Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Only Once - Pablo's Revenge

by jirrev - Jam Entry

Only Once - Pablo's Revenge is a hard-core point and click game. The goal is to get as far as you can within the world without dying. Because, when you die, you actually die and havew to start all over again.
You Play as Pablo, the amazing, monstrous chicken that has the odd ability to shoot lasers out of his eyes.
Kill as many heroes that so foolishly cross your path and fight yourself to the very top of the world... or to another continent, I only had 3 days.

This Game is a complete Solo Build with everything made within the past 3 days. I had planned for an artist to help me but after his sudden disappearance (I still haven't found him) I ended up doing everything.

Anyways, I hope you all have fun, and be sure to review the game and give me some (useful) feedback. I'm still trying to learn stuff after all.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#174Overall(Jam)3.67
#174Innovation(Jam)3.50
#204Humor(Jam)3.47
#217Fun(Jam)3.50
#250Graphics(Jam)3.95
#302Audio(Jam)3.29
#350Theme(Jam)3.67
#381Mood(Jam)3.32
#1627Coolness40%

Comments

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:33am

Can you make an OS/X build? :P

shiroookami says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:57am

It was really fun to play and easy to pickup. Fantastic game!

Muush says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:14am

Well done, it is a good job.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:17am

Nice art, very silly... I clicked a lot. Good work!

VoxelSquare says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:40am

Pablo. That name deserves 6 stars. Nice game, dude!

donaldm says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:42am

This was a cool little game and I really liked the graphics and humor. I didn't know how to move my chicken so I just kept clicking with the lasers and killing the hero units (but they never attacked me!)

bouletmarc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:22am

Really fun game, nicely done, but it should have more harder levels, if we reach lvl +20 we come "unbeatable" and the game never end

pnkthrepwood says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Very fun game! Feels like finished!

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Good job! Nice art

QuexD says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Amazing.

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 12:42am

awesome job, game gets repetitive after a bit, (but its a jam game so no points off there. :P ) awesome job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]