Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeonbane - Dungeon Master & Escapists

by Silverfyre - Jam Entry

You are monster either way in this game:
1. Be the Dungeon Master - BE the boss of the monsters and setup monsters in your dungeons, don't let the escapist run away!
2. Be the Dungeon Escapist - Be the monster that attempts to escape the dungeon created by the Dungeon Master!

Dungeon Escape Controls = { Up, Down, Left, Right } Arrow Keys.

Notes:
- It will be more fun to have different players as Dungeon Master & Dungeon Escapist.
- Due to time constraint, there are still number of design flaws which may make Dungeon Master over powered. Fellow Dungeon Master please be reasonable :P
- I'm a pure programmer, therefore - Graphics & Audios were 80% obtained from Asset Store, 20% were taken from existing assets.

Please test it out and let me know if you like it :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#576Innovation(Jam)2.94
#781Mood(Jam)2.76
#843Overall(Jam)2.85
#873Fun(Jam)2.58
#957Theme(Jam)2.70

Comments

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:53am

Game didn't quite match the theme, but was still a good game nonetheless. Integrating path finding in just a few days is impressive. Keep working on it!

Silverfyre says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:07am

As a Dungeon Master you are the Master of the Monsters!
As a Dungeon Escapist you are the sane monster running from monsters! *Tries hard to fit the theme*

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Played this a bit with my sister, she liked it but I wasn't satisfied. The dungeon master is a bit overpowered like you said haha. Even for a Jam I'd go against the asset store, it's a cool project but goes nowhere near what can be accomplished in 72 hours.

Hegback says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Feels like unrelated to the theme, and that the escapist is walking too slow somehow. But generating a map for players to edit is kind of interesting.

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:00pm

The Dungeon Master element of the game made sense and has potential to be really interesting - especially if AI of the escapist if really good. But relying on another player doesn't fit the theme and is hard. Good use of graphics and audio assets though.

wicht says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:13pm

I think this could be a lot of fun if you put even more work into it... I agree the excapist walks way to slowly for my taste... but nice music and overall idea.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:55am

I was waiting for it... and then the monster saw me and it got exciting! I agree the idea is good, but the escapist moving so slowly was a turn off in the beginning. Maybe use a bigger map so that the escapist can move faster?

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Cool concept! I love how you can make your own levels. I included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/keaznjOtLXA

rudra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Pretty fun game ! Nice idea :)

Kassimkot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:20am

too slow. way to slow. and it didnt felt like were a monster, rather than just placing monsters on the map and have someone else escaping it. interesting though.

Silverfyre says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:37am

The escapist moving slow seems to be an intermittent bug in the game, I've tried it on several machines, sometimes it works properly, some times it has the bug.

I will try to fix and re-upload a new version as soon as possible, thanks for playing, commenting and voting everyone. Appreciate it. :)

Silverfyre says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:31am

Temporary solution to it: Set Graphics Quality to "Fantastic", that would solve the slow moving escapists problem.

Silverfyre says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:12am

Fixed the slow moving bug and re-uploaded as version 1.1. Thanks for playing :)

ManuelGF says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:44am

Hard to play, but nice idea.

SlayerEXE says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:47am

I especially liked this game, winning many points by having two different game modes. Visually it is very nice. Good job.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:09pm

The idea is good, but I think the "dungeon master" part should be a bonus to have custom levels among predefined levels

LewisChaplin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Nice game, played both parts on my own, dungeon monsters are a little hard as you cant see, to beat them, if you added some way for the explorer to win would make it a lot more balanced. Good Job.

Silverfyre says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:11am

You can choose Easy mode to not limit vision. :)

Aaranos says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 2:10am

I was put off a bit by the character's sprite clinging to walls and being upside down. The core mechanics are neat though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]