Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Empty

by fdslk - Compo Entry

Edit: MAC VERSION READY! :D Sorry for the large size; for some reason the build on Mac is way higher than Linux and Windows.

Game Have been fix! You should be able to run it now without problems by running the .exe on the root folder!

My game for this theme is a clone of basic cat and the mouse game. Everything was done by me. You can find out about the story by activating certain beacons when collapsing on them.

Everything was done in Unreal Engine 4. I wanted to make the game to look like raycast game from the Doom era. Hope you like it!

Controls:
Movement: WASD+mouse
Attack: Left Click.

How to run:

First be sure to have UE4 pre-requisites installed. You can find them in:

<Folder Name>\TheEmpty\Engine\Extras\Redist\en-us

Then go ahead and run the game by running the .exe on the root folder.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#259Mood3.30
#268Graphics3.47
#538Audio2.54
#686Theme3.00
#722Innovation2.57
#758Overall2.77
#774Humor1.78
#889Fun2.18

Comments

disperse says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:55pm

I'm getting an error message "Failed to open descriptor file '../../../TheEmpty-Win32-Shipping/TheEmpty-Win32-Shipping.uproject'. Using Windows 8.1 here and installed the UE4 runtime when prompted.

camthestar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:58pm

I have the same error as 'disperse'. The failed to open descriptor file error

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:01am

I can't open this either, good luck though! I've run other UE4 games, hopefully yours gets going.

inurashii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:02am

I got the same error. I installed the UE4 prereq files first.

struffy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:03am

Windows 10 - same descriptor error. Also run as admin.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:06am

Same issue here. Sorry. Screenshots look cool!

WASDMagician says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:07am

Installed the pre-requisits and am having the same problem as disperse and camthestar, "Failed to open descriptor file '../../../TheEmpty-Win32-Shipping/TheEmpty-Win32-Shipping.uproject'.

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:13am

Same error, Windows 10.. I'll try to come back later!

fdslk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:26am

Hey guys! Have you tried this folder?
<Folder Name>\TheEmpty\TheEmpty\Binaries\Win32?

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:40am

Same error as everyone else seems to be getting. Tried running it from the Binaries/Win32 folder... looking through the files it extracted I can't even see the file it's looking for in there? Unless it's supposed to park of the pak or something?

fdslk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:43am

Check if your anti-virus for some reason took it as a false positive.

Halleflux says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:56am

See posts before this one =P

I hope you get it working. It looks cool.

Thief says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:13am

If you rename TheEmpty\TheEmpty\Binaries\Win32\TheEmpty-Win32-Shipping.exe to TheEmpty.exe it runs.

(TheEmpty\TheEmpty.exe still doesn't work, but running the TheEmpty\TheEmpty\Binaries\Win32\TheEmpty.exe does)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:17am

Pretty good

fdslk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Have have been fixed! You can run it by using the exe on the root folder!

faemir says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Fantastic graphics and use of the theme, the mood was set well and it felt quite reproachable in a good way.

The girl got stuck a couple of times on trees, but generally it was fun and enjoyable!

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Worked for me now. The graphics and visual effect was really cool. By the end I felt pretty bad about stabbing them ghost ladies. Truly we are the monsters.

Reyn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:04pm

We had the same type of idea. I liked your art! (Windows 10)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:04pm

The visual are really nice, very cool art style. The music really fits. Quite a heavy story (didn't expect that...), gave me the chills :)

Frozen Ninja says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:08pm

I love the graphics, it would have been more impressive if u hadn't used UE4... but, regardless a very cool game, short but intriguing. Good job! :)

TaleEngineer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Very well put together, although I have to admit that I do not think I "get" it.

Although I don't fully understand the story, the running around in the dark and the things that were said certainly made me feel uneasy, which was fantastic for the mood of the game.

Very interesting experience over all.

fdslk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Ty guys! The story is non linear for those not getting it :D and it can be interpreted in several ways.

Newan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Error.

fdslk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:10pm

what error are you getting Newan?

danidre14 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Cool. Love the graphics. Awesome entry.

Knatt says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:24pm

what I liked:
-Style in consistent and clean
-Motion blur looks good (except on the knife)

What I didn't like:
-The music gets repetitive and grating, I feel ambient noise probably would have been a better choice.

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Interesting game, I found it hard to connect with the story. Incredible shaders, I loved the visual effects and aesthetics. I would love to see this game in more depth, nice work!

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Great art style, nice entry :)

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:29pm

A thought-provoking concept and I really enjoyed the graphics. It's kind of light on gameplay but very interesting.

jlnr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:05pm

The screenshots look tempting, but my Windows VM does not support the DirectX 11 level 10 profile :|

fdslk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:07pm

@jlnr: Not a problem! You can run it anyway. I made it compatible with DX10 profiles :D

Xanjos says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:10am

I loved the voxel style and the narrative was pretty interesting (albeit it was a bit confusing at times). The way the story ends fits the theme very well.

JayProg says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:44am

Loved the art style.

the31 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:35am

Neat graphical style! I didn't really understand the story, or what causes the main menu to reappear, though.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:36am

A simple game. I didn't realize there was a "real" target until a long time in, since I wanted to investigate the house. Good work, and thanks for sharing it!

toni343 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:07am

It was creepy, but I didn't really get the point of it. It was too easy too kill the women while she was it the yard.
The music is nice and the voxel based graphics are lovely.

glerikud says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:54am

Probably my favourite graphics so far in LD! The garden's a bit too big, but otherwise, it looks so awesome I can't complain.

inurashii says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:30pm

okay, got the fixed version to run! Really love that chunky voxel style, and had a good time exploring the house. The plot was ... lacking, though, and hunting down my victim wasn't very fun. Still, would love to see these assets used in a more full game!

struffy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:14pm

This is almost the opening from Scream. It just needed the pop corn. Also a little bit dark... Um!!!!!!

I particularly like the radiation or insomnia esque graphic bit effect.

First game ive seen that literally makes you the bogeyman from those films.

fdslk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Thanks guys! I'll try to turn this into a full game ala manhunt probably, the only problem would be funding if I do so.

01101101 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:14pm

You managed to give this game a pretty creepy mood :)
The graphic style is nice, but I'm not sure I understand the story, although I think I found all the "beacons" before killing the real girl.

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Great atmosphere! The music is a bit repetitive but it works. Graphics and shaders are great!
Sometimes the lady/ghost would just get stuck and then it was very easy to stab her (actually not that easy, it took a few stabs until she dropped). Also it would be nice to have invert axys y ^^;
Anyway great entry!

collaboration says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 5:21pm

I already love the visuals, and I really want to play it - but I can't, error is - returned c1, don't know what it means, anyway, I'll will check for updates, cuz visuals are really awesome!

fdslk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 5:31pm

@collaboration: Can you tell me pls, which platform are you running?

Sep 9, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Neat graphics! I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/isROeWsQRB8

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]