Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Child and The Beast

by Spyboy - Jam Entry

Hi everyone! I decided to make a local multiplayer game whith a bit of asymetricals elements. Made in 48h alone and with my wooden pc! Challenge complete! All the graphics are made with paint (not.net). Make sure to read the "Learn" section before playing to know how to play. This was a great experience and now i'm going to sleep. Bye, much love <3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#318Innovation(Jam)3.29
#437Audio(Jam)3.00
#655Mood(Jam)2.95
#770Humor(Jam)2.30
#859Overall(Jam)2.83
#875Theme(Jam)2.92
#880Fun(Jam)2.57
#904Graphics(Jam)2.50
#1314Coolness47%

Comments

Artylo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Playing it, I feel the only thing it lack most is some sort of readability. The mechanic is fairly good, and some of the effects (referring to the lightning one) are pretty spot on.
But overall, the size of the game's screen is pretty small in my opinion. You could have gone without the outdoors area, in order to have some more space for the actual gameplay rather than just filler for the screen.
The other thing is that it becomes disorientating at times, with all the sound bubbles, depicting your current position. I feel like I'm on both sides of a wall at times.

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:40pm

I find it hard to give this game a fair rating because it is a two player game so I never got a chance to experience the game as intended. Because of this I will abstain from rating in any of the categories that would require this.

There are still many things I liked about this game, the lightening effect was really cool, and also I like the idea of being able to detect the other player when they bump into walls.

KR-Eddie says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Just a heads up: You need to enable the Unity plugin to play the game (Chrome showed me a tiny warning)

It's a bit hard to rate a multiplayer entry without having someone to play with :/
Anyway, the concept was interesting. I've played a sound based game before. Still, it was a bit difficult to control your character because they moved so fast (I only realized this on the replay).
Careful with your english. Understanding the tutorial was a challenge on it's own :)

Spyboy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:43pm

the replay run at 2x move speed :)

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Very difficult to control the characters as you can't see them

Aun says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Original game. At the beginning it is a bit hard to control the character. It would be nice to have a AI. Maybe wait two seconds before stopping the record (which is a great idea) because if you were playing, you would skip it. I had a game ove window with "Text" written, I do not exactly how I got it.

Spyboy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Haha, I don't know how you did it. An AI is a good idea but needs work (ofc) the idea to wait before launching the replay is good, I haven't thought about it :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Characters are very hard to see - instructions are quite verbose, so I might have missed something.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Fun Ghost Simulator 2015!!

sepharoth213 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Really clever design, though it is very difficult to play since there are so many mechanics that are all bizarre all happening at once. It's sort of a mental overload trying to keep track of why boredom/stress is increasing and where your character is without revealing to the other person.
Congrats on finishing your entry!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Not working at all. Loading and then blackscreen. Please fix!

Spyboy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:47pm

I'm sorry for you :/ this might be newgrounds, try to wait a little more

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Kinda confusing on what's going on, even after reading the story. Interesting idea though, maybe a bit too much to take on for a game jam :(

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Whenever I try to to things on NG, it just does not want to, can you add a simple swf embedded page?

OadT says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:21am

I like the concept, sometimes its confusing, but I think this is intended. For me the characters are moving a bit too fast. Nice that you implemented an replay

Xanjos says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Pretty awkward testing this on my own but it's a very interesting concept plus it's a clever take on the theme (Who is the real monster - the child or the beast?).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]