Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Me

by jofra - Jam Entry

An intrigging story in a 2D sidescroller. Hope you see the end ;)
First Lundum Dare :) ! we both had a blast

WASD to walk | mouse to aim | left click to shoot

Credits:
João Vasco - Programer
Francisco Santos - Art & Sound

Artist Page -https://www.facebook.com/franciscosantosart?fref=ts


In the link to download the game you now have 2 versions. The entry one and the updated version ;) We will keep on updating it for a while, just for the fun of it. :D (Update details below)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Updates:
- Minor graphic changes to the beggining and end of the game
- New menu
- Camera shakes
- More polished combat
- Bug fixes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#13Graphics(Jam)4.72
#48Mood(Jam)4.08
#176Audio(Jam)3.57
#259Theme(Jam)3.78
#313Overall(Jam)3.47
#611Innovation(Jam)2.90
#766Fun(Jam)2.72

Comments

pkenney says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:10am

Hi, I'm just commenting to say that the link requires permission. I didn't vote since I didn't get to play. Screen shot looks really great.

Dodechotomy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:16am

Link doesn't work. Screenshot looks fantastic.

alexrus07 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:16am

Looks like the file is locked by Google Drive :c shame, it looks really great!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:17am

D: I want to play that!

Chadivision says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:19am

Same here...looks awesome, but the link seems to be locked down.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:27am

Wow, beautiful painted artwork. The game itself is buggy and short but I imagine you spend a lot with the atmosphere and art.

madcapacity says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:27am

Oh man, this game is gorgeous!

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:28am

This was a very beautiful game. However, it ended very abruptly. I was really hoping for more. Good work!

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:31am

Very short and I want sure what was going on when I was shooting the guy, but I really really love the art. Nice work

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:32am

Great artistic idea! I love speed paint, but I hardly see games with it.

celarain says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:32am

So amazing style, dunno if crashed or ended but its awesome! Good work!

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:36am

Very nice art style. The gameplay was a bit lacking though.

Yrr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:37am

It looks and sounds FANTASTIC!

Leuthil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:43am

The art is amazing and the mood is really captured well. However after once of the cutscenes I'm not sure if that's the end of the game or if it's a crash since the game just shuts down. Either way very nice.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:51am

Well first off I'd like to say how amazed I was that this little 160MB ballooned out into over a GB. It didn't run so well for me at first, but I usually find Unreal Engine stuff to be a bit stuttery at times, the actual gameplay was smooth enough for the most part.

The crowning feature of this is definitely the mood and the graphics, this has a really nice aesthetic to it and I love the monster design, that red face is a really cool idea. The art and the sound all worked well together and created a solid mood.

The gameplay wasn't quite so interesting but it worked well enough to get the point across. It seemed like you were a little bit rushed since I noticed a few bugs and very plain looking wall, but that's a game jam for you. It was also a bit short, the fact that it closes itself at the end had me playing it twice just to be sure it wasn't a dramatically timed crash.

Overall I had a good time though and if you were to expand on something like this with a little more polish I would definitely check it out.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:53am

Wow short but sweet. The perfect jam voting experience. The art, animation and overall mood of this piece was wonderful.

I really enjoyed the ending and the animation that was for that.

Nek says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:27am

Took me a while to get it running,short game but the graphics are amazing,great work.

Muush says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:10am

Amazing. This is the best one i've played so far and it's gonna be hard to top

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:34am

The graphics were painty, which is beautiful, and not what you would expect from an Unreal game. The sound effects are amazing, but when you turn into a monster or something the game seems to crash even though it's the end of the game. Or is it not the end, and it's just crashing? Idk, but great game! Very challenging!

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:38am

Absolutely beautiful game with very fitting music. Entirely too short, though. :(

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:43am

Fantastic art and mood, of course. Would love to play an entire game that looked like this

madmaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:10am

Beautiful game, best graphics I've seen in a LD

Infininete says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Graphics and audio are very good, however the gameplay just isn't there for me. I stood on the left of the corner and spammed attacks and couldn't be touched. However, this fits to the theme pretty OK but only story-line wise, not that that's a bad thing though! It has a very strong mood, and for cinematics alone this is good, but unfortunately this is not too much fun.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Amazing visuals! Nice animations. Only when dying it seems kinda buggy (character is still walking).
You kept it tight and short. Keep rating and score high!

Ps.: Can you elaborate why you did not play my game until the end? Please be harsh :)
Because I also have the feeling that it is fundamentally flawed, but before I am biasing you I am kindly asking for you opinion. ;-)

Cheers

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Wow, incredible art style. Great job, despite it's length.

