Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

APT - Advanced Persistent Tabby

by MagnusFurcifer - Compo Entry

----How to run the game!----
====================

1> Download one of the executable versions of the game: APT-AdvacnedPersistentTabby.zip or APT-AdvacnedPersistentTabby-NoSave.zip or APT-AdvacnedPersistentTabby_EXE.zip ​
2> Extract the ZIP file somewhere
3> Double click on APT.jar or APT.exe if you've downloaded the _EXE version
4> Become the cyber kitty.





There are three versions for download:

APT-AdvacnedPersistentTabby.zip - Saves best time data locally in the C:\Users\<User>\.prefs\APT file (An XML File).

APT-AdvacnedPersistentTabby-NoSave.zip - Has this saving functioanlity disabled, in case you don't want the game putting anything in your user directory :)

APT-AdvancedPersistentTabby_EXE.zip​ - Has saves, and is also packaged into an executable with a bundled JRE in the archive so you don't need to install Java. It's big though.



Cats are the real monsters, and they are out to get us.

Tabby, a super secret cyber agent for the Kitty Liberation Army has a mission: To sit on laptop keyboards in order to prevent humans from doing things they need to do.

Will Tabby succeed? Will humanity pay the ultimate price for it's arrogance?

Controls:

Keyboard:
Left Arrow - Go Left
Right Arrow - Go Right
Space - Jump
S - Suicide

Xbox 360 Controller:
D-Pad Left - Go Left
D-Pad Right - Go Right
A - Jump
Y - Suicide





For those of you that read this far down, there is a super secret level for only most elite of cyber kitty agents. To get to this level, hold the "L" and "D" keys down on the title screen :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#303Humor3.08
#416Fun3.10
#558Audio2.49
#761Overall2.76
#812Mood2.30
#856Innovation2.17
#878Graphics2.00
#911Theme2.16

Comments

d_pendikov says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 5:30pm

cool

Itay2805 says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Nice game

namrog84 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:22am

neat! I like it,

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:27am

Cool platformer with an interesting premise. The box you push has collision detection that feels off, though.

The first level should also have more interest, or at least some small platforms to teach jumping before harder challenges. The bland start left a slightly bad taste in my mouth for the rest of the experience.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:29am

This is a really good game. It's got a super meatboy vibe, but with more of a puzzle nature. The wall jump was well done, though there were a few times it glitched out and ran me up the wall. I think the best thing I could say was that the level design and pacing were good. The level was just long enough to not be frustrating, even when I died several times in the level.

I think you have a good solid grasp of level design for your first LD entry; and I'd love to see what your next game will be with so practice in asset creation.

APC says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:30am

I really like the intro sequence. The thought of militant cats is pretty funny. I hoped to see it develop more past the sleeping on keyboard goal.

I thought the platforming could have used some work. It didn't feel very smooth and it was a little glitchy. Specifically I was able to occasionally fall into the push blocks, and another issue which was annoying was that if I walked into the wall and jumped it would register it as a wall jump. So I'd often find myself trying to jump stairs and accidentally clip against one of the blocks which would then bounce me back. Once it even bounced me into a spike.

gilborn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:37am

I died in shame

Pusty says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:38am

I actually played it till the end.
CYBER CATS ARE AWESOME!

* I lost my sound after level 3 or something like that

3CGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:57am

Not bad! I liked trying to glitch the wall jump to get super high.

TurtleP says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:11am

Neat, humorous fun when you explode.

Jezz0r says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:52am

Nice voice acting. D-Pad with controller was annoying, please add analog stick next time.

Thinkofdeath says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:56am

Pretty fun. The wall jump triggered often when I didn't want it to which was a pain and one of the levels where it looked like you needed to stack the boxes just had the boxes collapse on each other

sydream says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:18am

Nice platformer, though the controls are bit gimmicky at times. It easily lose momentum when pushing blocks, and the wall jump is bit odd. Other than that it's well done and has nice levels, though the theme adherence is bit lacking

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:45pm

The voice over is great, helps set the mood for the rest of the game. Found the wall jump a bit difficult to use but overall a nice entry.

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Good platformer feel, but the graphics are really bad, not just sprites, but the render itself too. As for the theme... Eh, not really a close hit here.

Zammalad says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Some of the platform mechanics didn't feel very smooth and were a little glitchy at times. Some nice mechanics though like the wall jumping.

Overall I liked the entry and the concept. Bit more polishing and would be very good.

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Very funny idea (I can relate :) ). VERY nice job with the level progression: it's nice to see a game with a good difficulty curve. The collision could use some work and the walljumping was occasionally annoying. Great job overall, fun game!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Those pesky humans sure keep their laptops in the weirdest, inconvenient places possible!

Sounds like a job for Tabby the CyberKitty!

There should be an animated series set in this universe. It would make millions.... of GIFs.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:41am

Was fun, enjoyed having a blast playing it and I also loved the humor. Great stuff!

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:35am

Playing this with better graphics would be satisfying :D

Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Started to feel like the predecessor to super meat boy. Good platform mechanics with quirky back story. Fun to play.

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:52pm

I had fun playing through all the levels =)
Nice job!

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Wall jumping is a little off. I think it would've worked better if you had to press the jump key to jump each time.

It's a shame there wasn't really anything new about this as a platformer though.

Still, good job in making a game that felt relatively complete

Patomkin says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 9:53am

That wall jump was more annoying than useful :D nice entry, played it through to the end

igoramendola says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 6:55am

hahaha that was funny! I adore games with that kind of humor.
I've finished the HARDCORE KITTY mode xD ...and I also finished the super secret level. Cool entry! ^^

Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Simple, fun game. I included it in part 28 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/UzsNzPlW29s

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]