guide to tell you where to go would be very helpful.

Loutrattitude says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:42pm

@Team Myopia : You can follow the road to reach your goal ... But the city has many traps and dead ends :D

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:55pm

cute waggle!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:47pm

A drunk monster in a town! It's fun good job!

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:27am

Funny game and technically impressive Congrats! I finish with -16597 :)

aaronsnoswell says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:50am

Solid 5/5! Love it!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Awesome game! Congrats!

NeanderG says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Cool game. Nice physics on the monster and buildings. There was no end tho (played the jam version). Overal enjoyed it.

Linus123xbb says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Good game, I played the jam version which was fun to crash into buildings and the destructive buildings were awesome. The controls were quite strange but I guess that was intentional.

KaiseanGames says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Never found the ocean, but wasn't destroying the houses totally fun? :)

Polyganz says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:02am

the controls make this basically unplayable :(

superfreak says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Hilariously fun mechanics encased in a simple but attractive graphic world - excellent job, thoroughly enjoyed going on a horrifying destruction spree.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:47am

Loved this game! I feel like you guys took the theme in a very original direction! It's almost like Octodad but for the Ludum Dare! Well done. :D

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:19am

Really really cool job. Nice and colourful and well polished!

Oct 8, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Funny, challenging game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/0AIZTu6ja8E

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]