Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Accursed Stare

by ArchBang - Compo Entry

Mankind has never been able to reciprocate the relentless gifts of the sun. Never until now. But what is the cost when mankind rises to the stars?

It has been decided: the sun must be given gifts greater than it has given us. The sun must be given the stars.

Move the Maw with W A S and D. Use E or Left Ctrl to activate a gravity field. Lure the other stars to meld with the Sun. But don't use up all your energy. The less energy you use, the better you succeed.

A game of gravity where you feed the sun, no matter the cost.



Audio samples have been taken from the public domain and modified.

Accreditations:

Lullaby samples: http://www.pdsounds.org/tag/lullaby

Baby sounds: Mushroom Jesus - http://www.freesound.org/people/mushroomjesus/sounds/141707/

Planetary texture base: http://freebitmaps.blogspot.co.uk/2010/12/srgb-planet-commerce-one.html

@ArchBang85
http://www.doubledashgames.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#331Graphics3.34
#368Innovation3.16
#391Mood3.10
#645Overall2.94
#718Humor2.11
#816Theme2.66
#833Fun2.41

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:31am

Nice graphics, but horrible controls! Interesting concept though.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:35pm

The controls a very difficult to get, but very innovative idea, good entry.

jsmars says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Nice idea and graphics but very difficult to get the stars to the sun

Multiplexor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Controls are hard!! And Reset button "R" is too close to E, i reseted a few games just by mistake....

Other than that, the game is a nice concept! I like a lot the graphics!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Took me a bit of time to figure out what I was supposed to do (I ate too many stars are first), but I got the hang of it and made it through on my 2nd attempt. I was a bit bummed that the game was zoomed out so far as the sun and planets looked fantastic. Perhaps feeding planets to the sun would be just as much fun. Controlling the camera was a bit challenging. Thanks for putting in the time and sharing this!

Insality says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:04pm

nice idea and implementation
hm, i have no problems with controls.. ))

Raspadsistema says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Very, very pretty, 5/5 for graphics and mood. Zooming away from the sun when the game starts makes it less pretty at first, but then the situation gets fixed quickly as other particle effects start showing up. The difficulty of guiding stars into the sun outwages the fun a bit, some tweaking could fix that. Only other complaint I have is the main character is the ugliest thing on the screen, not sure if drawing of gaping mouth was the best pick, but of course artistic freedom is all yours.

Raspadsistema says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Very, very pretty, 5/5 for graphics and mood. Zooming away from the sun when the game starts makes it less pretty at first, but then the situation gets fixed quickly as other particle effects start showing up. The difficulty of guiding stars into the sun outwages the fun a bit, some tweaking could fix that. Only other complaint I have is the main character is the ugliest thing on the screen, not sure if drawing of gaping mouth was the best pick, but of course artistic freedom is all yours. Oh and also those who prefer to use wasd controls with left hand would appreciate if alternate action button was space key.

kirilllosev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:53pm

I like how the idea fits the theme.
It was a bit hard for me to control the monster.
I like graphics, sounds and the idea of the game

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:54am

Interesting art and ideas,like the mood!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:53am

Interesting concept. I ended up with a mess of planets XD

dsoft20 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:57am

Great graphics and audio!
The gameplay is fun and satisfying.

jk5000 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:08am

Great idea, but it's too difficult.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Well thought and balanced gameplay, had a good time :)

madmaw says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:09am

Interesting vibe, beautiful looking game. Unique!

NamNam says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:24am

I think the game would be coolest with a joypad but it's still fun anyway. Cool concept.

REIN1 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:59am

Good idea!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]