Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Cvltists and Crusaders

by mooncalf - Jam Entry

Pull back and launch fireballs to kill crusaders but not cultists. Fill up the blood runes to please your elder god.

Features:
Alternates between two stages but difficulty continually increases.

Developed by :
Nathan Walker (mooncalfgames.com)
Andy Gainey (experilous.com)
Luke Schroder (art & fx)
Peter Jones (music & fx)
Ben Vanasse @ Hint (workspace and the occasional solution)

Tools :
Unity
Sai / Photoshop
ProTools / Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#53Humor(Jam)4.00
#87Fun(Jam)3.79
#96Audio(Jam)3.78
#117Theme(Jam)4.00
#261Overall(Jam)3.53
#266Mood(Jam)3.48
#281Innovation(Jam)3.33
#302Graphics(Jam)3.85

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:51am

LOL's "my bad" .. nice graphics

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:51am

10/10 would splat Travis again

scumbly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:55am

Satisfying mechanic, quick to pick up, good silly fun to play! The game over screen is the funniest thing I've seen in Ludum Dare -- nice one.

psychonull says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:12am

Great game! First it was really dificult to not kill the cultists, but, with some practice, it gets really cool. It was so funny when I was able to kill all the crusaders with just one fireball.
I would like to see more levels. Good job!

zillix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:20am

this is amazing! everything works well- the music and art are fantastic and the game is super fun. the apologies were by far the best part, couldn't stop smiling :)

psypol says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Nice gameplay and awesome humor;)

Kakureta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:00pm

The game was funny and the graphics were pretty good. It's a little disappointing that the game had only 2 levels but it was still fun and I enjoyed it.

fubenalvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Really funny voices, and the game over sreen... rotfl :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:58pm

The controls took some getting used to but it's pretty addictive and I had fun. 10/10 voice acting and a nice original premise.

Arskiainen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Sorry Travis! Took me a while to get it. I like the gameplay. Get's a bit repetitive tho. More slope variety would be nice. The throw mechanism feels a bit clunky.

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Really nice, liked a lot the sounds! Had a lot of fun smashing those cultists :p

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:30pm

The angle part of the game takes a bit of getting used to, as it doesn't always do what you'd expect it to. But it was a great game, filled with heaps of humour and light-heartedness. Loved it :)

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:44pm

aha nice game! loved the audio

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:04pm

The demon's excuses are hilarious! Very fun gameplay, but it gets boring fast because the difficulty seems to stay the same forever...

Would gladly pay for a fully-featured version with better assets!

xanderv80 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:55am

Love the game ^_^
My favorite part was when the bad guy would say "I'm sorry" when you accidentally killed a cultist. The art was amazing and it was just hard enough to be fun and frustrating

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Reversed Donkey Kong gameplay FTW. I love the characters.

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:49pm

The graphics in this game were incredible. I don't really feel like the comments when you kill a friendly contributed to game play, they actually broke the immersive feel. As @Mr. Chocolate Salmon said, the angle takes some getting used to. Aside from that this game is a work of art, and I would love to see more! Very well done!

Split82 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Nice one. Really enjoyed it. Thanks.

schnerble says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Poor Travis... guess I was picking on him! (in his many incarnations)
Great work on the music and sound. I found the game a bit easy, though - just pick an angle and wait for the right time to launch. Nice work, though - I enjoyed it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]