Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Tricks and Treats

by Coruja - Jam Entry

Tricks and treats its a game made by the students from the brazilian tecnology and image school Coruja.

The game consists in founding candies and making tricks in a old woman's house.

Visit our website https://www.coruja.art.br or our facebook https://www.facebook.com/escolacoruja

Staff:
Maikon Mattiello
Pablo Rigon
Gabriel Tramontina
Leonardo Job
Luiza Aiolfi
Anderson Pagani
Douglas Dias

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#97Fun(Jam)3.76
#119Overall(Jam)3.79
#141Humor(Jam)3.61
#141Graphics(Jam)4.20
#214Innovation(Jam)3.43
#252Theme(Jam)3.79
#320Mood(Jam)3.39

Comments

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:01am

Your game is beautiful! Please improve it and sell! BTW The old lady is a monster to rival the pumpkin! :D Your art is such sweet!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Art was so cute!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Great job on the art work! Wasn't quite sure what to expect in game play but turned out to be quite fun :D

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Very nice, everything is smooth except for the main movement engine, which is a pretty big deal. You get stuck in walls a bit too often when running from the lady.

glimaleite says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Aww man, I loved the art. I had fun breaking random stuff, but the old lady is just too hardcore for me, heheh. Great job, galera! Parabéns :)

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Ha! Short, but sweet. Ran up against the edges a few times; they're pretty sticky. Other than that, it's not too hard to keep away from the old lady.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Thats was funny! Art is awesome, especially "pictures". I like the way you build the map, that from some rooms is much easier to escape from old woman.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Awesome little game...
Very cool take on the theme

logiclogue says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Absolutely loved this game! I really liked the graphics and art work.

celisoft says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Very nice perhaps the best game I have found yet for this ludum dare. It's too bad that there is some lags and bugs. I had to retry the first time for launching the game and it stopped during the game one other time. I dislike Unity and I think it's the problem with your game. But I let your 4 stars on any point! Good work!

Togimaro says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Great graphism and good idea! Very good production

brombatti says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:40pm

I simply loved this art style. The game would be more perfect even if it were local multiplayer pacman type. The gameplay was very fluid, usually in top view games people do not have very carefully but it was perfect

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Really nice visuals.
I almost past through the bathroom, but I needed to check if I could interact with it.

10/10 Would buy nice bathroom interactions ^^

belva1234 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Epic graphic concept and theme application

Aaranos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Excellent graphics and sound. I find I get stuck on the terrain a lot but it's still pretty good.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Well done, took me a while to figure out where i could find the hidden treats

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Only one word: FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!

hexagore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Aw this was adorable and fun, loved it :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:36pm

BRBRBR HUEHUEHUE

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:36pm

VERY GOOD

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Cute little game. Good level design. Fun art and audio. Doorway hit boxes were a little too large. It would be nice if hiding places had some indication. Had fun playing it though

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Good looking game with a great mood. On top of that, it's very fun!

Alexbrainbox says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Wow I didnt expect to enjoy this game as much as I did! its overall pretty great, only complaint is the old ladies 'where are you' and 'II'll get you' can slowly grate on your nerves

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Love the style! Congrats!

igoramendola says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:57pm

awesome! very well done and pretty cool. parabéns pra equipe! :D

Apostrophe says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:20am

Loved the art and the gameplay. Did get stuck a few times on the terrain, but pretty impressive overall.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]