Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Squatchin'

by randomhuman - Jam Entry

A gentle sasquatch, you just want to be left alone to roam the North American wilderness; but squatch hunters and campers keep encroaching on your territory! They must be squashed. Or perhaps... squatch'd...

Press W to move forward, mouse to turn. Left mouse to attack, right mouse to roar and attract nearby enemies to your location, so you can sneak up behind them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#281Graphics(Jam)3.88
#328Theme(Jam)3.70
#456Fun(Jam)3.15
#538Overall(Jam)3.20
#565Humor(Jam)2.71
#655Mood(Jam)2.95
#669Audio(Jam)1.97
#670Innovation(Jam)2.82

Comments

OccamsRazor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:20am

I really liked the style in this one! There seems to be a shortage of people to attack, was having trouble finding any, but still a very well put together game!

But one tip, for Unity Web Player builds. If you want to use right-click as a mechanic, you need to chose 'No Context Menu' in the WebPlayer template section of Player Settings. Otherwise, right click just opens a menu box.

Wevel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:21am

Cool idea, there where a lot of camps with no people at them. Graphics works well and this fits the theme well. Its a bit annoying that when you right click on the web version it brings up the web-player menu (might want to change the button for roaring).

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:21am

5/5 for graphics good game keep going

randomhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:41am

@OccamsRazor D'oh! I noticed that but then forgot to do anything about it! I have brain fry. Thanks for the tip, fixed now.

randomhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:42am

@Wevel Thanks for the feedback :) I fixed the problem with the web player context menu (I hope...), sorry about that.

randomhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:43am

@BoskoSokolov Thanks very much :)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:43am

Pretty nice game. Why'd you opt to use W instead of just click to mve though?

randomhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:04am

@dickpoelen Thanks! Originally it was WASD screen-relative movement, but it didn't really work for the attacking. I changed it up last minute and didn't get it quite right.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:39am

Good across the board. Could do with more people to kill. It would be fun to destroy the tents too.

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:40am

Gorgeous lowpoly graphics and smooth clean controls. Great job.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:07am

This was fun, very simple in principle but well executed. The graphics look nice and fit the light hearted theme well. Good job!

randomhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:08am

@peterthehe Thanks very much :) Being able to destroy the tents (and the fires, for that matter) was absolutely part of the original plan, but along with many other planned features I had to let it go as the deadline loomed :(

randomhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:08am

@Shaw Wow, thanks!

randomhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:10am

@Rocketship Thanks very much :)

PizzaPortal says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:28pm

I love the low poly graphics! Really well done. Gameplay is also fun with great AI for the squatch hunters.

The controls are a bit finicky though, full WASD would be better. It could also use some music

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Great idea, but hard to control. Couldn't turn sometimes while walking forward for some reason, so felt a bit frustrating when I ended up as a deadsquatch so many times!

Presentation wise it's really good, I do love a low poly aesthetic :D

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Hah, really cool!

jordinuco says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:18am

Deadsquatch!

I caught a a human standing still, facing some rocks (certainly, peeing), and killed him mercilessly ¿Am I a monster?

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:49am

I liked AI but the game was so repetitive. There could be more to it than just slapping campers.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Very nice game, Roar :) Controls are bit unusual, but wery handy. Would be nice to have some indications like difficulty level and health "potions" like food. But overall I had a blast - thank you.

komjaur says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:11pm

I was slapping those johnnys soo hard.. ohoh johnnys

derr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:54pm

A nice little game. Good graphics. Is the lighting on the ground dynamic? Really nice! The controls are a bit unintuitive though and I felt like the roar needs a higher trigger radius. Other than that it was fun squashing those campers!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:09pm

I squatch'd all the hunters in the level (not sure if there is more than one level). I think having WASD controls might work better than following the mouse and holding W.

Nice minimalistic art style. The firelight brightness changing occasionally was a good touch.

SeaDads says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:16am

That's good squatchin'!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:17am

Nice game! Dynamic shadows look great!

Vladirien says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:37am

Fun game, loved how you make the human fly by hitting them :D

Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:43am

Nice Idea, i like the graphics

PIN34PPLE says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:45am

I really like the graphics in this game and I generally like the models and mood. My main criticism would be that there is not really all that much to do. (As far as I could gather) all you did was walk around the campsite and kill the campers and then the game was done. Also, the game could do with some instructions; I got a little confused when W, A, S and D all moved you in the same direction. Overall, a really good game with some really nice graphics.
Well done!

kidando says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:50am

I squatched them goood. Hahahaha. Funy interesting game. Nice lighting effects. The simplicity was good. Wish there was a bit of background music, but it was solid entry.

randomhuman says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:46am

Thank you all for your kind words and feedback. Taking some of the criticism I've received on board I've created a post-compo version of the game which is now available on gamejolt (linked above) and itch.io (http://randomhuman.itch.io/squatchin).

This includes the following changes:

* WASD based movement instead of mouse-look.
* Plugged the holes in the border (I hope).
* Added a camper-counter to the UI.
* Increased the number of campers on the first level, and ensured that they will be more evenly distributed.
* Added a new enemy type (you should start to see them from level 3 onwards).

I hope that improves the experience somewhat!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Great graphics, fun game! I included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/1VzFVc1MuWc

JayProg says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Awesome concept and extremely fun to play! Wish there were more hunters at a time, but the challenge is still present. Love the minimal style and graphics/audio. Very charming. My favorite thing is the sasquatch roar sound effect. There's something extremely satisfying about that. Could use some music. Would love to see this developed into a larger game. Great job!

uheartbeast says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Loved this game. Pretty cool. It fit the theme well. It was funny. It had a good mood pretty good gameplay. Overall nice job.

ponywolf says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Good graphics. I would like to see you keep going with this.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Controls were slightly awkward since you have to use the mouse to turn but I like the mechanics a lot especially the roar to attract attention feature.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]