Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

TitanZ

by MegasDragos1 - Jam Entry

TitanZ is a game where you play as a giant robot who escaped from the secret base who was originally created.

Your objective is to destroy everything and kill every person you see without hesitation.

Of course this isn't so easy because the military will be after you all the time. Chasing you with tanks to can destroy you before you can make too much destructions in the town.

The controls are very usefull, just moving and an action button (like in the classic games).

All the credits for the music goes to YoungProdigy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#785Theme(Jam)3.09
#1009Graphics(Jam)1.82
#1035Fun(Jam)2.27
#1038Mood(Jam)2.06
#1100Overall(Jam)2.27

Comments

pighead10 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Unfortunate that I can't rate audio. It was okay for a bit, but it was very slow paced and didn't feel compelling to play - killing things was not satisfying and there was no real challenge.

razavidn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Loved the sprites for the people, really good work on that front! Found myself craving feedback on the size of the rocket explosion - just a single "boom" graphic telling me the size when it hit would have really helped on this front.

Hegback says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:06pm

This game is going to be somewhere, right?
I kind of like the audio(destructive enough), but the robot is moving too slow, and the bombs' barrage seemed a bit too many at a time. Nevertheless, it's going to be a great game after some improves!

Josho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:36pm

i was going to rate but it said it had to make changes to my computer so no sorry

nili says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:45pm

I can not figure out how to complete the first level. There seems only to be an indestructible door at the end.

I like the atmosphere and the music.

I wish there was more challenge, destruction feedback and a higher pace.

MegasDragos1 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:56pm

For the peoples who don't know how to beat the first level: What are you supposed to do is touch the green circle close to the end and then release all the keyboard buttons, this will make the character to move faster and mange to break the last door.

VampyVampire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:54pm

I like the idea but I think it would be better if taken a little further; polishing some stuff. other than that it was ok.

Deadpan-Gamez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:04pm

awesome game! that music... all most got up to dance... wait... i did :)

CreamyBacon1 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:24pm

There is not much to do, I would recommend a boss at the end, or maybe a trap or two.
Also I know your game may get some harsh criticism but don't let that stop making more games in the future. This is a step in the right direction keep it up!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:36pm

I liked the idea -- there's something cool about not being able to jump and having to solve problems by a) crushing them or b) bombing them.

With that said, there wasn't really any decision-making in the game. I found my best strategy was to simply bomb whatever appeared on screen ASAP. Graphically, I would add something to show the blast radius of the bomb, because I also defaulted to just stopping and launching my bomb to avoid the damage.

If you continue with the game, it could also be cool to add aiming for the bomb, to add another dimension to it.

Mechanically everything worked, though. Nice work!

Gaius Baltar says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 2:04pm

The levels were interesting and well laid out, but the robot was too slow for the rate of progression in my opinion. Other than that I thought the audio was appealing, although it did play multiple times at once when I died in level one I believe. Overall an interesting idea that could have used a little more care.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]