Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Jamie Oliver: What's Cooking?

by BOBANY - Jam Entry

The definitive next gen Jamie Oliver experience. Featuring addictive gameplay, visceral combat and a heart wrenching story, What's Cooking provides the best experience next gen can offer.

Can you find and kill the pepe?

What is love?

Does she like me?

How can I bake the perfect cake?

Answer these questions and more in Jamie Oliver: What's Cooking!



This is my first game ever, and I learnt almost all of the stuff on the fly. The idea is not mine and is based on a throwaway joke made by Jim Sterling on the Co Optional Podcast Ep45 at 12:50.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Humor(Jam)4.04
#409Fun(Jam)3.22
#761Theme(Jam)3.13
#893Overall(Jam)2.78
#904Graphics(Jam)2.50
#937Innovation(Jam)2.39
#1504Coolness44%

Comments

eric777 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:33am

The game was very funny to play. Too short and easy, but I definitely laughed. Pigs & violins at the end was cool.

Polyganz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:35am

What is love? baby dont hurt me... dont hurt me no more. :D

Kaev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:40am

What did i expect? I don't know, but i wasn't disappointed!

nuiguy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:21am

5 Stars all round! I don't really know whether I died a little on the inside, or lived a little :/ I enjoyed!

cyrixd says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:35am

I have no idea what just happened. It was definitely an experience.

Volatile Dove says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:18am

Oh my god, this is so stupid, I love it.

Didn't find the pepe though :(

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:28am

I laughed out loud pretty hard on this one. Especially with the ending. It has a surprising amount of polish too. Great job man, and thank you for making me laugh today :)

Ryusui says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:44am

I have no idea who Jamie Oliver is and I only vaguely know who Jim Sterling is, but I will give this game ALL the points just for the hilarious visual of someone "cooking" by hacking repeatedly at raw ingredients with a freakin' meat cleaver.

cowboycolor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:59am

lol

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:14am

I..did it. I found the pepe. What have I done

Literal Games says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:03am

Very funny, and silly! Enjoyable, and you definitely have enough skill to make a more fully featured game next time!

mar3k says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 2:31pm

The link does not work (at least for me) :/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]