Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Homecoming

by applejam - Jam Entry

-Homecoming-

You are an astronaut coming back to Earth after a very long expedition. You've being alone in space for almost 5 years. But very soon this loneliness will end and you will live in riches and fame. You are the first man to visit such distant place after all!
Too bad your ship is almost out of energy. Will you make it back home?

Made by
Mikhail "InfernalAd" Shalagin Infernalad@gmail.com
Veli http://pixeljoint.com/p/60304.htm velithetunes@gmail.com

Keyboard Controls
z-action/attack
space - jump
arrows - movement

Gamepad controls
b-action/attack
a - jump
left stick - movement

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#151Graphics(Jam)4.17
#152Mood(Jam)3.70
#186Overall(Jam)3.66
#331Audio(Jam)3.24
#373Fun(Jam)3.26
#609Theme(Jam)3.35
#773Humor(Jam)2.29
#835Innovation(Jam)2.60

Comments

WuPex says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:45am

Amazing pixelart!Great job

Yamzho says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:48am

Great game ! Lovely arts ! Well done !

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:49am

Art was superb. Really solid and polished entry. Sound was also pretty good. Took me a while to understand that Z was the attack key, maybe put the controls on the description of the game?

Dying is really frustrating because it takes the player back to before the dialogue.

I'd like to the the gameplay more polished. Great job nonetheless!

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:52am

Art was superb. Really solid and polished entry. Sound was also pretty good. Took me a while to understand that Z was the attack key, maybe put the controls on the description of the game?

Really wanted to finish the game but dying is really frustrating because it takes the player back to before the dialogue, so I didn't finish it.

I'd like to the the gameplay more polished. Great job nonetheless!

ziege says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:56am

Beautiful.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:01am

I really like the game graphic and the smooth gameplay is really enjoyable!
The game idea is great (awww sweet colonialist era criticism.. <3) and the theme link is strong. Well done! :D

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:18am

Looks great, plays great, the idea is solid. The challenge is too much for me though, I couldn't get past 2nd god.
Also, Y U NO sound effects?

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:49am

Awesome art. Like the take on the theme.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Great stuff, cool story. A little hard to see what's going on some times, hit reaction on first level is a little subtle.

Kostya says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:29am

Cool Russian developers!

CADmiy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Buggish:-) And it's really annoying that you can't start over quick and have to wait for the cut scenes to finish.

wesley werner says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:40pm

You give us beautiful pixels, moody music, nice character control, a monster who destroys an alien world, and most importantly, you give us emotion when you finish the game! Love it!

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Really good entry, great audio and loved the graphics! Fonts were bit unreadable at times though.

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:50pm

The game has nice vibe, but sure - it's need to be more polished, there is a potential, I guess, well done!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Oh man, right in the feels. Srsly, well done and thank you for making it!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:21am

Gret low-vely pixel art ! It's polished and the audio is pretty nice ! I also had a lot of fun playing this, so great job :)

guoboism says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:40am

Great and dark story! Really sad!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:22am

Oh man, your game is so sad, but that definately means it succeeds
as a game to give off that sad vibe and the art and music are also
really well done, nice work man. :)

(*sob* *sob* i killed an inocent planet)

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:31am

Great storyline! However, it's frustrating to go through the dialogues every time you die.

mubox says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:03pm

I liked of some parts (art, mostly). :)

I did not like not having control over the text (read as I want).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]