Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Manifest Destiny

by superfreak - Jam Entry

Manifest Destiny is a 'hack n slash' with a twist. Progress through the seasons, destroy everything in your path and chart your progress of domination.

Controls: WASD to move, Spacebar / Leftclick to attack, Press Spacebar or left-click in quick succession to make your murder-death spikes bigger and better.


Made by @wofiel and @gamingarchaeo

*SEMI SPOILERS*
Starting out in spring you explore a new land, earning currency for acquiring natural resources and interacting with the friendly local population who are eager to interact with you (unfortunately for them the only way you know how to interact is through your murder-death spikes).

Once summer and autumn have passed, and winter has come (hah) your colonial expedition / exploitation / destruction is in full swing. The local populations now fear and revile you (and your murder-death spikes) and attempt to flee whenever they see you. You, being the monster that you are, have ways to make them comply.

Manifest Destiny drew its name from the 19th century belief that America was destined to dominate from coast-to-coast, a belief which fuelled a great number of monstrous people and acts. The game itself further draws its theme from the colonial-era and trans-atlantic slavetrade, trying to use changing aesthetics, distinct audio segments and changing AI responses to alert the player to the processes of colonization. In Manifest Destiny you are the monster, a very real monster of history.

Known issues: The webGL is touchy with user input stuff, be sure to run it in fullscreen and even then it is a matter of 60% of the time it might work. ALSO there is a bug on level-switch where sometimes the next level (almost exclusively between 3 and 4) won't load up and you will be stuck on an inoperable camera - this appears to be linked to the user controls, if you have this issue reload the game and (its not an ideal solution, I know) try not smashing space-bar-murder-death-spikes 2 seconds before the close of the level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#270Theme(Jam)3.77
#436Audio(Jam)3.01
#470Graphics(Jam)3.52
#564Overall(Jam)3.17
#589Mood(Jam)3.03
#663Fun(Jam)2.88
#701Humor(Jam)2.45
#715Innovation(Jam)2.76

Comments

kempy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:12pm

This was fun! Nice music, graphics, and theme. Thanks for making a cool game!

conormn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:03pm

That was a fun one! Really liked the trees :)

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Liked the song :)

Code Medicine says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Really neat entry! I especially like the visuals.I did have to re-read the description carefully and really play quite a few times before I fully understood what was happening. Love how you tied things in with the theme, even created in in-game link to learn more about the issues you were referring to with your entry. Nice work!

corupta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Nice message in the end.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Fun game! There's nothing more enjoyable than destroying a happy little world four times a year lol. Everything was well done, however there wasn't much difficulty. Anyway I enjoyed it, good work :)

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:15am

Great game with a great message! (And great graphics and audio :P)

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:23am

Nice art, solid gameplay. A little laggy sometimes when alot is being destroyed, but aside from that I found no bugs!

Lynx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:37am

I love how you incorporated your love of archeology into the game. Well done, little weird I can't lose, but it gave me POWER! haha Great job!

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:17am

Good job! I enjoyed the graphics and the music was cool =)

local minimum says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Way to go gamifying your PhD! Though all but subtle, I love the contrast of engaging players in something they are used to as fun and then showing them that this might not have been only fun. I'm not 100% for those haha-what you didn't know twists, but besides that little thing. I enjoyed the game, very well made. Graphics especially. Well, the use of the theme was very good. One day I must do a game about watching yeast grow, just to have gamified my PhD.

In all, really good work!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:05am

Enjoyed the graphics and music. Loved the text and different labels for each "score" between levels. The "attack" sound effect seemed too loud in my headphones.

Odefus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:55am

I liked the graphics and how the game made me feel like a horrible person. Then again I didn't have a choice. Even if I scored 0 in everything it changed nothing. I feel you should have either given the player a choice or forced their hand by a failure state. I tried to do the right thing okay? Game wouldn't let me. I guess you can't change history.

Nice take on the theme.

OH! and the loudness of the attack sound destroyed my ears. You ought to put a warning on here about that.

Tselmek says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:17am

Nice low poly graphics and great music. I wish there was more to the gameplay, like upgrades (would have loved to upgrade my speed or damage range for example) or different mechanics between each level but it's great as it is now. The camera movement is a little wonky but it does its purpose. Overall, needs some tweaking here and there but it's a really solid entry.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Nice Idea, good Graphic.
in level3 i get a NullReferenceExpection Error, and the Collision witch buildings and the Mountains didn't work.

SpringCabal says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:48pm

The music was good but the sound was too loud/annoying in comparison. I don't feel like wanting to repeat playing it, but the inspiration is interesting. The UI looks really neat and the simple graphics work -> I just wish the gameplay was a bit more fast paced/interesting instead.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:19am

I enjoyed this entry. Particularly liked the graphics and the music. The sound effects were a bit too loud. It would be nice if the things that you destroy were knocked up into the air or something instead of disappearing.

MrKOHCEPBAHT says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:35am

Don't know what is going on but got some fun. That tiny humans...

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:59am

Awesome game and graphics. Now I can exploit the natives just like my forefathers!

Wevel says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:53am

Nice music, is quite loud. Didn't seem like there was much of a challenge

Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:27pm

I like the idea of games with a message - good job! The art and audio were neat.

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:50pm

While the game didn't seem to have an objective, the combination of fluid controls, sweet graphics, and nice sound effects kept me into it and having fun. Had a blast tearing it up, nice!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:02am

I really like the music and the game was fun :)

handkor says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:46am

Your environments are really nice and clean.

