Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Fireapocalypseeverseen!!!

by DAT.NOT.MY.GAME! - Jam Entry

ATTENTION! If the keyboard input doesn’t work in the embedded window (on this page) - please, click Fullscreen button in right down corner of window or open the direct link to the Web Version below.

CONTROLS:
Movement:
- WSAD/Arrows
Jump:
- Space

Protect yourself with a little Fire, who occasionally got into the Ice Kingdom, where habitants consider him as a nasty destroying monster! Use your only chance to escape. Save the force and confirm their fears! Let your rage explode and put these ice morons in place!

Also, you can get it on Google Play - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.datnotmygame.fireapocalypseeverseen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#93Graphics(Jam)4.36
#108Audio(Jam)3.74
#261Overall(Jam)3.53
#296Fun(Jam)3.39
#344Mood(Jam)3.36
#347Humor(Jam)3.13
#462Innovation(Jam)3.08
#471Theme(Jam)3.53

Comments

LogGiant says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:01am

This is a fun little game! At first I was confused about how to kill enemies, but it didn't take too long to figure out. It seemed like the keys were tied to the score, it would be nice to know when they would drop. The 3d text was a nice touch!

omaha says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:06am

The audio is fantastic. The graphics are lovely. And you've already managed to package this and release on Google Play?

Congrats.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:00am

omaha, yes, we already did it, try it here - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.datnotmygame.fireapocalypseeverseen

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:24am

We’ve found a problem with our project: if you’re on the game page and play the Embedded Version, keyboard input doesn’t redirect to the Web Version.

The Web Version can be opened by direct link (Web link on this page), there it works fine.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:00am

Wow. Fantastic entry. The concept, graphics, sfx, and music were all seemingly well thought out and executed. I was confused initially, but once I got past the *weird* controls and figured out how to stay on the platform, that became clear. The only things keeping this from a 5 star rating overall are the totally wacky and unfortunately clunky feeling movement mechanics, and the fact that I had no idea how long my beast mode fire kill everything buff lasted. Really great job!

Jimjam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:35am

This was an enjoyable entry! The tie in with the theme was great, but the movement controls were a little sticky, and the repeating gameplay loop could've maybe benefited with an added mechanic to add some variation. Great work :)

chuckeles says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:38am

"Stop right there criminal scum!" :D :D

chuckeles says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:40am

So I died and died and died... And then figured out how to kill enemies! And then fell out of level.

NhojEntuna says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Love the way how you presented your game especially the graphics!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Tnx for all!
Now If you can't control the character, click the Fullscreen button in right down corner of game window

superpatch says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Awesome job! I laughed so hard when i read "We require more minerals"! Also i like the color palette a lot, it's very cool.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Love it! very well made, great music and fun to play! Also difficult enough to keep me interested... sweet.

radmars says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Wow! I love that intro cinematic. The graphics are hella' adorable as well. :D nicely done. The movement physics / friction feel a bit off to me, and I wish there were some additional enemy types. Maybe show the enemy that has a key visually somehow? Really nice job! This is cute and fun~

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:52pm

The graphics were awesome! I liked the boss fight at the end, to see who was the better monster. :)

Towards the end of the boss level, the camera would be angled a little low, which didn't happen in the other levels. The player also had a little too much momentum, so it was a bit hard to move, but I did eventually get used to it.

Nice work!

Riftpoint says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:14pm

It's the best looking game I have played at ludum dare. Congratulations!

guoboism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Great art and audio. And fun gameplay. Like pacman, situation is reversed when energy fills. Great!

AlariSilver says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:29am

I loved the graphics and audio but the gameplay itself was meh. If there was sliding, and better controls, it would have been more fun :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Amazing graphics and gameplay was nice! Although it was quite laggy for me.

superfluous says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:53pm

This game was fun! My only complaint is that the controls weren't very responsive. I found myself falling off of the level or getting stuck on things without feeling like it was my fault.

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Cool graphics and music!

cxsquared says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:01pm

The game is super fun and looks really really good. My only complaint would be the controls feel a bit stiff and unresponsive at times. Overall great work.

andreymust19 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Make 32-bit build for windows, please.

andreymust19 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:51pm

And don't include *.pdb files in build. They not need for players, just more space occupy.

Shaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Graphics and audio are some of the best, Graphical style in particular is gorgeous, an excellent submission! fantastic work.

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:34am

A really fun game of avoidance and short offense. The character movement and control felt appropriate given the icy surface. I like the rendering of the stylized graphics. Very cool game!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:41am

Thank you for your opinion) Post-Mortem is coming soon. Few days, a lot of work.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Fun little game, the graphics are nice and the background music fits the game very well. Sometimes I got a bit stuck in the walls with the monster form of the fire dude but it's just a small minus. Solid game.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Build for Win x32 added. Enjoy :)

LMT says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:42pm

That was a neat game. The graphics were really cool and ambient. I really dig low poly stuff.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:29pm

really cool idea! the movement is really choppy, though, to the point that it is difficult to play.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:35pm

+ 3D models
+ sounds
+ Comments of characters
+ Boss
-camera
-repetetive

yuigoto says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Graphics are really nice! The soundtrack is beautifully made and the concept behind the game is really great!

It feels a bit too short, could have more arenas, but it feels great to play it, though I feel some explanation for the power-up could be a good thing. :P

Nice work, you really made a beautiful game here! :)

Demy says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:07pm

I love this graphics, it's beautiful.
Controls are a little bit too hard.

SKT says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Fun game, graphics are so beautiful and I love the music ! The intro is cool too. Congrats, really good job !

peterthehe says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Really fun concept, amazing graphics!

FistBumpGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Nice idea and visually very good. The controls are mediocre.

shawn42 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Almost a perfect score from me. Lots of fun and well polished. Yes please.

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Nice way to set up the story in the intro. It was fun to discover the mechanics through trial as well. Great work

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Excellent game! I simply loved the graphics in this game! The way the spikes turned red every time I become too hot, the subtle animations on the character, the cutscenes! Very cool game, and I'm adding it to my list of favorite game in Ludum Dare 33. :D

magenta says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Looks great! Plays a little clunky and I got a bit confused at first but realised quickly what to do next.

lkpridgeon says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Fun little game where all I had to do was run in a circle and occasionally collect a key or two. Nice idea and well executed.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:12pm

This sort of feels like pac-man boiled down to its core essentials

Karai17 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:34am

Fun little game! Controls are pretty difficult, though!

dregamr says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:40am

Nice music, but it's a little hard to move without fall.
Good graphics as well. Good work!!

jk5000 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:12pm

A super simple idea made into a beautiful game. Well done

Birke says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Lovely artstyle and good core gameplay. The controls are a bit too floaty for my taste since it was difficult to change direction.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:28pm

im in love with the art style, the The hud looks amazing, i would have liked it if i could have decided when to use my attack,

mantis says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Amazingly pretty graphics, the humour was fun, but the movement felt a bit jerky.

Chris M says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:30am

Great product with wonderful graphics and audio, but no gameplay hook to get me interested, and the strange responsiveness of the avatar made me feel out of control.

Sep 6, 2015 @ 6:52am

Incredible mechanics and concept! audio and graphics are fantastic too! congratulations!

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:42pm

nice catch me if you can gameplay. music is fun and graphics are nice.

UekiShurei says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Really polished graphics, and fun and interesting gameplay! It was a little hard controlling the fella on Android, though.

superfreak says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:02am

Impressive art and audio! Truly great job :)

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Hahaha ok i love that one. Poor little missunderstandet thing. xD Nice music, nice idea, nice intro. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]