Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Sales of a Deathman

by superfluous - Jam Entry

In this game, you play as a car salesman who can make any deal. Whether it's new, used, or certified pre-owned, you can sell it. Try to make as much money as possible before your end-of-week review! You are the master of profits. You are the master of making families happy. You are the master of pushing merchandise that may or may not get those families home.

You are the monster.


____________________________________________________________________________________

This is our first Ludum Dare!

We are:

David (@davidthelazar): programming/concept/writing
Danielle (@panielle): art/concept

All code written in Monkey X, all art made with Aseprite.

The gameplay and presentation are admittedly pretty simple, but since this is our first game we wanted to make sure it was something we could finish for the jam. This also meant we had to cut back on including additional art/audio. If it makes you feel like a monster (or at least laugh once), it's successful enough for us!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#59Humor(Jam)3.98
#318Innovation(Jam)3.29
#555Fun(Jam)3.02
#558Theme(Jam)3.41
#667Graphics(Jam)3.07
#682Mood(Jam)2.91
#745Overall(Jam)2.98

Comments

disperse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:59am

I love those eyebrows...

johnhattan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:01am

Amusing theme. Wasn't quite sure what the strategy was. Liked the little humor bits thrown in.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:56am

"The windshield wipers weren't waxed well, killing the Berensteins instantly."
Presentation is a bit dull, and not much "gameplay" but it's a very funny game.

shiroookami says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57am

An interesting game. Fun and humorous theme. Loved it.

Darius says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Fun game, just killed a bunch of peoples

Razoric says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Haha we did have a similar take on the theme! Great job! :D

cudabear says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Wow, this was a blast to play! I had the most interesting mix of satisfaction and remorse when people's cars blew up. Then laughed when I found out the "seats ground to a hault" or the "wipers exploded". These are some seriously crappy cars!

I like the graphics but some variety in the people, like the cars are, would be nice! Audio is also a little too simplistic for my tastes.

My only gameplay complaint is there is a lot of arbitrary numbers to remember, I think it would be better if the numbers are on the screen at all time, since the real gameplay is in deciding whether or not to give them a decent car or go for the profit.

lukepilgrim says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:18pm

not much gameplay, but it was fun to play :)could use a little more sounds

dos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:52pm

I am the monster.

BtheDestroyer says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:01am

Not bad! One of the first games I actually played to completion!
There could have been more depth here like having the player set the initial price then have them and the AI buyers haggle a bit as well as allowing the player to show one car that was wrong on purpose then switch over to another one that was more appealing to make it seem even better.

Jawesome says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:38am

it was horrible, as in "kill myself" horrible...

I LOVE IT!

pkenney says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:45am

Fun concept, I wish there was a bit more of a challenge to it, but I had a good time!

lemer says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Game concept is really good. That's a great idea. Well done.

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Oh man, I know those salesmen. Fun game :D

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:26pm

"Hey there, Bon Jovi! Would you perhaps like to get murdered today?"

collaboration says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Hm, mixed feelings, it's funny, and there must be some strategy, but in other hand - who is the monster? Perhaps a small tutorial will be heplful, anyway, I like it!

dydx says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:51am

I like your take on the theme. Very funny, nicely done.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:21am

nice concept and graphics!

i was a little confused about how to pick the right car though

i like the cars

Infernal says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:23am

such an evil salesman!

Reisen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:36am

Very funny, loved it.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Hilarious! Great game.

jk5000 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Great humor

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:58pm

You are a monster :D I just see car's salesman, playing your game with a smile on his face.

yuigoto says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:25am

Hahaha! Did I just had a good laugh by selling some "shady" cars to buyers on a tight budget? What a monster I am! :P

The moment I read "The seats burst, killing the [family] instantly...you made profit today" I burst laughing here. I'd feel really bad if it wasn't this fun. :D

The graphics and sound reminded me of old DOS adventure games.

Nice take on the theme, really! You made us all real monsters! :)

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:28pm

I love the concept of this game! Great job!

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:00am

that was fun! dint't expect to kill a family of 3 with that sale! sorry!

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:06am

$7841 in profit! Sure there were a few deaths, but the money is good! "The 14.7% APR burst, killing the Berensteins instantly." Very funny and amusing game!

Shaun LeBron says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:31am

really like the concept. I was biting my nails after making a sale, hoping the car wouldn't explode. but those damn premium all weather floor mats...

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:56pm

I was hoping for random explosions and was not disappointed haha! Nice use of the theme, nice artwork too! I'm not sure how much my choices mattered though, the customers never objected to any car i showed them so i just raked in the cash. Maybe i am the monster.

Goutye says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:48pm

What a use of the theme! Eyebrows ahah!
I chose wisely only one time I think because the car didn't explode! Otherwise, I made huge profit! Thank for the fun!

Hectigo says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:25am

The game would have been so much better with some music to go with it. That said, it's a good concept and the randomly generated mechanical issues are great. Some deeper strategy with dead clients generating negative reputation and thus also affecting sales might make the gameplay deeper.

freaknarf says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:18am

Fun game ! cool pixel art and mood, it seemed a bit easy/random but nice interpretation and use of the theme, i felt quite evil. I almost wanted to do this job when I killed Bon Jovis' family...

bombjack says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:47am

not my type of game but the idea is there.

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:17am

"The windshield wipers flip, killing the Blarts instantly" lol... man if I had a nickel for every time that's happened.

Very silly game, great work!

zatyka says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 3:58am

Great idea. I enjoyed playing, but was disappointed that there was no meaningful ending.

Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:19am

Quite the interesting use of the theme! I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/OjNOJwfYtGQ

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]