Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Small People Problems

by Brainfreezeman - Jam Entry

"Small People Problems"
Version. 0.5
Oculus Rift Support!

Gameplay Trailer:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w3NYa69VLPs


Developed by 'We lack Moral':

Designer: Elias Markström - @Brainfreezeman
Programmer: Tobias Johansson
Music & Sound: Viktor Zryd - @ZrydViktor
3D Graphics: Mattias Lindblad - @MattiasLindb
Animator: Niklas Bergwall - @Nikuras_san

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
GAMEPLAY SUMMARY:

Time Trial Mode (the other modes are unfortunately not finished and cannot be unlocked):

You are a giant worm of death.

Citizens are happy in HappyTown.

You need to consume the citizens as quick and stealthy as possible.
You can also destroy buildings. Optional but fun.

If a citizen sees or hears one of these below:
a. a destroyed building
b. the giant worm
c. another citizen panicking
That person will panic and run for the gong.
Note: The citizens only see/hear things in their close vicinity!

If a citizen gets to the gong before you consume them, the suicide bomber will be called. The bomber spawns in the tall building in the north, and he will chase you until you die. The bomber can always see you, and is able to kill you even if you're hiding below ground. He might have x-ray vision or something.

Keep the citizens from spreading panic and calling for the bomber, while also trying to consume them all as quickly as possible!

If struck by the bomber, you will get to see how fast you were (or how long you survived) and how many citizens were still alive when you died.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
CONTROLS:

'Xbox 360 Controller' Controls:
Left Stick - Control the Worm
A-button - Leap out of the ground, devouring anything above you when you leap out and then anything below on the way down

Keyboard Controls:
WASD - Control the Worm
Space-bar - Leap out of the ground, devouring anything above you when you leap out and then anything below on the way down

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
DETAILED GAMEPLAY DESCRIPTION:

Your goal, in this early version of 'Small People Problems', is to consume
the citizens of HappyTown. These people spend their time running around and being generally nice. If anything disturbs the peace of their ignorant utopia, like seeing destroyed buildings, another citizen panicking or maybe witnessing a giant worm of death leaping out in their close vicinity, they will panic.

Panicked citizens run for the gong placed in the center of town. If one citizen strikes the gong, the special force(s) of HappyTown is unleashed, a licensed suicide bomber. This person resides in the humble building north of town, and he is capable of ending your short worm life. He will find you even if you're hiding below ground, i.e. stay away from the person with the explosive personality or you will suffer the consequences. Consume as many citizens as you can as quickly as possible.

Can you consume them all without the bomber being called? Even if he's called, you can still try to consume the last citizens, but it'll be more difficult!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#74Overall(Jam)3.93
#83Fun(Jam)3.80
#87Audio(Jam)3.81
#117Theme(Jam)4.00
#141Humor(Jam)3.61
#167Mood(Jam)3.64
#180Graphics(Jam)4.10
#275Innovation(Jam)3.34

Comments

Perkovec says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Great art guys) You have done a lot of work!

Roboboy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:53pm

I love this game so much! I've noticed when the bomber is chasing after you its really easy to trap him behind a building for a bit, I don't know if that's supposed to be a thing but it made the game a lot easier. All in all it was really fun!

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Great graphics, cool game

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:04am

Pretty fun game! I ate all the people, but the other modes didn't seem to unlock or anything. (I did get blown up eventually during the ending sequence, did that make me lose?)

SeaMonster131 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:05am

A lot of fun :) This worm is cool.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:15am

Excellent fun. I had better luck just rampaging rather than being stealthy. I had some issues where there was a delay in popping out the ground, but that might be the machine I playing on (emulating Windows in Parallels). Despite that this was fun, hilarious, and all around well done.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:26am

@Roboboy: The bomber getting stuck is.. let's call it a feature.

@uvwar: Good job consuming all those people!
We didn't have time to finish the other modes unfortunately. I should clarify that in the description, thanks for the comment!
When you're presented with the time and amount of citizens left, the round is over. You blowing up after shouldn't affect anything. But the monster dies, so maybe in a way the citizens still won? ;)

cebollinos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:40am

Game concept is not innovative, but great performance

Halleflux says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:46am

Amazing game. Fantastic graphics, smooth gameplay, had skill involved (to dodge the bomb guy), good audio, the works.
Well done! A great pleasure to play.

allinlabs says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:42am

Holy broccoli! I don't know how there's not more review on this game. The game is very polished and is freaking fun to play. Also, giant worm + eating people + destroy buildings. What's not to love about it ? And it's perfectly executed. Great job to the team!

Dizzly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Very good job!! Fix the shadow going out of border and it will be perfect!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Great entry, the idea is original, very fitting to the theme and really polished. I love how the citizens feel really alive and panicking, they remind me a bit of Cyanide and Happiness :D

Awesome job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:39pm

@Ithildin: The citizens were actually inspired by Cyanice and Happiness. Good guess, hehe!

Meat Us says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Really cool and funny game, simple but solid gameplay. Nice work guy's !
NB: If you play for more than 3min+, all the villagers runing in front of an house, that's hilarious to watch x)

terop says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:51pm

looks good. Nice 3d graphics.

djfariel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:52pm

1st Thought:
"Oh my God, I love their run animation!"

Pros:
Holy crap this is fun!
Excellent use of theme.
Controls are smooth, it feels so refined.
Graphics looks great, audio is wonderful.

Cons:
No way to zoom in or out.
Umm...the worm didn't have laser beams.

Final Thought:
"Oh my god, I love their run animation!"

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:07am

Love the animations and it was a lot of fun! It took FOREVER to download from "itch.io" though, may want to though up a mirror :)

Denis347 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:04am

Awesome graphics and fun to play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]