GertJohnny says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Love the art style and mood, but there's almost no gameplay. It crashed near where I think was the end as well.

NeanderG says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Those graphics and animation, love it. Gameplay was simple but sufficient. Loved the ending.

glimaleite says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:21pm

I wish I knew more games with this visual style. Absolutely gorgeous!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:39pm

It turned out as a great short tale :)

MoreRPG Team says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:33am

Good game =)

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Real stunning little piece. Shame it was so short. Very pretty art and engrossing mood.

jk5000 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:34pm

I want to see more of this beautiful and moody game.

Tselmek says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:33pm

The file is really huge and the game monstruously lags on my end, nonehteless the graphics are great and what I could play of the mechanics were interesting.

Maramasa says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:43pm

This is a stunning game with incredible art and animation! Nicely done :D

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:44pm

One of the best LD games I've played, artistically. Really interesting art for a video game.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Awesome! really loved the drawing and animation it's good to see something different. I still see that monster in my nightmares :P

nassi says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:30pm

The gameplay, while lacking, was good enough for a short experience like this. The atmosphere and the aesthetic are the real driving force after all. Full marks for mood, good job!

superfreak says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Beautiful. Just. Really really emotive and beautiful. Cannot give this enough 5's for mood and art. Seriously. alsdkfaldfj.

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Best art of almost any game I've ever played (not even just LD games)!! Pure beauty.

Odefus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:30am

Very artsy. As promised it did end very abruptly and left me wanting more.

BeardyBard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:23pm

This real art!!! Graphics 10/10

Matzigon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Nice graphics I like the style. Sadly the gameplay is short and flat.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Very short but very nice! The art is amazing, congrats :)

LeoM says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Great graphics and mood too ! ^^
The "cinematic" animations are VERY nice, walk-cycle and arms a bit under.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Great graphic, sound, and file compression.
But story is too short, it has potential.

AxeTheory says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Wow.... Love the ending. Sound/Art makes me feel cold and afraid. There's a deep story in here.

scorched says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:42pm

You are the monster! You made me suffer lack of disk space to unpack your game:D
Didn't use UE, but consider compressing .pak file itself and/or lowering texture resolution.
Still I love the graphics style, well done! :-)

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Great atmosphere and art. A little on the short side though. Would be cool to see this continued ;D

Zampi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:51pm

5\5 in all possible positions! Very well man!

aviktorov says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Good art. But to experience the full effect you need to improve controls and the end of the game.
And I found a bug near the end of the game. http://i.imgur.com/NnR3isa.png

puddelipip says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Wow, this was a really strong effort, i want to see more of this. The controls might not be the most fluent, but I don't really care about that, thank you for an inspirational contribution!

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Perfect art and promising beginning! Why so short?

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:37pm

The arts are very beautiful. and you came up with a good interpretation of the concept

zuurr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:51am

this is a beautiful, beautiful game. thank you.

Felipe Tasca says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:51am

Beautiful! Good work guys!

Flaid says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:24am

This game looks great. I found it to be incredibly difficult, but, luckily, there's no limit to the number of times you can die (I even died twice from the same attack!)

It is obvious a lot of work and heart went into the graphics, and it was definitely awesome.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:55am

The graphics style is great, it's really surprising it takes 1GB disk after decompressing.
It just crashed out when the first time player is nearly becoming monster. Maybe my laptop is too old?

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:19am

An impressive aesthetic which does a strange mood. A cool entry ++

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:22am

looks really impressive, wasn't able to run it on parallels desktop on my mac computer though :(

Sanju says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:40am

Gorgeus graphics. The gameplay could be longer, but still a great entry.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:42am

It looks great, I would have liked to see more.

oakus says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:56am

Great mood, would like to see more of this!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:59am

That's just beautiful. Looks/feels like a short film

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:11am

Incredible graphics. The style here is far better than any other jam game I have seen so far. Audio, too. The mood of this game deserves far more than the five star rating I can give it. There did seem to be quite a few graphical glitches, specifically during death. Like everyone else says, the gameplay was lacking. But this is understandable, as I cannot even begin to imagine the amount of work required to create such a unique style. Excellent entry, this is one for the books.

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:15am

Great game, very beautiful visual and sound, sadly the gameplay is short

Warxen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:06am

Great Graphics. Mood fits the theme nicely. Altough there are barely any mechanics and there is no gameplay loop.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:14am

I absolutely love the art and the atmosphere! One of the best looking games I've seen so far. It's a shame that it isn't developed a bit more. A beautiful start.

randoman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:24am

Very short game, but a great experience. Well done.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Absolutely loved the art - you used it in your own way to tell a sombre, wordless story. The monster's sound effects could have used some work, but the main character's laboured breathing at the end made it feel far more tense. The game segments themselves were basic and felt a little rushed. Overall it's short, sweet and it has a nice punch. Well done!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:56pm

That was amazing! Love the art and simple storytelling!

