Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Slime Hunter

by Ardy - Jam Entry

This is my first game ever. It's pretty... Simple.

You're a little monster that walk around interacting with slimes. Kill then all and you're done for the level.

There are many things that I would like to implement, but I did hit so damn many roadblocks that I ended up cutting most of it.

There are things that I do know how to implement, but I didn't have the time to do it.

I have learned many things with this jam, many more than I was able to implement in this game.

Overall, I'm happy with what turned out, even if it's not the best game ever. For a first game, it's kay.

I'll for sure join the next jam!

Have any of you found the lost secret levels?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#502Humor(Jam)2.83
#563Fun(Jam)3.00
#604Audio(Jam)2.53
#845Graphics(Jam)2.70
#942Overall(Jam)2.71
#957Theme(Jam)2.70
#1627Coolness40%

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:45am

Sound effects were a bit annoying and inconsistent, and it was a bit dull. Just collecting stuff wasn't terribly fun.

cxsquared says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:50am

Really good for a first game. The levels are really well designed. I especially like how you introduce the red slimes. The collision detection could be a little better and the controls a little tighter but overall it's a nice fun game.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:58am

Nice little game! I like that you added different "slimes" and that you actually "educated" the player via the levels- Very nice.

Ardy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:06am

@Robot Souls Games: I see! I'll try to think about it for future games. The game is kinda dull, I agree. There was more features planned, but the time didn't really help me out.

@cxsquared and @mekuri: Thanks! I really put some thought on the levels, as for then to introduce the slimes first instead of throwing it directly at your face.

About the collision, I followed some tutorials here and there, but due to the low res of the sprites (6x6, most of then) it caused some trouble. More than half of the time I spent on this game was trying to get collision to actually work properly and in the end, even tho it's very very far away from ideal, I think it turned out okay.

kaype says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:20am

This is actually pretty good for a first game IMO. The art is right up my alley and the simplicity of it is nice.

Sounds could use work but it's all gud

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:20am

I had a lot of fun with this. I love the minimalist aesthetic, and I loved how you introduced each enemy (enemy?) type. Great job!

Keon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:35am

Nice little game! The graphics are clear and nice but don't really have a constant style or color scheme. The collision detection was frustrating at times with reds, and having to restart the entire level was a pain. The audio was sometimes annoying.

That said. Holy cow your level design was great. Everything was there for a purpose. The way you introduced reds with a fall and then you had to learn to jump on them in a simple level before entering harder levels was great. The same with all the other levels. There was never a tutorial at all but you showed everything through the game. That's really impressive! The one thing I would say is that in some levels you had symmetry when you really didn't need it - if a player can do a jump once they can do it again, so it just extends the time it takes to restart if you mess up on the last slime.

Overall though - great game, especially for your first entry! Well done.

Ardy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:11pm

@kaype: Thanks! I'll be sure to get some better sounds intead of recording myself doing wierd noises!

@OnlySlightly: Thanks! ;-;

@Keon: Graphics where pretty simple because that's really all that I can do! Haha. Collision is just plain bad sometimes, because I didn't figure how to make it work properly. I made only one (seeing red) longer level, and I can really see why it's frustrating (no checkpoint + bad collision). I see what you said about symmetry, I had planned different levels but had to scrap it all due to time constraints and they're kinda improvised. Thanks for the feedback!

@all: You all have no idea how happy your comments made me noting the level design. I'm so glad that I was able to show how the mechanics works without having to write it down because that was just what I intended.

Thanks for you feedback and votes!

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:33am

A bit dull, but nice try, I'm glad to hear you learned a lot on the way :)

Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:09am

I loved this game! Really fun, and that's always a challenge. Great work, especially given that its your first game!

Patomkin says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:32am

What a great and simple entry! Job well done :)

yuigoto says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:35pm

It's a nice little game, but I feel it needs some refinement. Some games are nice with those pre 8-bit style graphics, but this game would feel better with a bit more detailed sprites.

Using your voice to do the FX is good, but try to add some variety on it, because it tends to become a bit dull after a while, ok? ;)

But it feels complete, has an objective, you have some nice presentation, so keep up! :D Cheers!

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Nice

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]