Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

It's in the trees

by games-placeo - Compo Entry

A trip to the woods at night, the wind through the trees, the stars in the sky. Sounds peaceful right? Well, it's hardly ideal when you are being hunted down by a demon armed with Kunais and speed.

Controls:
WASD = Movement
Space+WASD = Dash in direction
Left Click = Throw Kunai


How to Play:
Consume characters by dashing through them or steal their soul by hitting them with a throwing kunai. Avoid being hit by the light from their torches though as they will run.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#705Theme2.97
#753Innovation2.52
#812Graphics2.33
#845Overall2.61
#847Fun2.36

Comments

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:20am

You are a monster or a ninja ? xD
whatever the game was fun

Raspadsistema says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Hah very nice take on stalking, if only getting seen by flashlight would produce some visible and fun results this would be my favorite game yet.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:18pm

It's fun and I like ninjas :) If you ever improve it add some cool ninja sound effects!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Good stuff! I kept backing myself into a corner when the guys would drop the flashlights :D

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Very interesting mechanic. You should keep going with it.

snakezito says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:01pm

A pretty good game, fun too.
But i feel the camera and the controls are a bit akward.
You should center the camera on the player, and have some kind of fence or something to indicate the boundaries of the map.

spotco says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:21am

I like the theme of hunting people in the woods, however I think the controls and camera could use some improvement. For your next game, try locking the camera to the player, so you don't have to move to the bottom of the screen to shift the viewpoint.

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Fun game. I liked how the flashlights dropped. The controls were fine for me but I wish the character would of stayed in the center of my vision.

TooMuchPete says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:14am

I would have loved to have been able to move diagonally and if getting spotted hurt you in some way.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:52am

Good. Frame scroling need more polishing, but overall it's cool.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:58am

Concept could be cool if it was a little bit more developed, camera feels funny, otherwise it's fun

napoleon says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:48pm

overall a really fun game, pretty neat.

chrissou says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:50pm

really fun, love the dash attack!

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Aside from getting stuck on the side screen, and tat having any key pushed keeps you going, the game controls alright.
The fact that the torches stay is really interesting!

fistmaker says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Fun little game. Simple with good controls. Could've used the full screen button.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:58pm

I like the dashing but most of all I like the picture of deer :D I get 500 score with "0 minutes and 1 second", so I think the timer doesn't work as it should.

Jeasonfire says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:26am

Pretty fun. The movement was a bit annoying since you couldn't move diagonally and the movement near to the borders was rubberband-y. Otherwise a fine game.

GraciCebola says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Yea, that was fun :) Just try to find a better engine please hehe

Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Fun 2d-run-around-and-kill-things-by-shooting game. The torches are a good effect although didn't feel very monster like.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]