Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Daddy, Don't Explode Me

by FiSilva - Compo Entry

Inspired by Lemmings, Minions and Dumb Ways to Day

You're an evil lord who must control their minions on a mission that will not end well for some.

You can turn the minions into bomb, fire and ice.
Bomb can blow up some stuff (boulders), fire can burn other stuff (ice and grass), and ice just creates an obstacle.

Mouse control

I made a version where you can control the camera with the keyboard as well as mouse, but if you rate, rate the other one, the Windows Compo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#16Overall4.16
#31Fun4.00
#51Graphics4.18
#65Humor3.78
#95Theme4.00
#107Mood3.63
#149Innovation3.55
#165Audio3.41

Comments

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Awesome game , overall , audio, graphics and gameplay are cool !

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Nice art style and camera movement, was pretty cool overall

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:23pm

I had fun with this one. It's similar to Lemmings, but it's different enough to be interesting. Art is great.

That level where you have to pile up your own bodies to get down made me laugh.

Rock solid game.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:20pm

LOVE the graphics and a very good platform game :D

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:17pm

DADDYYYYY!!! =D
I felt so bad for the little fellas '^^

Clever puzzles and adorable graphics.

jojocanard says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Excellent all around, very cute monsters
Saddest ending ever :(

mrjorts says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:16am

Very polished entry! The puzzles were all interesting to solve, although it took me quite a while to realize the trick of the second to last one. The game is too sad, though :(

Wish it had wasd control for the camera since the screen edge detection can be finicky.

JaytleBee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:30am

Avira says it's a virus (TR/Dropper.Gen)
(VirusTotal test https://tinyurl.com/pkebwnk)
Anyways, a fast forward button and some hotkeys would have been nice. The camera movement was tedious (why can't I just use my arrow keys?) and some levels were really confusing (like the first one with spikes). Also, the music sounds like it's randomly generated (not nice) and is really repetitive.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Lemmings! Minions look like plankton from Spongebob. Very clean work with graphics and gameplay. Annoying thing is that 'daddy sound' playing 10 times at the end of every level :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Well, that title totally managed to catch my attention! Nice work putting the game together, you definitely managed to put in plenty of interesting mechanics. It would be nice if they were explained a little clearer though, the idea that you could cover pits by dropping minions from high enough up took a while to figure out, as did that the green spikes were grass (maybe brambles would be clearer).

Also, you can finish level three without clicking at all ; )

Twinters says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:48pm

This game is so amazing! Really challenging puzzles, beautiful music, nice use of the theme, great art. Loved it!

iapc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Great game. Last level felt a bit wrong, because you need to use an effect which, during the entirity of the game, felt as an unwelcome effect that cheats you out of a figure.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Really great! Very polished. Sometimes it is hard to get the timing right so the minions do not get stuck. But apart from that very very good!

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Best game since Lemmings! Good polish. I love how they yelled "Daddy!" But Daddy doesn't care. Get exploded.

DuzDuz says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Really nice entry!!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:38am

Very fun clever little game. Love that you have to use corpses!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:36am

Great job! I played the compo entry and can see why you'd make keyboard camera control. The camera control was my only complaint.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:21am

Compo link doesn't seem to work? Just goes to a blank google drive?

KeyboardCat says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:36am

"Daaady ! Daaady ! Daaady !"
Really nice game !

Great work !

MrTwister says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 7:26pm

One of the best Compo games I've seen. There's literally like 2 or 3 games I've rated with an almost a flawless score all across the categories, and this is one of them.

As it's been said before by others, the window "edge" detection for the camera doesn't work very well, so having a keyboard-controlled alternative (post-compo) was definitely a good move.

My only complaint would be that the first levels does not scale in difficulty very well. Level 2 and 3 are definitely "easier" than lv.1 mainly because they require less time-critical actions and there's more space between the places where you are required to act. Later levels had a steady increase in complexity and challenge that felt good. Timing the "fire" to melt ice platforms in last levels was really tricky, but workable.

Having said that, it's a REALLY well polished game, with a lot of interesting mechanics and interactions.

This is a truly wonderful game overall. 5/5. Congratulations.

careless says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:08am

Really nice game, always loved Lemmings.

Great pixel art, cute sounds and very well made. Had lots of fun trying this.

Excellent!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]