StrideWide says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:17pm

This game is loud. I like the graphics. I played the first two levels so well that I automatically won the rest of them and got the ending.

Omiya Games says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:04am

A surprisingly and depressing game. In some ways, I appreciate the approach of describing the destructiveness of colonialism. But in other ways, I feel like the fun experience I had was invalidated. To be honest, I can't say I liked the ending, but at the same time not certain what would have been a better route.

I think it's still very impressive on the details that's been added into the game.

Also fix the camera controls, please.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:28am

Good music, but the destruction sound was way over driven and blown out. Interesting idea with a dark premise. Good job!

block97 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:02am

Fun cool game. Really liked the level design along with the level progression.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:19am

Not bad! The sfx could be toned down a little and adding controls using the arrow keys would be a plus.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:27am

Neat art. I like you idea to make game more than only about getting fun.

Vladirien says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:50am

Fun game, the graphics were good. The dark background story fits the theme. The music maybe felt a bit strange. Good job!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Cool game, nice graphics. Game crashed when Level 1 ended. Great idea!

juaxix says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:23pm

I needed a game to destroy things like this one, thanks for make it :)

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:59pm

My only concern is graphics and animations, the game has a very simple mechanic and it is to destroy everything so animations and graphics combined would help make it feel better. I felt more like I'm a monster destroying false gods' temples btw :D

Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:18pm

really cool! I was expecting my attack to be a really simple little arm swing or something, but shooting giant rock formations out of the ground was a fun and powerful surprise!
I really enjoyed the gameplay overall - it kind of gave me Katamari vibes with it's emphasis on finding efficient routes through levels.

Vem says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Clever enough, the game still calls you a murderer when you just stroll around, though :P

The game was about the message, and it got through very well.

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:38am

Great idea behind the game. I think with theese mechanics you could devlop a really in depth game with some tweaks and variety. Also thanks for the review ;D

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:49am

Nice entry! I love the music, I wish the explosions were slightly quieter so I could hear it better :P . Graphics were minimalist and appropriate (they remind me of Katamari Damacy). Game play wasn't challenging, it would be nice if there was some consequence for over-using the attack. I love the level design and models, all color schemes fit, the game was very visually appealing. Great job, I would love to see more of this!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:30am

Love how the guy get's more devil-god in appearance ever step, and great music as well. Only downside: the spike sound was super loud

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:18pm

It felt like Doshin the Giant on crack. Superb job!

MrTwister says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:31am

This game definitely wins the "Most Satisfying Stomp Attack" award.

Loved the different levels and the general graphic style.
Music was also good although I think some SFXs were not playing correctly (sometimes too quiet, sometimes too loud).

A really nice entry overall with an interesting nod to real history.

Well done, really. This was quite an enjoyable game :)

DerekRumpler says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:48am

Fun game. I like how it was allegorical at the end. The camera does seem a little wonky, though, and I didn't catch on to the time element until the next level. Maybe move it to a more central location where it stands out to the eye?

Drunkteam says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:27am

Interesting game. Some improvable stuff: some collisions (e.g. with mountains) need polishing, and I would have liked more challenge for enjoying my destructive power more. The volume of the destruction effect is too high with respect to the music volume. Anyway, cool game!

tMalicet says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Nice graphics and the game fits the theme perfectly.
However, controls could be a little bit more nervous and it lacks some challenges.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Bow to me, peasants!

Fitting to the theme, the soundtrack is a little too "happy" for the mood of the overall game. The sound effects are great though.

kozun says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Had great fun spawning great deal of destruction everywhere! I am polygon-art lover and I am impressed how you designed UI to fit the style :D

Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Really cool game! I enjoyed playing it a lot :) being the devil was too fun for me. Cool graphics and timing. Good job!

Dunric says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:36am

Good job on the game I like it.

nomand says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:43am

the music ruined it for me. Very mismatched, didn't want to keep playing just so that the music stops.

wooltech says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Great graphics, and nicely satisfying destruction effect.

zenmumbler says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:16pm

The attack sound effect is _way_ too loud, have volume down to 1 on my machine but with in-ear headphones it's still too loud.

bombjack says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:28pm

I like the gameplay. the sound effect is much too loud and broke my ears ;p

Mase says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:22pm

(Sorry to be a wet towel, but..)
While these issues are important, portraying exploitation as a giant white devil with bling seems like a gross oversimplification.

Also:
The low-poly models are nice, but the lack of animation makes them look unfinished.

kiroukou says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Really nice graphics style and sounds.
I justs had some troubles with controls, French keyboard.. you should consider to support directional keys as well.
I had some fun destroying everything :)

Aaranos says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Great audio and nice inclusion of a story for a simple murder spree.

pixzleone says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:42pm

It was really cool, I really liked the graphics and the music, though the smashing sounds were a bit to loud, but thats not the biggest problem.
Good Job!

Also: Somewhere around the middle of the game I got a error about arrayindex out of range or something like that, didnt seem to change anything for me so i doesnt matter, just wanted to let you know.

andyman404 says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Very cool low-poly 3D monster game! Surprisingly deep. Manifest Destiny is a great and sadly true twist on the monster theme. The trail of blood is especially poignant. Well done!

Literal Games says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Interesting use of the theme! Loved the floating island graphics.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Very cool game, I liked how you use it as a teaching moment for players. Now that's tangential learning right there. :D

Oct 18, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Really neat graphics, though I got a weird error trying to play level two. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/mQTSmMf-zUY

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]