Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Over your dead body

by andreymust19 - Compo Entry

It's stealth-game about killer. You need complete your mission and avoid detection by guards.
Everyone NPC slaying from 1 punch/shot.

CONTROLS:
Hold 'Escape' - quit from the game
WASD - moving
Mouse - aiming
LMB - shooting
RMB - punch or grab body
Left Shift - running (loud footsteps)
Left Ctrl - sneaking (no footsteps sounds)
Space - take off suit (only for unconscious body)

No music and sounds, sorry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#460Fun3.03
#665Innovation2.68
#812Mood2.30
#825Theme2.63

Comments

dusho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:20pm

to make unity work on web, you need to point to its .html file, not .unity3d

andreymust19 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Deal. Thx.

@SamPotasz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Error :-(

Blocked loading mixed active content "http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/y0mmzr0wghhym1o/web.unity3d"

someone9999 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Sweet game! The ability to disguise as a blue/orange guy was really neat. (Don't mind me, just one of you orange guys). Quite fun!

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:16pm

The movement was weird. I kept expecting up to go up to forward relative to the player.
None of my attacks seemed to have an effect and none of the enemies were doing anything. I didn't know what my goal was.

lion123 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Doesn't load for me, just white screen

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Other people seem to get this working, I only tried the webplayer however both the embedded one and the link didn’t work for me. I didn’t leave a rating.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Very nice level design

f2jason says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:03pm

I also was just getting a white screen. Fixed it on Firefox by clicking the shield icon next to the address bar and allowing the app.

Boehrsi says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Nice little game, but the WASD controls are a bit strange. I think they should orient at the world axis, not the players position / angle. Nevertheless quite nice :).

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Won't load for me.

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Would be nice to see vision arcs of NPCs and they should react more to what happens. But still a nice entry

nozzergaming says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Nice game, took me a while to figure out what was going on (maybe I was being dumb) but I liked it overall. Pretty addictive as well ;)

bumbu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:42pm

It was strange that i could kill everyone and there was no specific enemy

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:45pm

I was just able to shoot everyone without using the stealth mechanics. The last mission didn't seem to work correctly, it asked for me to kill 20 civilians but after everyone was dead only 10 remained. Looks like if you die in the last mission the quota increases by 10 each time.

TooMuchPete says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:45am

It took a while to get used to the controls, but I really liked how well the AI worked for such a short period of time to work on it. Although I think the AI should be extended to see as far as the player can shoot, it was kind of easy to inch an enemy onto the screen and then shoot at them. Fun, though!

daveh says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:52am

The stealth mechanics all work well, but don't seem as favourable to the non-stealth approach as they could be. I think this is a really solid foundation for a stealth game with some tweaking to the balance between action and stealth.

dydx says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:58am

Nice concept and level design. The WASD/mouse movement was a little off-putting at first but I got used to it.

p.s. I uploaded a win32 build of my game!

nili says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:15pm

I found the movement relative to direction a bit disorienting. There were several interesting features that i did not discover on my first playthrough.

Still, i found it engaging.

astrophics says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Very fun! Good game!

Reyn says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:53pm

I liked it, played to the end. Made me think of "Monaco". I agree the controls should not be relative to your direction.

Patomkin says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:18pm

The controls are quite puzzling, but the game mechanics are very solid! Great compo entry :)

reiknight says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:51am

The controls are weird at the beginning, the 3 levels were funny

Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:50pm

The controls are very weird. The level design is pretty good, but there are no any need in any abilities except shooting (punch, grab, run, sneak, take suit - all of these are useless). I think with more competetive levels it will be fun to play this game.

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Too easy to play without using the stealth mechanics, I think. The game doesn't really feel all that dynamic or exciting, but I think some of the mechanics are interesting. Keep it up!

andreymust19 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Thanks everybody for feedback. I'm glad, what game liked somebody.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]