Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Tabuz. Aliens are coming.

by SvenFrankson - Compo Entry

Tabuz.

Aliens are invading earth. But first, they need to land safely, hence on the ground at a controled pace.

Thanks for your interest, have fun !

(source code and assets available here : https://github.com/SvenFrankson/tabuz , CC-BY)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#141Fun3.57
#281Graphics3.44
#322Overall3.29
#354Innovation3.18
#553Humor2.50
#652Mood2.69
#855Theme2.50
#1226Coolness49%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:48am

Q and D was hard to get used to vs A and D

EwChap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:51am

I love the lander mechanics here. really fun to try to float down the right way. Definitely the start of something quite interesting here. Not sure how much its related to the theme, but still a good game. Great work.

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:55am

Simple. but addictive. i couldn't make it past level 3 though lol.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:55am

Pretty fun mechanic. The difficulty ramps up fast at level 3!

Ethan Allwood says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:58am

too dificult, far too sensitive and hard to land without practice

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Very innovative idea, great use of the theme, the game is simple but effective, good job.

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:42am

I absolutely love this game. Super, SUPER fun to play. The keybindings could be different, but otherwise great job. +Kudos for funny text! (Have to show the rest of my group this, lol)

Lolninjacatz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:43am

I really like the art style that you had, with the low poly world, it really added to the aesthetic of the game. I like that you have different failure messages based on what happened, and the use of the lights on the UFO really help with feedback with what the spaceship is doing. Something tiny that bothered me was that the respawn to main page time was a little too long so it made it frustrating to keep playing (I suck at these game). Like others have said, the Q and D were really weirdly placed which made it weird to play. Great work!

Interface says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:45am

Love it. You should make this into a mobile game and put it on the app stores, this seems like a perfect fit.

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:50am

As a sucker for lunar lander and a sucker for low-poly graphics this is pretty much the most fun I've had playing LD games. Excellent art, excellent lander controls, wonderful all round, would have loved sounds though.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:05am

This was really fun and addictive. It took me a while to get through level 1, and level 3 had me laughing with how many times I crashed. I feel like an Alien taking their driving test!

euske says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:04pm

"Failure! It's a tree!"
Fun and addictive game. The last level was hard.

Jelinib says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:35am

I got through the first couple of levels with some struggling. I think maybe level 3 and 4 should be switched around, as level 4 is much more forgiving in terms of movement area. Pretty challenging and unique mechanic, and the low poly art is great! Nice job!

Joror says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:41pm

A bit too sensitive on the mechanics there, but moon-lander type games are always a bit tricky for me. ;)

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:15am

It's a little out of the theme but there is an amazing concept. At first it was a little hard to get the idea but it is simple and fun. It would be awesome if you improve it and appstore it! I loved!

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Simple fun game - nothing groundbreaking, but a nice distraction! Didn't hear any sound or music in the web player version.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]