Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Werewolf Quest

by Yrr - Jam Entry

[UPDATED POST-JAM TO SLIGHTLY ALTER A CONFUSING LEVEL DESIGN CHOICE AND FIX A CRASH]

You were bitten by a werewolf!

You must use your lycanthropic powers to fight your way through undead hordes to the Alpha Wolf, so that you may kill him and lift your curse!

Powered by the moon, you can leap great heights and unleash devastating combo attacks on your foes.

--Controls
Z - Jump
X - Attack
Left/Right Arrows - Move
Down Arrow - Interact
Space - Pause

--Game may appear blurry on Windows 8 machines(?)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#135Overall(Jam)3.75
#151Fun(Jam)3.62
#242Graphics(Jam)3.96
#273Theme(Jam)3.76
#416Mood(Jam)3.28
#556Innovation(Jam)2.99

Comments

kingpirux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:56pm

I like the idea and you had great graphics! It is too hard to kick with souch short arms and some times the jump is not easy to control. Overall i liked it :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:58pm

I almost stuck in Main Menu. You better write controls in the description. Using Z nd X buttons doesn't obvious.

I have fun to play it. Your idea with moonlight mechanic is good. But enemies spawn too fast, so there no reason to fight with them.

undef says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Nice little game, cool graphics, great idea with the moon mechanic.
However there seems to be a bug, or I'm missing something.
I can't seem to reach the pink lever.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Great little game. I just feel like using up arrow key for jumping would be more natural :)

Yrr says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:09pm

@undef - The first pink lever can be seen early but is out of reach, there is an alternate route to reach it, leading to the first boss fight.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:11pm

This is surprisingly polished and a lot of fun! It looks a bit blurry on my machine too (Windows 7 64-bit), but it's not too bad. Sometimes I got a bit confused about which way to go (I think after I hit the first red switch? Or maybe the blue one?), but generally, this game was really solid! (I do feel kinda bad for killing all those undead folks, though...)

Parappa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Satisfying little Metroidvania with boss fights, feels like a genuine Gameboy Advance game.

Lucho9 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:21am

hehe i love the werewolf :D

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:41am

As others note, the controls are a little tough, but I made it through alright! Definitely worth refining into a longer game if you feel the inclination.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:47am

The jump doesn't work for me.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:50am

Controls are non-obvious, you should put them up here.

Wakefield says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:08am

Nice! good graphics and nice concept! i´m a huge fan of metroidvanias so this was amazing for me. Congrats!!!

alexrus07 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:27am

Awesome game! Tough as nails, too :p

plusultra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:34am

really good! great art. Precision platforming that's neither too easy nor too punishing. The restore mechanic is fun but the enemies respawn very quickly so I just started ignoring them. Great job!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Great graphic style!
And I also like the simple and enjoyable gameplay! Well done! :D

Vem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:22pm

I get an "unexpected error" :/

LavaGhost says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:28pm

The controls are too confusing but the game is amazing

charliecarlo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:46pm

This is a solid little platformer. Probably the most fleshed out game I've played so far, I played it all the way though, excellent work.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Good Job in all meanings, really fun.

Vladirien says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Loved the art-style and interesting mechanics (3 hit combo, silver floors, moon windows). Good job!

Reyn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Very very well done. I can see this on a 90s nintendo console. The only thing I didnt like was that I moved when I punched, then again it makes it more difficult... which is probably good. I got to the 2nd or so mage, where the moonlight got a lot less. I agree put the controls on this page. Thanks!

Yrr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:58pm

I've updated the description with the controls on request.

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:05pm

i couldn't pass the menu :( doesn't respond for me.
looks grea tho!

steve says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Great game with nice graphics, I felt there were a few too many windows so I was never really concerned about being hit, and later on I started to just jump over enemies because they respawned so fast it felt like there was little reason to kill them as they'd be back soon; overall I had fun and it was impressively complete for such a short time!

KAGSme says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:23pm

I appreciate the werewolf lore appropriate mechanics. I like the visuals as well.

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:32pm

I was more handsome as a wolf...
Liked the mechanics. The health being a Moon Life thing was cool, that made sense. Thought that the bosses were nice little action puzzles too! Also think that the level design is a bit easy and could've used some more depth to it and it also feel like you could have made more use of the fact that you're stronger when your moon bar is full. Maybe even better attacks when it's more full? I thought the idea was cool, but I never had a moment in which I felt more/less powerfull due to the state of my moon bar...
Anyways nice work

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Nice little game. I love how the punch combo works.

