Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Fighters

by REIN1 - Compo Entry

Monsters always beat each others...

Player 1:
using keys AD to move character,using key W to jump and using key J and K to attack opponent.

Player2:
using arrow keys Left,Right to move character,using Up arrow key to jump and using Keypad 0 and Keypad dot to attack opponent.

Tips:In title scene, press right Enter key to choose Piggy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#351Humor2.96
#416Fun3.10
#493Overall3.10
#494Graphics3.03
#633Audio2.12
#644Innovation2.71
#744Mood2.50
#863Theme2.46

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:41pm

I'll admit I didn't play real 2-player -- I played left hand against right hand -- but this is a cool game. And once I discovered you could push your opponent off the cliff, cool! Fun little game, although having some AI (sure, in a 48-hour game?!) would be cool so I could play against the pig, single-player.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:49am

爪子攻击和流血动画都是一帧一帧画的吗?感觉效果拔群,要是加个AI就方便多了。

REIN1 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:43am

@OutlawGameTools:Thank you for playing! I will keep updating this game for AI and other stuff!

REIN1 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:48am

@Lancelot Gao:Yes,I draw them frame by frame ,it's OK because pixels animation just cost less time.The AI will be added,I promise~:)

ArchBang says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:51am

Simple but nice game, definitely something to build up further. Given the cool way you can push enemies off the ledge it might be fun to put in more momentum, and make the level a bit more complicated perhaps. Nice work!

mubox says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:29am

Very good game. There is no second player now, but I will save that for playing tomorrow.

I liked the graphics and the gameplay.

I don't know if what I noticed is wrong, but...

The first player (Bear) pushes stronger, beats from greater distance, walks more balanced and seems to jump higher.

There is no audio (over here), then I can't score you correctly about that.

Pantoufle says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:37am

Nice little fighting game :-)
Great work on camera and animations.
I couldn't hear any sound, is that expected? (you left the audio to rate so I guess I missed something).
The AI is also great.
Good job!

LeoM says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:38am

Nice little one. It's nice to have an AI.

Daukan says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:54am

I thought that the game would have needed some graphics for the enviroment to raise the mood and the controlls and variation of how you could fight was limiting. Some more variety in different moves would help since its a fighting game. I like the pixelated look however:)

dhargan says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:59am

pure fun! god job :D

cyrixd says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Nice little fighter. Pushing your opponent off the building is a good touch. Not sure it was intended, but our characters kept falling down just by walking? It was cool to knock each other over, but falling from walking was a bit hard to control.

Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Quite fresh fighting system, i liked it ! Too bad there was no audio :O

bombjack says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 7:23pm

not been able to beat the pig :( the controls are a little difficult on asserted keyboard. The idea is great and the game is simple but fun.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:16pm

I liked the graphics a lot, i liked the game as it is.
I found it fun :)

it is a bit sad that the bear doesn't have sounds, and also i find it frustrating because the pig attack is to strong compare to the bear one, it made me angry on several time haha, but yeah maybe a bit unbalance, its sad because your game looks great :)
well done!

radmars says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:34am

I think 2 player would have been much more fun, however the two attacks were fun to experiment with when i got the hang of it. I would love to see some really unique takes on the two attacks, making the choice of which attack to choose much more impactful. Love the teddy bear's physicsy ragdoll when he gets hit by player 2's spikes. Really makes you feel helpless! More of that stuff and maybe some sense of progression? Ownership over the characters? This has promise tho, because I played it a while! There is some really nice simple fun to the combat. Would love to see where it goes! Great job!

Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Well, nice one, the controls are suprisingly well calibrated and game's flow is continous. Keep up the good work!

Creative Sectors: Kardfogú

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:06pm

sooo cute!~~
wonderful controll and hit feeling~
the audio very great!
overall feeling Very retro!
the first time i was got the storm hit by the little pig
because not found the attack key ,but also feel very exciting!
He(littlepig) is really fierce~~ ಥ౪ಥ

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]