Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Life of an RPG Monster

by YerghaizVerot - Compo Entry

So, first off, let me start with: this theme was awful. It begged people to not innovate anything, just rehash the same old stuff with a monster protagonist. That being said, I made a total of about 6 foundation code games, and scrapped them all, and threw this together in about 4 hours. Hopefully December will have a better theme. Also, for some reason, after importing them, the songs aren't looping properly, and I am out of time to fix them.

With that out of the way: Welcome to The Life of an RPG Monster, a short satire detailing the lives (and deaths) and the countless trillions of nameless minions slain in RPG games.

Instructions:
Click to advance the story
Up/Down on keyboard to navigate battle menu
Enter to select an option in the battle menu

I realize there is very little game play. This is meant to be a sort of cross section of the RPG encounter system in video games, seen from the monster's perspective. Thanks for playing, everyone :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#210Humor3.29
#365Theme3.54
#502Audio2.64
#593Mood2.78
#776Innovation2.45
#829Graphics2.28
#898Fun2.13
#914Overall2.37

Comments

TheRuseman says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:59am

You didn't have any "actual gameplay" but it still made me laugh. Wish you would have done more than a single battle, or given the player enough health so they have time to choose all of the options.

APC says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:14am

The wasn't a lot of content but I guess if you made it in 4 hours that's to be expected. I thought it was a funny satire about the perspective of those rpg goblins.

jodizzle says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:28am

Are you supposed to be able to advance beyond the first enemy?

In any case, I like your pretty fun use of a (admittedly difficult/bad) theme.

YerghaizVerot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:32am

Yeah...I wish I had had the time to do more with this too. There was definitely a lot more flair and polish that I wanted to add, but after making 6 other games, ranging from platformer to rpg, I just didn't have the time.

KeithKarnage says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:45am

I felt for the poor goblin.

haloguy397 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:46am

No real gameplay 1/10

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:51am

This feels a little underdeveloped.

Some animation for the battle actions would bring the whole experience up a whole star.

dosmaen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:53am

I had fun with this little game! Was pretty funny.

sepharoth213 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:09am

Pretty cute game, makes a decent use of the theme. With more time I think the jokes could have really been jam packed in there.

Congrats on the (however short) entry!

cgmorton says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:14am

Delightful game. I'm with you on the theme, but I'm holding out hope that there are some unique interpretations out there.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:53am

Nice little take on a trope but not too much of a game.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:36am

Nice music and humour. I think we should all learn from this game and stop discriminating against goblins for the colour of their shoes.

mat1er says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:48am

That's the perfect resume of every rpg

bbqbaron says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:49am

It lacked content, but the audio was charming and I laughed when I first saw the combat menu. You even had a circle wipe! The low rating is only because it doesn't really seem to be a game.

Tijn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:58am

As others have pointed out, it isn't so much a game. But the music is nice and it made me laugh, so good effort anyway :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:02am

RIP indeed.

Also, your embed code breaks out of the frame and, somehow, prevents you from going back in the browser. I had to go search for this game again in order to review it.

Vereos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:02am

That's... so... sad :( Poor goblin :(

I liked this one even if there was no actual gameplay.

tayl1r says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:23am

Chin up!

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:41am

It's very funny , has a great mood. It is kinda short but you got in 4 hours. Would love to see what the goblin would do with 10 hp haha.

zanenga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Cool game! RIP.

TiByte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Very sparse gameplay.

razavidn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:00pm

More of an animated short than a game, sorry the theme didn't inspire you!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:03pm

I liked the music, I didn't like dying! Good start!

YerghaizVerot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:07pm

@razavidn Yeah...it was intended to show the incredibly short lifespan of the average monster in an RPG.

@patvanmackelberg Nobody likes dying, and yet RPG players around the world are basically committing genocide against slimes, goblins, and various other peon class monsters every day

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:07pm

I liked this overall, it didn't have much gameplay but mine didn't either due to time restrictions like you, I did have fun watching the whole thing playing out though, I thought this was an interesting take on the theme as well even if you didn't like it that is, I liked the cute art style and the nice music, it was REALLY funny though, obviously with such a short game the mood wasn't great but overall I did enjoy watching it rather than playing it, hopefully you like the theme next time, well done anyways.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Very sad, but true. Cool retro style and cool 8bit music.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:14pm

You are absolutely right, your game and description is a perfect way to express the feelings I had during this LD. I rated you accordingly, not for the game of course, but for the idea behind your whole compo. We need more people like you.

markoburzan27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:38pm

nice

Azlen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:22pm

This is basically every goblin ever

YerghaizVerot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:28pm

@Azlen Yup, you get it :D

matthewd673 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Art was nice and the options were pretty funny, but it didn't seem possible to win (maybe I'm just bad at it). Lacking in content but still pretty good.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Really sad. Fin. RIP. Very cinematic ending. :(

Scripturus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Oh noes. Poor goblin. :(

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:35am

Was confused at first but then I finally got the joke. Pretty funny and impressive for 4 hours.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:08am

I never want to kill goblins in Final Fantasy again.

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:21am

Not gameplay, but I laughed. :D

killersnoofie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:50am

Very Good , I can imagine this turning into a wonderful Complete game :D

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:22pm

HAHA This was funny!
True that dialog!

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:21pm

"See? that's why aliens won't talk to us!"

mrcdk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:28pm

;-; RIP

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:46am

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! Nice, short little game.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Too bad you did not have much time to improve it. 4 hours is really short

tanjent says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Yes you mirror my exact thoughts on this theme! :) Also your entry is spookingly similar to one of the ideas I scrapped ... Thanks for actually doing it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]