Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

One of Us

by Sicilica - Jam Entry

TOO HARD? Watch us play instead at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ttuET4r_vG8

Z - Jump
X - Action

Made by two guys, the first Ludum Dare entry for both of us!
The idea was to have the player be the only human in a society of monsters but keeping it a secret, and then... I don't know what happened, it was Brett's fault.

It's not very optimized, so it might not run smoothly unless your computer is beefy. Chrome seems to run better than Firefox.

Windows version requires OpenAL to be installed.


All music made by Sicilica's keyboard and all sounds made by BenignBrett's mouth.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#190Audio(Jam)3.53
#203Graphics(Jam)4.05
#248Mood(Jam)3.50
#331Humor(Jam)3.16
#449Overall(Jam)3.29
#735Fun(Jam)2.78
#875Innovation(Jam)2.52
#1003Theme(Jam)2.53

Comments

benignbrett says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:45am

This game was so much fun to make. Hope you enjoy it!

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:38am

OMG!! Loved it, it brought me back in time, I loved the art, the shading and the choice of forms!!! CAATS CATS CATS!!!!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:41am

had trouble getting out of the 2nd screen.
the graphics are amazing!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:55am

Oh god this is torture >_<!
It's so hard! I spent at least 8 minutes trying to get past the purple mushroom level I cant take it anymore!
It requires the timing to be so precise.. I'm not good at it but I tried my best..
The art is superb though! Super stylish cat character designs!

zillix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:58am

fantastic work! the game is fun, and I loved the character designs and artwork!

hinerz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:34am

Great mood! Such beautiful art and clever platformer (gotta admit, all the timing stuff got sometimes frustrating)! Great job!

yajiv says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:23am

Very cute :)

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:48am

I found spring mechanic a little bit annoying, it was so unforgiving. Other than that it's a lengthy and nice looking game :)

Bsevers18 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:18am

well done! You were right, pretty hard, but nice art and music!

mklee says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:20am

Wow this is a really weird and unique game. It mish-mashes a bunch of idea together, but sorta makes it work. The puzzles as others have said are a bit finicky and frustrating, but it's a nice mix of timing and platforming. If you can make the bouncing just a bit more consistent and the hitboxes just a tad more harsh it would go a long way towards making the game a bit easier for everyone. Still great job!

khahem says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:30am

Nice graphics and great humor :D

I found the bounce jump a bit frustrating however.

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:42am

Lol, and you said my game was "unique" haha
Really, you hit the marks in every category except theme. Was a fun and funny experience, thanks guys :D

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:54am

Fun game, really tough skill puzzles. I like the art and music too- nice job on this! Alright I'm gonna try it again...

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:35am

Not bad! Like the visual style and levels transitions =) Running between locations looking fresh and unusual.
Gameplay looking too simple but it's hard on deal because of precious timing.

randoman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:48pm

The art style is really cool. I completed the tutorial but couldn't get past level 1 XD

mooncalf says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:07am

Looked good. Sounded good. The timing demanded a little too much precision right off the bat for me. Not sure how it fit the theme either. Overall, well done!

brombatti says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:10am

Great job! It's a very lenghty and fun game, but it's really hard. The mood and music are amazing.

sprawl says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:22am

I'm so conflicted about this one. I love the art, the sounds and the mood of the game. The controls are okay too, but I really dont like the level design.
The jumps need to be so precise and timed that it just made it frustrating for me. You were probably aiming for that type of game, but the fact that you have to walk back, and sometimes reactivate mushrooms and such everytime you fail a jump makes it frustrating.

However, this is a very surprising game for a gamejam. It's not for me, but it's a great entry ! Good job.

yuigoto says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:34am

Beautiful! The graphics are pretty well done, the soundtrack fits like a glove and controls are responsive too! :)

Reminded me of lots of games I've played during the 16-bit era. :P

I didn't get the slimes' timing at first and the mushroom timing is faaaaast, but it was fun to play!

Nicely done! :) Cheers!

lemer says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:38pm

This game is really hard and it has an awesome graphics and gameplay. Really good work.

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Great job! I like this art and gameplay. Seems it was hard to tune up levels.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:45am

Great art style, looks really really nice! I really like difficult games, but I felt the jump was a teeny bit too unfair on this - would be nice with a smidgen of extra leeway in getting some of those jumps landed!

bombjack says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:10am

meow... I'm personal not involved in games with cats. Could be interesting for some.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]