Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

GameApi world

by terop - Compo Entry

it's an fps.

controls are WASD and spacebar for jumping.

Try to find the monster.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#326Graphics3.35
#788Humor1.26
#802Innovation2.38
#859Mood1.97
#942Fun1.43
#942Theme1.72
#954Overall2.00

Comments

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:43am

I could clip through the walls and it felt like I shouldnt be able to do this. Maybe I was missing something.

madjackmcmad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:56am

I was able to clip through everything, and nothing made a lot of sense. Maybe the monster was inside me the whole time?

NikinCZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:56am

Exception thrown to console.
Console:
Vendor: Mozilla
Renderer:Mozilla
Version:WebGL 1.0
VName: comb
OK
(unknown error)
AttachShader: 3
FName: comb
OK
(unknown error)
AttachShader: 4
VName: comb
OK
(unknown error)
etc, etc

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:59am

Took a while to download, but when it finally started running, an exception was thrown:
Vendor: Microsoft
Renderer:Internet Explorer
Version:WebGL 0.94
VName: comb
OK
(unknown error)
AttachShader: 3
FName: comb
OK
(unknown error)
AttachShader: 4
VName: comb
OK
(unknown error)
AttachShader: 6
FName: comb
OK
(unknown error)
AttachShader: 7
VName: comb
OK
(unknown error)
AttachShader: 9
FName: comb
OK
(unknown error)
AttachShader: 10
VName: empty
OK
(unknown error)
AttachShader: 12
FName: empty
OK
(unknown error)
AttachShader: 13
SHADER: 0
BindAttribLocation: 0
SHADER: 0
BindAttribLocation: 0
SHADER: 0
BindAttribLocation: 0
SHADER: 0
BindAttribLocation: 0
SetDefaultProjection:
SHADER: 1
BindAttribLocation: 0
SHADER: 1
BindAttribLocation: 0
SHADER: 1
BindAttribLocation: 0
SHADER: 1
BindAttribLocation: 0
SetDefaultProjection:
SHADER: 2
BindAttribLocation: 0
SHADER: 2
BindAttribLocation: 0
SHADER: 2
BindAttribLocation: 0
SHADER: 2
BindAttribLocation: 0
SetDefaultProjection:
SHADER: 3
BindAttribLocation: 0
SHADER: 3
BindAttribLocation: 0
SHADER: 3
BindAttribLocation: 0
SHADER: 3
BindAttribLocation: 0
SetDefaultProjection:
NumFaces: 7138
Face: 0

This happened using Microsoft Edge and Chrome browsers also.

miro662 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:00am

Very laggy (even on my i5-4460 and GTX 960) and I could walk through the walls. I couldn't find the monster.

Leopoldine says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:05am

I think you're out of the theme with this game.
I had some exception.
Keep working on your game ; )

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:06am

I got this:
exception thrown: TypeError: GL.currentContext.drawBuffersExt is not a function,TypeError: GL.currentContext.drawBuffersExt is not a function
at _glDrawBuffers (http://sivut.koti.soon.fi/~terop/world.js:6510:25)
at __ZN7GameApi14FrameBufferApi10config_fboENS_3FBOE (http://sivut.koti.soon.fi/~terop/world.js:142264:2)
at Object._main (http://sivut.koti.soon.fi/~terop/world.js:30813:2)
at Object.callMain (http://sivut.koti.soon.fi/~terop/world.js:157553:30)
at doRun (http://sivut.koti.soon.fi/~terop/world.js:157610:60)
at http://sivut.koti.soon.fi/~terop/world.js:157621:7Module.printErr @ world.html:1245
world.js:157570 Uncaught TypeError: GL.currentContext.drawBuffersExt is not a function

congusbongus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:12am

The graphics are sweet! Shame there's not much game here though

TLansdale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:25am

Great graphics, though I'm not sure it's working properly - was very stop-start and I'm not sure what I was doing.

Still, really cool art, not seen anything like that!

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:35am

Love the graphics style, there just needed to be a bit more game.
Also why couldn't you play my game?

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Cool graphics and when you just accept that you are supposed to walk around in a jerky way it is actually quite enjoyable to walk around. Gameplay a little lacking.

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Thanks for everyone trying the game. The drawBuffersExt is known problem, the mirror needs fbo support, and older chrome doesnt have it (but works on some versions of chrome). The IE or edge has never been able to run the game :(. But anyway, thanks for people reviewing it.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Not really sure what this is. The shader is awesome though. You should make a game with this! :D

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:58pm

I think that its very interesting how the game looks and hows it is displayed. Good job!

Connors says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:37pm

It's basically a demo of the 3D graphics but it looks pretty interesting, the lighting and reflections are impressive anyway.

Tuism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:55pm

It's a pretty good tech demo. Very pretty. But not much game in here at all.

increpare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Doesn't work for me on safari/osx. White screen only.

