Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Night Feast

by TaleEngineer - Jam Entry

In Night Feast you are a leech-like vampire that has simply awoken to an insatiable hunger.

You are quite certain there are very important things at play, but for now all you want to do is FEAST.

(Story may be far less interesting than described)

Avoid revealing yourself to Vampire Hunters, drain the blood of humans, and survive a night of The Hunger.

Remember to return home before the sun comes up, lest you want yourself to be extra crispy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#213Humor(Jam)3.44
#309Theme(Jam)3.73
#331Audio(Jam)3.24
#359Fun(Jam)3.28
#364Mood(Jam)3.33
#499Innovation(Jam)3.04
#576Overall(Jam)3.16
#803Graphics(Jam)2.77

Comments

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:02am

It reminds me "Stickdeath". Keep on!

fdslk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Totally awesome! I love every single bit of it!

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:27pm

This game was actually like fun. Really fun.

EncryptedCow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:29pm

that voice, that menu, this game made me laugh hard, but too hard for me

BSODDevTeam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Amazin' one!

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:07pm

This is gold. The intro is brilliant.

Xinelu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:06pm

5/5 Hell yeah \m/

Erkberg says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:37pm

The intro is really, really funny, great voice acting too! The gameplay unfortunately didn't really work for me or maybe I just couldn't figure out how to do it right. I feasted on one or two without a hunter being present on screen and then they started shooting at me from off screen. I escaped to the roofs, but when I came back down to have another feast there were still hunters shooting from off screen, which was pretty frustrating.
Thanks to the humor though I enjoyed this nontheless.

dollarone says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:14am

Cool game - love the intro. One of them hunters got me, though.

ChrisFagan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:56am

It was hard but fun, good work!

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:01pm

oh, and also, thanks for telling me about the crash in my game :D

Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:09am

Pretty fun. Voice acting made me cringe but respect for doing that. The ascetics were pretty nice and it stuck to the theme well. Really enjoyed it!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:11pm

The jumping animation could be a little shorter as the startup is pretty long but I like the bloodsucking mechanic plus that intro in the beginning was quite amusing.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Voice acting was nice.
The gameplay felt a little bit slow and when you have like two people shooting at you at once you are literally at their mercy.

But the tongue looked like really dangerous... :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]