Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Three Tasks Of The Invisible Monster

by hcosta - Jam Entry

In this game you play as an invisible monster that must succeed in three tasks to recover his body. During your adventure you will be accompanied by Pixie the legendary fairy and you'll have some funny dialogues with him.

Will you be able to overcome the three tasks and get your body back?

==============

You can play different scenes on the fly pressing Function Keys while playing (not working in home menu):

F1: Scene 1
F2: Scene 2
F3: Scene 3
F4: Scene 4
F5: Scene 5

=======

This was my first LD (and JAM) and I wanted to do something special and different dedicated to all game developers.

I hope you enjoy it and have fun!

=======

Created with Game Maker Studio, sounds with bfxr and music by Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com). Also thanks to my friend @franhp for correct my orthography.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#106Humor(Jam)3.74
#447Mood(Jam)3.24
#596Innovation(Jam)2.92
#685Theme(Jam)3.24
#854Graphics(Jam)2.67
#925Overall(Jam)2.73

Comments

Sichuan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:01am

This had me smiling a lot, very funny. The challenges took quite long, but that increases the stress I guess. I would say its short but pretty sweet.

Croze says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:03am

Very funny dialogue, everything I have to say about the art was almost mentioned by the fairy or monster xD you should have kept it in the rating category! Lol

donaldm says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:06am

This was an interesting entry. I liked the ending, but the game play felt quite tedious. Congratulations though on finishing a game. I can tell a lot of time was put into making the cut scenes in the game, but next time I think more work needs to go into the game play.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:06am

Kind of reminded me of Wario Ware with it's fun misc. simple tasks. Also, I might be crazy, but I feel like task 1 required you use WASD and task 3 required the arrows?

C

d3garcia says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:13am

Very good entry it was a bit to long for a story but I laughed a lot. Thanks

eric777 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:48am

Super Funny! I don't usually like dialog, but there wasn't too much and it made me laugh a lot. I completed all three tasks - died once in the first one and once in the last one. Music was really good. Dialog and music were the best parts I think.

yajiv says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:02am

Funny! I love fourth-wall-breaking humor. Nicely done :)

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Very funny game! Dialogue is amazingly cool. Great work on the story guys:D

hcosta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Thanks to all for play the game. If you guys laughed then it has achieved its goal and that makes me really happy.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Nice take on the theme, a very fun and humorous game!

xvw says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Nice Lolgame! :D

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:42am

Very funny, I liked the ending alot.

sorlok says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 3:39am

Wow, most 4th-wall breaks per minute! :P
Loved the ending; wish there was more! The boulder challenge was hard, but overall the mechanics were pretty solid. Good job!

reiknight says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Just lol xD, I loved the dialogues! You make me laugh a lot :D. Don't understimate your art and keep working!

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]