Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

HAX0R?

by TurtleP - Jam Entry

HAX0R? is a game about being a computer virus, created with the intent of stealing 1MB of data from a remote computer. Along the way, you'll stomp on bits to collect and download the data, dodge antivirus fireballs, smash proxy drones, and parkour through firewall blocks in one small room.

*Linux and Source require you to install LOVE from http://love2d.org/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#51Fun(Jam)3.95
#130Overall(Jam)3.76
#267Innovation(Jam)3.35
#407Theme(Jam)3.60
#1627Coolness40%

Comments

Demy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:20am

Cool idea and style.

headchant says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:40am

I like the idea! Had fun with it. Played it for at least 15 minutes. Took some time for me to figure out the wall climbing mechanic.

Things (or questions) that could make it even better: 1) Combos of headjumps give more points? 2) Pacing could be made faster with earlier aggression towards the player? 3) Wall jumping instead of wall climbing to gain height?

Ulydev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Awesome !

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:42pm

good

mincrmatt12 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Great game, I could play it for quite a lot longer, but games where you only have one life don't click with me, but still, its a great game!

Some suggestions:
1) A bit higher movement speed, unless you want a hard game, then good, its hard (or I'm bad at games)
2) Maybe make the bits a bit more interesting visually, such as making them random colors or something, or show a

undef says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Quite nice!
Really nice animations (loved the idea with the file endings).
Bit of a slow start though.

folex70 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:02pm

very very cool, i cant stop play this game! congrats

TurtleP says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:15am

I just fixed a bug with the ending, where you can get more than 1MB of data as well as fixed the combo system. Yay.

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:50am

Made me feel like an uber Hax0r Xtreme. Nice idea!

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:02am

When running the Linux version, I get a Segmentation Fault right at the start of the game.

S0lll0s says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:11am

Very nice, really liked the intro/console thingy. The player sprite could look a bit... more exciting though ;)

and... you made the background music in Fruity Loops, right?

TurtleP says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:14am

@MarekkPie: Not sure what caused that :\
@S0lll0s: I don't make music nor art (normally), but thanks for the feedback! The music was made with PixiTracker, sounds from Bfxr.

Electron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:21am

Good concept .

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:02pm

First of all, GREAT concept and take on the theme. This is one of those games that you really need to play! The screenshots do not do the game justice, as it is so much better in motion with all the small details and polish.

I also enjoyed the console a lot, makes it feel more like you are actually a virus :)

Great job!

S0lll0s says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:55pm

@TurtleP: weird, I could have sworn the samples are the default FLStudio ones...

TurtleP says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:18pm

@S0ll0s it might just be coincidence that the audio pieces are similar, not much else I can say :)

kaype says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:05am

Cute graphics. Them default pixitracker sounds tho

the gameplay is pretty fun, and I can confirm that I felt 1337 while playing.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:56am

LOVERS UNITE! Cute game! It could be more clear that I could wall jump and kill the antivirus. Also the bit -> score seemed random and felt weird.

xvw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:33am

Damn, it is a very nice abstraction over the concept ! Thanks a lot for this game !

ManuelGF says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:39am

Simply. Love. It.

Gas says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:35am

Hey I really liked the idea of your game :). The overall concept was really cool and I liked the particle effects with names like ".png", ".dll", etc. Cool game! Check mine out? Its http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=20784

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:56pm

This was a fun little game. I'd enjoy it as a timewaster, but it doesn't go much further than that. Not bad though!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]