Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

WEAKER BOWSER BROS

by JHM - Jam Entry

NEW BUILD !!!!!!!!! HERE:

WINDOWS:

http://sociamix.com/JAM/EDIT/Builds2.rar

WEBPLAYER:

http://sociamix.com/JAM/EDIT/WebPlayer.html

Weaker bowser bros is an alternative version of mario where Bowser needs to help him out by reassembling the stage because mario can't manage to get to the castle.

It is created on a satyrical tone.

All the rights of the Mario franchise are reserved to Nintendo.
We do not own the right to the characters or any piece related to the mario universe.

Art: Jesse Henao Monroy - GameDesign: Nathan Scheire - Code: Pierre-Armand Nicq
This is a fan-art game made during the ludumdare game jam. It is based on the Mario universe own by Nintendo©

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#52Innovation(Jam)3.92
#87Audio(Jam)3.81
#133Humor(Jam)3.65
#334Theme(Jam)3.69
#344Overall(Jam)3.43
#351Mood(Jam)3.35
#418Graphics(Jam)3.60
#511Fun(Jam)3.08
#1796Coolness35%

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:46am

The music was by far the best part. Cool idea.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:47am

"Sorry, Chrome can't run this app"

MattV says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:48am

Love the idea, love the aesthetic, music was on point, sound effects were great! It seemed like I didn't have to do anything to get mario to die though...

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:49am

That's a great idea and a nice take on the theme. The sound is amusing and the art style is really good, I just had a hard time with the controls. Overall great work!

omaha says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:50am

It's impressive how much of the SMB theme you've managed to recreate here. I didn't have much success with the game in the traditional sense, but it definitely made me want to try.

I had a really hard time trying to play it on my macbook, it didn't seem to recognize my right-mouse button (mapped to two-finger click). Maybe that's a Unity bug?

There was a LOT of text to read up front, and the font was a little hard to read. I bet if you added the instructions to your description it will help some people out once they get in game :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:52am

Very good graphics and sound. Fun, but only one level isn't that much. Interesting concept.

pnkthrepwood says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:53am

Cool game idea!

At first is a bit hard to know what to do.

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:55am

pretty great amazing aesthetic

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:55am

I like this as an explanation of the logic of the world of Mario. Everyone just trying to do their job. Poor bowser.

This game feels really complete. There is a lot going here and I think its really impressive. The controls feel a little sticky. My actions do not seem to register at times especially block placement. But I was able to make it work. Good luck to you!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:24am

Really clever concept, making the two sides cooperate for a common goal. Gameplay could use a bit more polish, but major props for innovation here.

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:42am

Love the music, very hard but fun when you get it!

team_ftlol says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:47am

The music was some fine work. Plenty of variety with your vocal instruments. The graphics look nice, too. I like the curvature effect.

Mario's movement isn't half bad, either. You've got him jumping at about the right times for things.

The controls didn't seem to work well with my laptop's touchpad. I could see what I had to do, but clicking didn't reliably consume blocks, right-clicking didn't reliably put them into the scene, and I don't have a middle-click available to switch blocks. =(

-mildmojo

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:13am

Decent mario-like game, that's a lot of graphics to recreate during a weekend.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:47am

Really cool concept! I liked the cutesy Mario, the cranky Bowser, and the funny beat boxing. Good job! Only complaint would be that the controls felt unresponsive, but you can fix that!

mortus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Nice idea, quite fun, but a little bit too slow for me. Also, is there a reason the game is controlled by QZD for me instead of AWD? Is that some kind of revenge to developers who make games without different keyboard layouts support? :D

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:55pm

The sound effects made me laugh. Nice aesthetic and fun gameplay!

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:58pm

nice music and nice idea great graphics also

Wefiends says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:20am

Really really innovative game, maybe a bit hard to get the hang of. The concept was great though.

Lynx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:42am

This is one of the greatest parody takes on the Mario franchise I've ever seen. Well done wight he concept and incorporating the theme so well!

Maramasa says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:45pm

The concept is really cool! Would love to see something like this expanded upon into a full game :) Awesome work!

KodingNights says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Innovative!
Bowser moves a little slowly. Also it would help with a little overview of the level before you start. Music was hilarious first few times but got a little annoying after a while.

superfreak says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:37pm

ADORE the music and idea! Enjoyed playing a ton

el-pepi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:15am

Good graphics and original game. I liked the music. The game was very easy tho, and I wish there where more levels.
The instructions at the start are too long, so I didn't even read them.
I think I found a bug, if you shake the screen to the right while mario is jumping, high jumps really high.
Also, I think you should make it so you can't mine blocks that are underground, it makes the game too easy.

jofra says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:36pm

awesome game. so well done! X) best sound in LD

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Was extremely hard, but addicting! Was not able to win. Good Job, you have defeated me. :( But seriously, good game! Very well done.

Zampi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:44pm

I'm realy like concept, but it's not so polished as I want :(

Q is left in my case
D is right
Z is a jump...

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Great idea! Could be a really fun full game with increasingly harder levels. I would prefer infinite lives though

mubox says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:04pm

What a short time... Hahahah.

JayProg says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Really cool concept and hilarious music. Had trouble with the controls in web version (A wasn't working for some reason). The SMB aesthetic was great, as well as the CRT monitor effect. Overall, very good, but had some issues with the controls.

Oct 18, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Really neat concept! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/VOSoNttI06o

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]