Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Many Jumping Men Are Coming

by tullyhansen - Jam Entry

Stomp or be stomped. Now with working scoring!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#341Innovation(Jam)3.26
#352Fun(Jam)3.30
#386Audio(Jam)3.11
#479Humor(Jam)2.88
#522Graphics(Jam)3.40
#637Theme(Jam)3.30
#663Overall(Jam)3.05
#691Mood(Jam)2.89
#1752Coolness36%

Comments

liquidmedia says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:01am

The link is dead.

djfariel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:02am

Sideways Mario meets Flappy Bird. This was great fun.

BlockyFish says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:35am

Once I got the hang of it it was really fun. Quite difficult to tell if you are going to kill an enemy or if they will kill you.

Ybalrid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:41am

It's me or the score counter stays at 0 no matter what happen?
Beside, Super Mario reversed. That's cool :D

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:41am

game is fun, but it get's old quick, especially when you realize the score isn't working

jcourt says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:47am

Fun little game. Its a little hard though.

tullyhansen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:10am

Bugfix hotfix quickrelease to fix the scoring issues. (Give every actor their own CurrentScore variable, why don't you?!) Link should be ok, let me know if any further problems. Thanks for playing and rating!

Unept says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:08am

Haha, nice. I would suggest speeding it up a bit at first, no need to keep it super easy for that long. I like it!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:43am

I AM THE DESTROYER OF-ow my heeeaaaad! Great twist with this game. Who knew that it could be so much fun playing as a goomba?

Saf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Nice game, love the pixel art. Would have been easier to take down the enemy if the player height was a little more.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Interesting idea! I had a pretty hard time hitting the jumping guys; my high score ended up being 2. It may be easier if you make the player taller, or have the men stand on the ground for a moment between jumps. 3.5/5 overall.

P.S. You can embed the game without the border if you use this link: http://static.stencyl.com/games/31931-0.swf

t4u says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Funny once there are 3+ enemies on screen. How do I score points?

ceosol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:21am

I got up to 17 with 5 on the screen at the same time. I've cannot kill guys from behind. Going from the front is just about timing the landing. I still say that you kept the Marios spinning off into outer space. This is very well done considering you just started game devving.

LMT says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:39pm

This was surprisingly relaxing and calming. I loved the music and the concept of the game also.

jofra says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:07pm

This is hard! X) It is a fun gameplay concept.
Gj!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]