Felipeddest says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Very fun game. I have finished and was delicious. The graphics are amazing. Congratulations!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:39am

Wow! Excellent work!
This one fits the the theme by the best way on this LD so far.
Love the original gameplay with moon which powerup hero and also HP. Love the bosses! the're looking simple but pretty interesting fights. And exploration soul on whole game. There're no mazes where you shold walk over-and-over. Everything ballanced and thereis much amount of work in this amount of time. Yeah!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Nice game. I liked the idea of using the moon to recover!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Nice visual style, all the graphics felt very coherent. Fun and overall very well made entry, great job!

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Got to love the pixel art here. Need a bit of work polishing the mechanics but overall really good work

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:33pm

The graphics are gorgeous and the concept is very good. The controls are a bit difficult, but not too bad. Overall, this is a great entry. Well done!

superpatch says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Solid game, good job. :)

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:54am

OW-WOOOOOOOOOO! Cool game there my man. The loved the open worldish nature of the game, the boss fights were well designed, and the graphics were pretty nice. :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:06am

Wow, what a lovely game! The combat at first was a nightmare, it was really hard to beat things up, but once I got used to how it worked it felt solid and I was punching up things in no time. The whole idea is great, the graphics are stunning. It felt like a really good Game Boy Color game which is amazing! Very well done!

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Nice entry overall! I dig the graphics and the combo-punch was fun to juggle enemies with. I would have liked to see more done with the fighting than that one combo though. Music would have done a lot to set the mood here as well. But I liked what there was!

gillenew says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:15am

Very nice game, could only have a short time of invincibility when you take damage, I got stuck a few times taking hit to death :(

Patomkin says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Looks very polished and works really well! Definitely goes in hand with the theme. :)

PurpleApes says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Well Done!!!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Awesome game! Cool implementation, art and ideas! I got stuck at the red toggle, how do you get past there? I can't jump that high?

Yrr says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:07pm

@oskardevelopment - It's there to tease you, the actual route to it is back where you started. (You can see it in the screenshot of the intro)

Acerio says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:43pm

A lot of fun and the graphics made it that much better :D

Damdoshi says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:57pm

That was pretty cool = )

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Great! Congrats!

Drauthius says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:55pm

I quite like the game. Some jumps were a bit hard but manageable. The enemies respawning was annoying, but it was easy to just run past them to the next moon light. The levers/blocks could be a bit more clear/distinct. Well done. :)

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:46pm

The level design was totally spot-on, very few moments where I felt confused about what to do. The platforming was a little awkward, but wasn't too bad. Whoever made that castle must have been rich as hell in order to afford that silver flooring.

I had the linear filtering issue here as well, except I'm on Ubuntu running the exe with Wine so the issue is probably Wine.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:49am

The graphics is really good

ghostlyguru says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:27pm

pretty cute.. enjoyed it!

Aaranos says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:51am

Really well made game, the combos are fun and I feel it is well thought out with the spacing of saves and moon areas.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:59am

Awesome game! I finished it, and in the end the game crashed: https://gyazo.com/bbbbb43b2988f9733db6e59d1a2e65f7
The level disign were amazing! The graphics were also pretty good! I really loved that game, but some stuffs bored me, for exemple; the game really should have an backgroud music, that would increase a lot, the way enemies respawn is a little bit weird, and also, the last boss was so damn easy! It should be something really EPIC, but the other boss was harder than that. Overall, 5/5, amazing game.

Kizler says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:38am

I VERY much so enjoyed playing. :)

HappyHour says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:53am

I dig this one a lot. I think you did a fine job integrating the werewolf theme into your mechanics and the combat is simple but satisfying. I spent a good while beating up that training dummy in the beginning before progressing.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:13am

Really great entry. A fun game with an excellent amount of polish for a jam.

OmarShehata says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:32am

I really love this game mechanic! I think it has a lot of potential. The gameplay itself could be polished, (it felt a little weird that punching in the air just stopped your momentum) but I love that idea of trying to find these windows, to be exposed to the moon and have much greater powers!

Great work!

radcorps says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:51am

Great mechanics. Love the combo punch system and health regen under the moonlight. Really solid level design. Great artwork. Excellent experience all over :) Really polished LD33 entry.

cyrixd says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:01am

Really excellent entry, very complete game. Had an excellent old school feel to it.

Hjalte500 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:24am

I like the idea and pretty cool how much level you made. Also the regaining health in moonshine is an awesome idea. I like that shit. Good job.

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:19am

Great game! Love the fact that you're moon-powered.

