Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Going Home

by Wryxo - Jam Entry

Simple platformer about a guy who is on his way home from work. Unfortunately there is a lot environmental effects that might change his mood. While he is angry he slowly looses control over himself. Your job is to keep him under control.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#180Innovation(Jam)3.49
#196Fun(Jam)3.53
#204Humor(Jam)3.47
#246Overall(Jam)3.56
#401Graphics(Jam)3.64
#408Audio(Jam)3.06
#488Theme(Jam)3.51
#562Mood(Jam)3.06

Comments

congusbongus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Neat idea :) There were other entries that did the transform-into-monster thing but this one made great use of the mechanic; would have been perfect with audio.

fubenalvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:06pm

hehe, like the idea. Like an old commodore game. :) (At the web version there is no control for me)

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Great idea. Loved how the music changed. Can't figure out how to beat the rain level. By the time I get to top I'm turned into a pig :(

superfluous says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:09pm

I really like the take on the theme. The core mechanic of needing to rage to progress but then needing to execute more flawlessly with increased move speed to escape before losing control was cool too. I feel like an expanded version of this with a lot of creative executions of the mechanics would be fun to play.

Null DIES says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:10pm

The game was really fun to play. Although I did not understand it at first I managed to understand the whole balance becoming a monster and a man. It reminded me a bit of Jekyll and Hyde. I think you should re-imagine the graphics and the characters... It will look beautiful!

Perkovec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Nice idea! Good game) Great music and graphics! Good luck! ;)

WASDMagician says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Interesting idea, well implemented, it was fun, frustrating in places (end of level 5).

Only real criticism I have is that the music is rather repetative and doesn't always work correctly over the bassline.

Jimjam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:12pm

That was pretty damn bizarre! Though I think we've all experienced that kind of intense rage in which you turn into a flaming pig :P
Nice work!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Pretty solid game! Although it's weird that you have to become 'no longer in control' to get to the end of the level sometimes, while you are usually trying to prevent that

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:16pm

I LOVED this game, the concept of there are benefits and cons to you in your angriest form and benefits and cons to you in your peaceful form proved really fun in this platformer, the gameplay was really nice as it was almost like solving a mini-puzzle each level in a platformer setting, it suited the theme perfectly in an interesting way. I LOVED the art style (especially the background) and the audio was just superb. The environmental obstacles that you meet on your way home are hilarious and all this combined sets a perfect mood. This is my favourite entry yet, WELL DONE!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Haha it's a funny game. It could be improved visually but other than that it's a platformer, hard to say anything.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Unique premise. Nice use of the theme. I was frequently confused, but thoroughly enjoyed your art.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:54pm

funny game and good one and nice graphics i liked it :D

guoboism says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Really fun to see the man changed into a pig? when too angry.
Great game!

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:54am

Interesting take on the theme. And masterfully executed - the level design forces you to become angry to reach the exit, and balance the need for control with the need for better abilities when you're angry. Solid 5 stars!

danialias says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:40am

Nice mechanic! Fun to play, and it makes you to think before act. As others said, the "don't lose control" is a bit misleading, because you actually need to lose quite a lot of control to go through the levels. Maybe a "don't lose control completely!" would work better :). Simple, but nice graphics (I like the changing faces a lot), and smart concept. Impressive amount of screens for the limited time. Overall, very good entry. Good job!

dunin says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:15pm

nice concept and clever levels. I'm happy to have play your game (and found my lovely house)!

Stechas says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:00pm

I like the game expecially the idea of shapeshifting when you have limited time to act once you took your anger level to maximum, good job guys :)

jww608 says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 12:13am

Awesome concept! I love how when you loose control the controls are "less tight".

schnerble says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Great use of the theme. Good fun too - nice bit of originality for a platformer! Sound and graphics are good as well.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]