Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Boss Roobot

by darkpaw - Compo Entry

The level-end boss in a 2D platformer might often be big, but they are not always overpowered.

This was done with Kotlin (compiled to Javascript), the HTML5 canvas, Blender, piskelapp.com, some Python and Audacity.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#483Graphics3.05
#521Theme3.32
#668Humor2.25
#789Innovation2.42
#853Mood2.06
#912Fun2.05
#923Overall2.33
#1796Coolness35%

Comments

Halleflux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:19am

I like the graphics. The gameplay is a bit slow, though.
Either way, a fun idea. =)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:22am

I really enjoy the adherence to the theme in this entry. The art is really interesting. You used a very interesting combination of techniques. The piskelapp.com is super neat I had no idea it existed. Neat entry.

cgmorton says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:11am

Does the dude just move randomly? Sometimes he would stand around, but one time he unloaded like 10 shots in succession :/

Fun little game, I enjoyed my time here.

guoboism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:29am

Intesting art. But I can fire, but I can't dodge enemy bullet?

darkpaw says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:30am

Thanks for the feedback guys. =)

The "player" dude does something randomly 50% of the time, the other times something hard-coded depending on where the boss is located.

The idea was to have the difficulty increase between "levels" by adjusting the random percentage away from doing something sensible. But there wasn't that much time. ;)

darkpaw says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:32am

@guoboism

That's right, but you have a lot of HP to make up for being "the size of a barn door".

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Kinda slow and difficult. Pretty cool.

Cawrtz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Interesting pixel-art style. Being the monster is not an easy job in that game though! :)

Rongon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Gameplay is way too slow for me, reminds of me old games on arcades. Also the lack of any control other than shooting is quite weird for me :p
I like the pixelated character graphics, and glad you went with decent resolution.

Benjaminsen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Was hoping the elements would explode into pixels :)

darkpaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:34pm

To fix the slowness, I might turn down the max frame rate and put up another version.

Exploding into pixels is a great idea, and should be easy enough to do, it's drawing them all one-by-one already.

Jakob37 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Nice little game :) Especially liked the graphics. Was a little bit too hard for me, would be nice with some more control over the movement (although, that maybe was kind of the point of the game, to not have it). Nice job!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:01pm

I like the kangaroo sprite, but the audio hurt my ears.

psychonull says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 3:38am

Nice take on the theme with a peculiar and cool art style. Great that it also made me learn about the existence of Kotlin!

Sep 10, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Interesting idea! It's a little frustrating not having control of the character ... but it helps make the point!

frnknstn says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:56am

The most fun I have ever had as a pixelated kangaroo

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]