Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Stay Away From My Coins!

by redzero - Jam Entry

Doug is a monster that loves to collect lost coins in the woods. He collected so many coins that greedy adventurers come to the woods every single day trying to steal his treasure. Beat the adventurers before they steal your coins, stay at least with some coins in your bag before time runs out.

Controls: use Arow Keys to move, [Z] to shoot, and [X] to do spin attack.

First Ludum Dare!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#344Fun(Jam)3.31
#402Audio(Jam)3.07
#424Humor(Jam)2.97
#694Overall(Jam)3.03
#707Mood(Jam)2.87
#738Graphics(Jam)2.93
#768Theme(Jam)3.12
#886Innovation(Jam)2.50

Comments

ezombort says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:47pm

I like that the game is so fast paced. Took some time to master the spin attack :) Good job!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:49pm

A bit simple, but otherwise enjoyable. I liked it.

fistmaker says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Fun game. Great music, I'd like to be able to make something like that one day. Good pacing, simple fun game mechanics. Great entry.

CrownCity says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Liked to just rush in to the enemy's but I feel like you can not win it what is kind of frustrating..

wavertron says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Pretty good, I would have like an extra mechanic in there to add a twist, perhaps something around recovering coins? Nice job overall. Huge swarm at the end is fun.

Gipzo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Nice music. Pretty captivate game :)
Suggestion: Player should lose money when he is shooting, as I could only stay in center and just smash shoot button )

Literal Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Fun to start with bu gets a bit repetitive and mashing shoot can be a bit painful. Cool sounds, and fun idea

Tortoise says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:09pm

I love the different moves you can do like the ground pound and the art is nice, would of liked some audio and variation in the enemies.

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:04am

Woah that got intense fast! Played it TWICE!

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:07am

I think your game gave me tenis elbow haha. I found no reason not to stand in the middle and spam the coin shoot button. I think on occasion I lost coins from it, but not often. Good idea, physics seem solid.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:00pm

WOW! That was great fun! Great job

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:22pm

So many enemies! Really good well done.

Cawrtz says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Fast and active game. I like how many sprites there are on the screen, how fast everything moves, and the music.
The graphics are overall good (especially the color palette) but not consistent (I notice a difference in style between the characters and the background). The controls are dead-simple and that's good. The timing adds a well-balanced challenge.
Keep it up!

KR-Eddie says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Decent little shooter with a very fast pace.
It had a little too many sprites on screen for my taste xp
The spin attack was nice but it felt a little under powered.

SKT says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:00pm

It's fun and graphics are cool. I like that there's a lot of enemies and that the monster moves fast. Great job :)

Vereos says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Difficulty doesn't scale well through the levels imo, but still a cute game :)

Aumni says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:49am

There is something super satisfying about spamming buttons and seeing so many baddies on the floor and this game had just that! I really enjoyed the fast paced but simple gameplay. Awesome work, keep it up!!

MrTwister says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:20am

Fun game with awesome music and cute graphics!
Levels are a bit too long (in time) for the simplicity of the core mechanic and the enemy rate is not particularly balanced (Lv.1 already becomes a nightmare halfway through), so I think decreasing the enemy rate (from Lv.1 onwards) would definitely help you scale up the difficulty in a more natural and nice manner.

Aside from that it's a really fun idea. I like games with simple yet addicting gameplay, and this entry is one of the finest examples I've seen this LD. Great job! :)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:53am

I just moved side to side mashing spin attack. I'm not sure how well it worked, I still lost :(

Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:52pm

This is pretty fun. The spin move on a long line of enemies is really satisfying. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]