Console has these errors:

[Error] pre-main prep time: 238 ms
printErr (world.html, line 1245)
doRun (world.js, line 157605)
(anonymous function) (world.js, line 157621)
[Error] Calling stub instead of sigaction()
printErr (world.html, line 1245)
_sigaction (world.js, line 7379)
_SDL_QuitInit (world.js, line 146894)
_SDL_InitSubSystem (world.js, line 123802)
_SDL_Init (world.js, line 154865)
__Z8InitSDL2iibb (world.js, line 77459)
__ZN7GameApi11MainLoopApi11init_windowEii (world.js, line 147469)
_main (world.js, line 30280)
callMain (world.js, line 157553)
doRun (world.js, line 157610)
(anonymous function) (world.js, line 157621)
[Error] Calling stub instead of sigaction()
printErr (world.html, line 1245)
_sigaction (world.js, line 7379)
_SDL_QuitInit (world.js, line 146897)
_SDL_InitSubSystem (world.js, line 123802)
_SDL_Init (world.js, line 154865)
__Z8InitSDL2iibb (world.js, line 77459)
__ZN7GameApi11MainLoopApi11init_windowEii (world.js, line 147469)
_main (world.js, line 30280)
callMain (world.js, line 157553)
doRun (world.js, line 157610)
(anonymous function) (world.js, line 157621)
[Error] Calling stub instead of sigaction()
printErr (world.html, line 1245)
_sigaction (world.js, line 7379)
_SDL_QuitInit (world.js, line 146899)
_SDL_InitSubSystem (world.js, line 123802)
_SDL_Init (world.js, line 154865)
__Z8InitSDL2iibb (world.js, line 77459)
__ZN7GameApi11MainLoopApi11init_windowEii (world.js, line 147469)
_main (world.js, line 30280)
callMain (world.js, line 157553)
doRun (world.js, line 157610)
(anonymous function) (world.js, line 157621)
[Error] exception thrown: TypeError: undefined is not a function (evaluating 'GL.currentContext.drawBuffersExt(bufArray)'),_glDrawBuffers@http://sivut.koti.soon.fi/~terop/world.js:6510:39
__ZN7GameApi14FrameBufferApi10config_fboENS_3FBOE@http://sivut.koti.soon.fi/~terop/world.js:142264:16
_main@http://sivut.koti.soon.fi/~terop/world.js:30813:51
callMain@http://sivut.koti.soon.fi/~terop/world.js:157553:30
doRun@http://sivut.koti.soon.fi/~terop/world.js:157610:60
http://sivut.koti.soon.fi/~terop/world.js:157621:12
printErr (world.html, line 1245)
callMain (world.js, line 157569)
doRun (world.js, line 157610)
(anonymous function) (world.js, line 157621)
[Error] TypeError: undefined is not a function (evaluating 'GL.currentContext.drawBuffersExt(bufArray)')
callMain (world.js, line 157573)
doRun (world.js, line 157610)
(anonymous function) (world.js, line 157621)

pighead10 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Definitely more of a tech demo - pretty, but uncontrollable and barely any gameplay.

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Exception thrown to the console :(

Kaadmy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Wasn't loading for me.

LeoM says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Did you develop the engine ?
Nice work if it is this, work fine for me. (win64 firefox)
I just didn't find any monsters ! :'(
I looked everywhere, even inside the object ! ^^

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:44pm

@LeoM: yes, the engine/library(GameApi) is developed by myself. The monster is inside the mirror.

Kaltic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:46pm

The game looks quite interesting, but controls quite awkwardly. Definitely has the tech demo vibe.

K.Chplr says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Very interesting from a developer standpoint. I would like to read a post mortem of it with some technical insights on emscripten and the type of rendering used in this.

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:28pm

here's the requested post mortem: http://sivut.koti.soon.fi/~terop/world_postmortem.txt

matthewd673 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:59pm

"Exception thrown see Javascript console". That was all it said (console was empty)

K.Chplr says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Thank you for the post mortem :)

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Not much of a game, seems more like a tech demo of some kind. Graphics look... interesting, but there's not much to play here.

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:44pm

The graphics were good but there wasn't really anything to do aside from walk around (and through stuff).

Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Is it a raytracer in emscripten? Neat! Not much of a game though...

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Coool... Thank you for the source. Will find a lot to learn. Thank you.

UncleChris says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:25pm

I really liked the art style, and the graphical elements were consistent - but, could walk through everything, and nothing seemed to "interact" and was very laggy. I never found the monster. :(

dawik says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:13pm

no errors but the wasd movement could be done smoother :), suggest reading keyboard input in the main loop and update the position by smaller increments would convey that. with some help from the author and the mirror I found out that I was the monster all this time! good job getting emscripten running

terop says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:42am

I updated a little the platform support. Now microsoft's edge browser should be working too. And drawbuffersEXT problem is solved. (chrome and firefox was already working before)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]