Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Is-O, Ice Monster

by dawik - Jam Entry

---------------------------------------------------------------------
You are Is-O
Your kin have been melted by global warming
You vow to exact revenge on the oil tankers plaguing your home waters

---------------------------------------------------------------------
The goal is to push icebergs into oil tankers

Use arrow keys to control Is-o
---------------------------------------------------------------------

Feel free to try this out, a fast paced and short puzzle game.

Please leave a comment if you love it or hate it!

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Game made using phaser.js

Art made using GIMP

Levels using tiled map editor

Sprite tiles and atlas using TexturePacker

Original music score by Jallabert ( http://www.lsd.nu ), using milkytracker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#404Innovation(Jam)3.17
#443Humor(Jam)2.94
#493Theme(Jam)3.50
#518Mood(Jam)3.13
#521Fun(Jam)3.06
#564Overall(Jam)3.17
#751Graphics(Jam)2.89
#2016Coolness26%

Comments

mayate says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Awesome. funny game to be so simple. KILL THOSE TANKERS!

Gigaraptor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:14pm

quite simplistic, but that is to its strength.

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Very funny game, the music and graphics are really nice. The gameplay is puzzle-ish and suprisingly fun.

The thing that needs more work the most is the UI. It's a bit clunky and some sort of map would be very useful, as it's exremely easy to get lost, especially in the later stages.

zuurr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:13pm

it is like if sokobon was an action game

only complaint is that the iceberg physics have quite a bit of wonk to them. sometimes momentum happens, sometimes not, and sometimes the momentum seems to be reversed.

demogorgon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:15pm

This game turned out well. Last I saw it was a little after the end of the compo, and it vastly improved between then and the Jam. I like it.

psychonull says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:29pm

I liked it overall. What is somewhat frustrating is getting a black screen for a couple of seconds between each level or level restart.

PizzaPortal says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Fun game! I liked the sound effects and the animation of the oil tankers breaking in half

terop2 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:37pm

i liked it, except the music.

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Sweet pixel art :D

pta2002 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Nice and simple :)

dollarone says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:21am

Great innovation The mighty Is-O's revenge! I agree with Crypto in that a minimap would be excellent.

UncleChris says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:45pm

I liked it, the mechanic was cool idea. I agree with others mini-map would be helpful. Also some sort of danger - people on tankers shoot/harpooning you.

rxi says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Small but very related to the theme! The handling on the icebergs lead to an interesting and tricky mechanic.

Sound / music unfortunately didn't play for me under Firefox 40.0.3.

mubox says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Funny game.

Suggestions:
- The Is-O' shadow can be improved.
- The colision system can be improved.

Please, don't destroy tankers on the ocean. Hahahahahahah.

Larzan says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:40am

Hehe, nice idea, good choice of music, a bit repetitive.
But what about the oil spills ? :|
:p

freaknarf says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Simple game, good idea, but it was a bit easy ! I think you should keep the same resolution with the background and outline some sprites for a slightly better visual.
I agree that breaking the oil tankers may not be the best plan for revenge :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]