Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Fully Furnished

by LazyPenguin - Jam Entry

In Fully Furnished, you tell a group of furniture when the right time to scare is. But is there more to "life" than scaring?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#38Innovation(Jam)4.03
#117Theme(Jam)4.00
#135Overall(Jam)3.75
#156Mood(Jam)3.69
#213Humor(Jam)3.44
#267Graphics(Jam)3.91
#359Fun(Jam)3.28

Comments

Cory Martin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Neat entry! This helped me live out my fantasy of being furniture that spooks people, which is a desire I wasn't aware of going into this.

Given the pre-game dialogs that develop the victims as characters, it would be nice if there were some indication in the game as to which model corresponded to which character. As it is, they're pretty much nameless game objects, and they don't have to be!

It would also be good to know who each sanity level corresponded with.

At its core, the game seems to be RNG-dependent since perfect execution is rather easy to pull off in most cases. I failed twice in the second night but pulled it off with ease the third time.

I'd like there to be a more clear indication of whether you scared someone or not, like a sound effect. Them running away doesn't feel tangible enough. There were a couple instances where I wasn't sure if I actually did scare them.

Another issue is they don't seem to have a logical line of sight. I assume them being scared is based on proximity? You can trigger the dresser or the television and it looks like they'd be able to see it, but it doesn't scare them.

I hope this feedback is helpful! Good work!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:55am

Excellent game! Very original gameplay!

Connors says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:27pm

I think I agree with Cory's review here. The game is somewhat RNG driven and doesn't have a lot of depth, but the story is good.

The ending was really cute. It was kind of a twist to get to see an ending that wasn't really dark, there are a lot of creepy games in this particular game jam. haha.

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Great music art and concept. Maybe make it more clear when you can scare people becuase sometimes it seemed not to effect them at all even if they were in the room.

cxsquared says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Really cool idea. The game really fit the theme without being a literal interpretation of the theme. I really like the graphics but it would have been nice to have a few more intractable objects. Really great work though.

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Never liked this game because there was little feedback on whether or not I had scared someone and felt like a lot of the time I was clicking on unresponsive furniture. A shame since the idea was good.

01101101 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Good writing, nice graphics, cool music, all of these contribute to a really nice atmosphere.
The gameplay itself seems to rely too much on the random movements of the intruders, so you don't really get a ton of control. Basically you just have to click when someone is in the right spot and hope they go somewhere else quick so the time doesn't run out.
I guess with more intruders it could become more challenging: click fast enough on all the right objects, and try to scare a few of them at the same time? I lost a few times during the second night so I don't know if that's what was coming later in the game.
It is a cool concept anyway and the execution is really good, so congrats! Great work :)

jofra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Cool concept! i was confused at first because i didnt know what i could click on maybe a light highlight when i cross over the furniture would help.
but a very good take on the theme.
Gj :)

Maramasa says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Neat idea with some great audio and gameplay mechanics! I think this could be fleshed out even more if you'd be interested in that. Great work!

uheartbeast says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:00pm

I loved it. My only issue was that one time the npc's got stuck and I couldn't scare them anymore. Other than that this game is really great.

puddelipip says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Nice concept! It got a little repetitious (is that a word?) gameplay wise but you could easily find ways of varying this and expanding on the story. Thanks for an unexpected experience :)

Sicilica says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:36am

Really interesting concept. I agree that it would be nice to know what objects can be used to scare the kids.

Tselmek says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:55am

Really nice mechanics, the dialogs are fun and great job with the AI. The mechanic gets a little repetitive over time and I wish we could interact with more of the furniture. Great job nonetheless.

Joror says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:05am

Great writing! Really had fun with the dialogue. Gameplay was a bit simple, would have like a few more interaction methods. The twist ending was cool ;)

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Nice take on the theme! Loved the conversations between the furniture. Would be great with more animations and different goals per set of people walking through.

Ixeno says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:40am

Reminded me of a dream a did a while back! Original concept, but the gameplay is a bit too much luck-based! Good work! (:

Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Really neat game! You should expand it. I included it in part 31 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/rsAmrwtnu-0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]