Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Death Maze

by MercuryXGames - Jam Entry

FIRST LUDUM DARE!!!
It was so fun!

This game was made with me and my awesome friend!
Hope you like it!

Avoid the cops, and kill the other.. "things"

*UPDATE*
CHANGELOG:
Added links, removed none! (Original available!)
Added blood!!!! (optional! Make sure you select the right upload!)
Made NPC's easier to kill.
New bullet sprite.
Player now rotates acording to the mouse (thanks to "hdong" for the idea!)
Added more of everything!!!
Changed spawn location!


All music and sound effect is issued under Royalty Free.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#556Audio(Jam)2.67
#926Humor(Jam)1.81
#992Graphics(Jam)2.14
#994Fun(Jam)2.36
#997Mood(Jam)2.28
#1025Innovation(Jam)2.04
#1081Theme(Jam)2.06
#1090Overall(Jam)2.31

Comments

AlexPGilbert says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:42am

Congrats on your first entry! Hope to see more from you guys!

peecestudios says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:46am

Great game. Nice background, textures, and shooting audio. The cops would glitch out and get stuck on walls, and i could seem to kill the other things. Nice idea with a start menu and pause menu most games dont have those.

MercuryXGames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Thanks for all the positive feedbacks so far!! It's very motivational!!
Love you all!

Biruts says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

AndyBrown says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Nice entry for your first jam! I liked the menus, but the other "things" didn't seem to die from the bullets, or else they had a ton of health. The bullets just went right through them.

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:11am

We didn't have time to make the cops damage. an updated version will be available soon!

valid4life says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:31am

Haven't seen too many games based on mazes, this was a nice surprise
Enjoyed the game, keep up the great work!

hdong says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:31am

I personally would've preferred it if the mouse also controlled aiming, since clicking shoots the gun.
Other than that the game was pretty fun. Nice job!

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Lovely first entry, welcome to the community. The game plays well, has defined goals, and a good pace. Unlike modern games yours actually makes me want to be a cop and not a bad guy, with them always dodging every shot! Really looking forward to hearing of your next entries.

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Game is updated! (original remains available!)

DrZanuff says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Congrats on your first game. Pretty well done.
Adding a separate animation for the legs of the characters (bellow them to give depth) would add more fluidity to their animation and help characterize more the avatar and the enemies. Adding a darker border line to the maze walls would help to differentiate them from the ground.
Telling the controls on the start menu or on the description would help too :) .

dcolgan says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:56am

Pretty good, I liked the idea and everything worked well enough. No real challenge, but as far as concept goes, fairly solid.

Indiestry says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:25am

Nice game, just keep in mind giving feedback to the player is very important. I wasn`t sure if I was even able to harm the things at the start.

Wekid says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:53pm

I couldnt kill anything... But other than that cool game! Keep it up!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 2:24pm

I didnt understand very what was the purpose of the game, those stuff didnt die.
cool audio though, congrats =)

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:50am

Congrats on the first game! It didn't seem like the bullets actually do anything?

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:55am

the updated version makes everything better! lol we even changed the speed with 0.2!!! :D

Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:15am

More game features could make this unique. Good demonstration of programming nonetheless if this is a beginner's entry. Hope you guys continue to make games in the Jam!

Orni says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:47pm

fun game :)
well done guys

there are some obvious things to improve, but that's true for all entries (48/72 hours aren't that long after all), but this is nicely done, especially for a first entry

looking forward to your work next LD

Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Nice one for a first try, keep up the good work!

Creative Sectors: Kardfogú

CtrlAltTea says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:08pm

solid idea, could use some polishing /cops get stuck in walls, scarce feedback etc./ nice first ludum game .)

PlasmaErnst says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Yeah! See you LD#34.

yuigoto says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Whoa! Nice splash and title screen! :P

The graphics are nice, but I'd make the maze a bit more colorblind-friendly, you never know when you're gonna have a colorblind player. ;) But it's nice the way you built and designed the maze. :D

Playing the first version I couldn't kill anybody, only on the updated version.

Nice work on SFX and soundtrack also.

It's nicely done for your first time, so keep it up! :D

Cheers!

ComicSans says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:40pm

(rating Original) Nice infrastructure. Couldn't kill anything, but would have otherwise seemed really decent.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:48pm

This is a good first game :) I like the way the cops move - they don't move predictably straight towards you, and they give you some space, but if you run away they charge after you!
The updated version is much better, I'm glad you're motivated to keep working on it after the competition!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]