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:12am

Awesome art style and atmosphere, though a bit lacking in the gameplay department. I know how that can be hard to balance in a game jam though. A solid first LD for sure. :)

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:20am

Impresive work. We felt in love with background. good job here!

intXparts says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:54pm

I love the visual style, very unique. This is a great first time entry! Nice job!

chuckeles says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Beautiful graphics! It looks great, but lacks enough gameplay. Also, I'm not sure if I had to kill the red guy, I just walked right below him. There are few bugs and the game is short, but it's worth it.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Strange, not really a fully featured game but looks and sounds fantastic, which I think is what you were going for. Pretty cool and abstract!

cirpig29 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Great, now I have to go back and reduce all the 5 star votes for graphics and mood on other games, because how could they possibly compare? ;)
This game is truly beautiful.

StabAlarash says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Wow the graphics are very neat

Omiya Games says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:05am

Very short, not sure if I was a fan of the cinematic-ness of the game. I didn't quite feel like I was participating in the story, as I was just watching it. Has potential, but currently feels like it underutilizing the interactive part of games.

bloomingbuds says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:47am

Awesome art and implementation of animations in the gameplay. It's a very good concept. Keep working hard!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Six stars for graphics!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Love that visuals and mood!

mzmiric5 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:48pm

The graphics are very artsy and beautiful, and the game really hits on the theme. It's quite short, and it's not very interactive, so that's a shame, but it's a wonderful experience nevertheless.

Drunkteam says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:41am

Great idea! The game is short but amazing. Great atmosphere and overwhelming graphics.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Art & Animation are AMAZING! As an artist the style provides for so much inspiration for future project. Great use of theme! Wish it was a little longer, but having a preview had me craving for more!!

Great job, guys!

-Loi LeMix

Almax27 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Short but sweet

peterthehe says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Really quite beautiful - amazing mood, graphics and pretty much everything.

Linus123xbb says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Good game, very nice for a first game. The graphics were very good and the game was interesting. Could've been longer though.

uheartbeast says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Loved the mood, graphics, and sound.

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Impressive art! Very cool entry

Frump says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:19am

Very cinematic. I like that the game closed itself at the end. Interesting game.

Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:06pm

The arts look really charming. I like the whole oil painting take on the art, it really brings out the mood of the game.

RoundFork says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:17pm

interesting art style! Wish there was more to the game! Good job :)

glerikud says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Wow this is absolutely beautiful! A little short but there must have been a lot of work put into the art and the mechanics. It seems very polished (though I'm not sure which version I downloaded, probably the updated one). The sound design and the animation are great too.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Lovely art and interesting take on the theme.
I didn't enjoy it when trying to take cover from the beast spitting things things, there were no places to hide/take cover and I just ended up trying to jump through it all until luck granted me passage.

It was incredibly abrupt too, I was just getting into it when it seemed like it ended.

Looking forward to see the next entry you guys create!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Very interesting execution. The graphics are very nice and small details like how the player holds the gun. I didn't quite feel the story, maybe because it was so short.

Pusty says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Looks amazing but way to short O:

dcolgan says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:25am

The treasure is obviously in the art. I liked the atmosphere and everything, but it ran really slow for me.

Patomkin says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 8:54am

The style is amazing, but the game is very short :/

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:52am

Ahhh~~ Why the progress is sooo shot!!ToT
the artstyle is really enlightening me~
i think the camera-effect can a little more
it has some blur efeect can made the visual feeling more smooth and concordant/harmonious ~

David Yates says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Undoubtedly the biggest game I've played so far in terms of filesize. Graphics are fantastic, in a style I'd love to see more of. You've definitely got mood and style down.

Gameplay was a bit one note, though, and the theme seemed to be tied in with story rather than gameplay, which was a bit disappointing.

SoloDuoTeam says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Great short tale!!

local minimum says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:17pm

I really liked the art in this game. The fight was a bit hard though, and after having attempted several times and got three-four hits in one go without any indication of how or if that progressed the game, I called it quits. However, it is a stunning entry and just needs to work some one how it communicates with the player. I also didn't find any way to exit the game (played the original version). You might have fixed some of these issues in your updated version.

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:34am

Very pretty and unique art style, good work.

Oct 8, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Beautiful graphics! I included it in part 31 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/smH_qgd8pMY

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]