Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

you monster

by fmdud - Jam Entry

Martin convinces his two friends, Ewan and Raheem, to go and give their old gym teacher a scare. It's only about a five minute drive.

Please report bugs. I barely made it five minutes before the deadline.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#39Graphics(Jam)4.55
#131Mood(Jam)3.76
#151Audio(Jam)3.63
#223Innovation(Jam)3.42
#252Theme(Jam)3.79
#365Overall(Jam)3.40
#1713Coolness37%

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:12am

Is there any indication how far along you are on the drive? I couldn't find any, so the game felt kind of aimless.

It's a very interesting idea for a game especially given the theme-- who's the monster, the gym teacher or you? The graphics are very charming, as is the audio; it's very easy for a game drawn in crayon to look amateurish but this is deceptively cute looking.

It bothers me that both of the characters have the same dialogue-- it's hard to tell them apart beyond "the white guy" and "the one who looks like Geromy." Also not sure why the guy in shotgun vomiting would end the game. Still, very nice, even if the gameplay itself is minimal.

Ybalrid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:16am

The hand dranw graphics are cool, the music too.

disperse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:20am

The papercraft art is ace! I couldn't get the two middle bars, scared and anger, to move up at all, not sure if that is as intended.

peecestudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:24am

Very well thought out game. The hand drew graphics was excellent unique idea. Nice background music.

Phoenix Smith says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57am

Great Art and interesting concept. Only wish there was a gunshot at the end to really drive home what you did.

ninjacharlie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:06pm

AHHHAHAHA! Got them both drunk to game over which was hysterical for some reason. Nice job with the art and graphics :)

kerotan24 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Really nice game, the mood was intense.

Marjie62 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Concept and graphics are over average. Gameplay is a little frustrating, since the bars move so fast I ended up the second time clicking actions quickly without really reading what they were saying.
Overal very nice entry!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Wow, creepy. Love the art style.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]