Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Run, Monster, Run!

by Arcadonauts - Compo Entry

Run from the angry villagers. Last as long as you can!

WASD to move. S to dismount unicycle (for a boost).

M and N to mute the music and sound effects.

E to start playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#45Fun3.92
#72Humor3.74
#136Audio3.48
#183Theme3.84
#211Mood3.38
#309Overall3.32
#385Graphics3.24
#457Innovation3.00
#1314Coolness47%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:32am

I genuinely had a really great time with this.

watupdb says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:29am

Exceedingly, and surprisingly, fun. The movement is quite "floaty" though, and I think it adds quite a bit of artificial difficulty, but the general idea worked really nicely. Good job.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:29am

Controls were a little slippery, but otherwise this game was delightful. Dimensional portal was awesome.

thatwhichis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:29am

unicycle B-D

handkor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:29am

This is quite fun. The music sets up a great mood too. Good job

ferdbold says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:30am

One of my favorites! The unicycle was a GREAT idea that was very funny. This game shows very well that you don't have to tell jokes to be funny :) Good job!

Sam Twidale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:31am

One of the funniest games so far this jam :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:32am

Really fun physics! I love the background illustration as well, and the gameplay was pretty solid. Would love a more zoomed out screen though.

PokeyOne says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:33am

great game

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:47am

Felt like I was a bit on ice. Loved the unicycle.

DiscoFish says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:48am

Fun game ))

hammerfrenzy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:01am

Well done, I think the shark was my favorite. Didn't realize it was endless at first though, so I kept running off the side of the screen and thinking I beat a level.

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:26am

Watching villagers jump to their doom while chasing you is fun to watch =)

wesley werner says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:30am

A monster on a unicycle? Brilliant! Your game controls pretty good, movement feels a bit "slippery" sometimes. Nice touch on randomizing the bonus blocks, and their variety adds that depth. Good game!

notes: The end stats got cut off on my screen (right-aligned past the screen edge).
It plays perfectly on Iceweasel 38.2.0 (unbranded Firefox).

conormn says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:15am

Great game! Loved the art, music and unicycle especially :)

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:14am

fun. movement a bit too quick. challenging

Aglavra says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:25pm

The game is funny, but the screen moves too slow.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:57am

This is fun! The movement is like ice though. Imagine if the unicycle were a creature...

Resonious says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:00pm

This is actually real fun. Good graphics and music, plays smoothly. Amusing to watch villagers lemming off ledges.

MapleQuest says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 8:37pm

The theme and concept are pretty clever and I love the idea, but the floaty controls and too easily sliding off screen make it a bit frustrating to play. It's weird when the control feels better when riding a unicycle than when not.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]