Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Deap Sea Monster

by bumbu - Jam Entry

You're a deep sea monster. Your light is your life.
Eat submarines to gain light. Avoid terrain.

Built by:
- Ciprian Plăcintă (big pixel) - music
- Zarea Ivan (minivan) - dev
- Bumbu Alex (bumbu.me) - dev
- Sandu Cojocari (sandul) - design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#386Audio(Jam)3.11
#465Graphics(Jam)3.53
#563Fun(Jam)3.00
#564Overall(Jam)3.17
#691Theme(Jam)3.23
#835Innovation(Jam)2.60

Comments

anabalica says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Loving it! The game creates an awesome deep sea atmosphere: great music, great graphics, great execution. Good job everyone :)

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Athmospheric and cool, but is hard even early in the level.

Lane says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:05pm

You should really include some controls in the description. The light immediately goes out, and the screen fades to black within seconds.

inurashii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:08pm

This is probably my favorite 'flappy clone' I've played so far -- very clever take on it! The graphic effects were perfect, too -- very moody.

teknic says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:11pm

playable.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:18pm

This is pretty addictive. The light mechanic is a great twist on this type of game, so much so that I think you should have included 'innovation' as a voting category, I would've given you some points for that. The music and graphics all work well too, it has a nice mood to it. Good game but it is pretty difficult, I had to play it a bunch of times before I could last more than a minute.

Gipzo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Nice game. A bit difficult not to hit terrain as submarines tend to go there. But it is fun anyway ;)

Friday says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Very solid entry.

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Given that your light diminishes at a high pace, it's frustrating that submarines can move away effortlessly or just hide right next to terrain, causing any gains from catching them to be immediately nullified by crashing into the terrain. Simple but effective visual style.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:01pm

The game is nice, but it's really difficult, and the framerate is bad... (maybe because firefox?)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Very difficult straight off the bat, but after a few tries I started to get the hang of it. Simple game with good atmosphere, well done.

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Love the atmosphere! Great light effects

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Cool game with a nice gamplay! You got the theme right and with great music! Would be cool if you had more light at the start, as it took too long time to learn the game when I had to restart so quickly.

flokitall says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Deep Sea Monster reminds me of Flappy Bird for obvious reasons, so I'd love to try it out on a mobile device. The control scheme (tap anywhere on the screen) would fit that platform perfectly.

I'm curious if you had the time to experiment with damaging obstacles (walls that if you touched, you died). I think that would be an interesting twist on Flappy Bird's mechanics, the fact that at any point you can decide not to eat a risky submarine in the hope that you'll be able to make up the lost light later in the level. That's unlike Flappy Bird where you essentially HAD to take the opening in each wall. That little change would introduce a nice "risk-reward" mechanic.

I did encounter a number of bugs while playing (subs or myself falling through the ground, pressing space too much and shooting through the roof and a couple of instances where although I ate all of the incoming subs, I still couldn't refill my energy in time), although nothing really major.

Fun little game, nice job!

7DeadlySins says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Hi, at a moment the fish's jaws get stuck in a rock and stop moving, the game didn't stop and continue giving points. Is this something normal or... it's a bug ? And, nice game!

7DeadlySins says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Oh and, highest score 210 and it keeps increasing by itself )))

bumbu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Seems like a bug. I added some fixes, hope that it helps

tomdeal says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Cool game, liked the graphics. A few more hit indicator on the terrain would have been cool

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:05am

Atmosphere gives you a great feeling of relaxing somehow. I love how it feels. Congratulations

Jerre says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:09am

Nice game. Something strange happens when you hold space too long ( you rocket upwards ). But fun to play for a while

CrownCity says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:56pm

It looks nice and all, but I couldn't get it work. Pressed space and lot's of other controls but the fish wouldn't swim. Unfortunately :(
Hope to see it working better soon

Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:11am

A flappy monster with a twist! The light dynamic is nice. I'm rubbish at it though, my best seems to be just 38 :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]