Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Corruption

by TerinHD - Compo Entry

Destroy your own image (Legal: will not actually destroy any image you load into the game). A 'classic' side-scrolling shoot'em up (shmup) where you destroy the pixel bits of your own image or the default one. Runs best in Google Chrome (Firefox - bit choppy).

NOTE: Don't load images larger than 256x256... will result in some fun stuff... like screens not showing properly... or if its a large image tons of 'loading' time in the beginning.

Also NOTE: Your images do NOT get uploaded anywhere they are only loaded into the browser for processing on the client side.

Controls:

Movement - aswd and/or arrows
Shoot - Spacebar

The game will take your image process its pixels and out put a unique game for your entertainment. It will take a count of how many pixels you have destroyed and of what color. In the end it will show you how destroying those pixels affected your image.

This was my first game ever created and also my first ludum dare. :D

Edit: To address the theme I will explain a bit of my thought process here, I didn't want to go for the straight and obvious choice. My solution was to allow you to become the monster by corrupting your own images... we all know how much computer crashes and viruses suck so I was trying to imitate that in a game.

Created in 48 by Nathan 'TerinHD' Gewecke using the following technologies:

HTML5 + Javascript + MelonJS
Netbeans
Git + Github

Here is a link to my postmortem on the project: http://terinhd.com/blog/ldjam-ld33-postmortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#149Innovation3.55
#821Graphics2.30
#839Fun2.38
#846Overall2.60
#923Theme2.03

Comments

dollarone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:21am

Cool idea. Will have to come back and try it when I'm not sleep-deprived and see how corrupted I can make my image :)

Awesome work on your first LD - it was my first one as well!

Ybalrid says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:22am

It's fun to "destroy" an image subpixel by subpixel. I don't see where I'm a monster, tho...

Arg410 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:42am

Lucky for you, i just made a game so i have many images laying around to corrupt! Great Innovation!! (Also happy to see some MelonJS love)

weazen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:46am

Interesting concept! As far as gameplay, I'm not really motivated to move my ship around, as shooting straight ahead with very minor movements will keep me safe.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:48am

This is such a great way of seeding a game. This is an interesting interpretation of the theme where I am the monster as I have provided an adversary for myself. Neat concept.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:12am

Creative idea though I may be missing a connection with the theme. One suggestion: Try removing (or greatly lowering) the momentum from the ship controls. It might be more fun to do quick maneuvers then.

Congrats on your first ever Ludum Dare!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:34am

Very interesting idea! (y)

foxor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Fun idea!

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Great game, I've put the picture of my boss there and started shooting away

jsmars says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Very fun concept! I was a bit dissapointed to see colored pixels when I choose an black and white image as I thought I was shooting the actual pixels.. and the control of the ship was a bit slugis.

Benjaminsen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:20am

Fun idea but does not fit well with the theme

TerinHD says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:37am

To address the theme I will explain a bit of my thought process here, I didn't want to go for the straight and obvious choice. My solution was to allow you to become the monster by corrupting your own images... we all know how much computer crashes and viruses suck so I was trying to imitate that in a game.

justinooncx says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:54am

Pretty damn interesting idea, although it's hard to see the results when I can't stay alive long enough.

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:21pm

This is a really fun idea, and I could see this being expanded into a really addictive little game. Like other people said, it would have been neat to have the blocks based on the image you upload, or maybe to see "bosses" of larger chunks of your image? Either way, it's cool to see a new approach to the theme.

TerinHD says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:26am

@Justinooncx Yeah... I went down one direction in my programming and had the train of thought but looking back I wish I would have made the images programmatically and had you progress that way...

@KevinWorkman - I knew going into this it might have been a bit much for me to tackle... my goal was a minimal viable product. While I feel I got there, there is so much more to explore to this game. I think a few things would be good... shield on the ship, a continue screen so you can do more "damage", and figuring out better how to view the damage you did. I originally had a thought of having a minimap of where you were in the image as well. But just too much for me given the time constrains.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:17am

Movement was a bit fast for my liking, but nice idea.

wesley werner says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:19am

Awesome innovation! It needs more work to integrate the theme better. But trashing images on the pixel level? Genius!

wesley werner says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:20am

Oh and bonus points for making a game with HTML5 technologies!

Infernal says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:22am

I like the concept, but I don't think it matches the theme.
some things about shmups:
- don't make us hammer on the space bar. let us hold it down to get repeated fire.
- your weapon fire vs the enemy: if I am hammering on my space bar to spam shots in front of me, I should be clearing a path that I can pass through without hitting an enemy. the "just miss" nature of what's going on here is frustrating.

swizzcheez says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:37am

It's okay, hard to get enough corruption to be noticeable though.

fistmaker says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Interesting Idea. Not much to do with the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]