Juin says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:25am

I really liked the Graphics, but the combat felt a little awkward.

wesley werner says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:46am

Great art, great lycan-moon-powered mechanism, great levels, great game!

hexagore says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Loved the graphics for this. I couldn't quite work out how to reach the pink switch though. I didn't seem to leap any higher when powered by the moon. I assume I'm doing something wrong. Adorable entry though :)

Yrr says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:06pm

I really regret teasing that pink switch cause it confuses everyone.
(Correct route is back at the start)

rogberth says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Great game from start to finish. I really liked it!
pd: see if there is an interpolation between pixels option ON in game maker that makes it look blurry

Yrr says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:04pm

@rogberth, I tried it with interpolation both On and Off and it didn't seem to make a difference. People with the blur kept the blur, people who didn't still didn't.

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:17pm

This was a fantastic entry! So good in fact I would say it makes my top 5, if not top 3. The concept was simple but well executed. The graphics had a retro charm to them and even the slight blur(which I would usually find unprofessional with pixel games) somehow worked, so props on that! The sounds were nice and meaty and the lack of music didn't really bother me. The mechanics were solid and I found pretty much no bugs. The game was challenging and fun, although that one switch part is a little annoying so glad to know you got it fixed. Overall, a simple but very well executed entry! One of the best I have come across so far~

someone says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Nice game. Well polished. Needs sound though.
I found the third hit in the combo kept missing, making it seem like I jumped instead of attacking.
Also it was far easier just to ignore most of the enemies, especially seeing as they re-spawn so soon.

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:42pm

pretty fun, nice atmosphere, like the moon charging mechanic. -OtiS

Linus123xbb says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Great game overall, it was fun and the graphics were awesome. The idea was neat but I couldn't find the pink lever still quite an enjoyable game.

Joseaper says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:42pm

The Z and X controls do not work well with alternate keyboards such as German ones, maybe next time use a,s or d since they are commonly together. Overall a really good game.

6DownStudios says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 6:43am

Classic yet innovative take on the theme!
Low-rez art is great; I especially like the enemy poofs and the skull-bouncer's 2-frames, and minor touches like the dithering variations on the moon and background make a big difference for the overall visual mood.

Level design is great too. Platforming obstacles and enemy frequencies increase in difficulty at a good pace, and area links/platform recycling are effectively managed with the switch/blocks.

Hope to see you again next time!

arzi says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Werewolves, yay! o/

UekiShurei says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:23am

Everything in the game is awesome! Though I was stuck trying to get to the blue switch (probably missed one). Looking forward to post-jam.

crazyrems says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Cute pixelish little game. Level design is damn good for such a gameplay.

I played your game because you have a nice avatar.
Just kidding.

Game is blurry on Windows 10 as well. Maybe a limitation of Direct Draw.

Matzigon says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Not bad, but the controls are weird, especially with a QWERTZ keyboard. :)

Yrr says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:18pm

@joesaper, @matzigon and anyone else with similar complaints.
I apologise, but I chose the controls based on the most common keyboard layout (z/x/c is fairly standard for qwerty games, as a lot of the LD entries will demonstrate).

Unfortunately some countries use different layouts, i.e. french keyboards are azerty and can't even use wasd controls, but at this point people should really understand that games without key binding can't cater to all keyboards.

If I could get key binding working I would /definitely/ implement it to avoid this issue.

GhostBomb says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Really great entry!

The reason the pink switch on the ledge is confusing, btw, is because there's a stairway of blue blocks leading up to it, leading players to believe that that's why they needed to switch the blue switch and then they are baffled when they find nothing to do once the climb them. These stairs are actually functionally useless and only confuse players, which is actually somewhat clever if that's what you were intending.

valid4life says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:28pm

The mechanic was cool! The control scheme could have been chosen better but great game nonetheless

Erkberg says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Quite an awesome game! The gameplay mechanic with the light as both health and power multiplier is kinda genius. The visuals are very beautiful and polished and the platforming works well too. Overall, I enjoyed this whole lot, good job!
A few things that could be improved:
The first and final boss had a little too much HP for my taste.
Please consider adding some alternative controls, using z and x together on a qwertz layout keyboard is very painful.
Obviously, some music would've been nice.

Managore says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Wow, this is fantastic! Definitely one of my favourite games from LD33. It was a lot of fun exploring the map, and the bosses were a very pleasant surprise. I found the hurt-blocks a bit confusing, since you can touch them from the side but not the top. Maybe there's a way to make this visually more obvious?

Oct 8, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Lovely graphics, nice game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ZV7CU8j_StI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]