Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

"The Monster" - Barbarian Extraordinaire

by watupdb - Compo Entry

You play as "The Monster" - An Extraordinary Barbarian famous for his lack of morals. Hired by a noble, you've been hired to destroy the Throne of Kings as a symbol of your employers far reaching powers.

Go through 5 levels and become the all-destroying Monster you were always meant to be.

Enjoy.

Controls:
WASD movement
Mouse aim
Mouse 1 to attack
Mouse 2 to throw axe.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#176Fun3.49
#186Overall3.54
#263Theme3.70
#308Graphics3.38
#455Audio2.74
#455Mood3.00
#562Humor2.49
#683Innovation2.66

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:42am

Good!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:45am

I see you're taking cues from Hatred :P . Very nice combat system. I was surprised that the game actually had a narrative arch too! Good job!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:46am

Doesn't have enough going on. Feels almost like a game meant to cash in on controversy, in my opinion. People running away and unexpectedly drawing swords in even the first area would greatly benefit it.

swizzcheez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:51am

You (the player) is indeed a monster in this...

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:25am

i killed a lot of people lol. i mean.. i had fun,.

zanenga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:36am

A monster indeed.

haloguy397 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:39am

Wow! im impressed! VERY well done graphics, sound, gameplay. Missing music? Oh well 9/10!

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:41am

Brutal! I liked it! :P

markoburzan27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:43am

Lots of gore but still good.

Chronodrax says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:21am

"Why yes, those villages have to die too, they thought the king is a good man!
...
Nah, you're right. I just wanted to try my new axe."
---
"That throne had to be dismantled!
Where will the king sit now! Ha! I've destroyed all the chairs in the realm too! I want to see that king's face of rage and despair when he'll have to sit on the floor!"

andyman404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:12am

Ouch! This game does make me feel like a monster for killing the innocent villagers. I like that button in the menu. Very meta. Doesn't look like you ran out of time. Pretty solid game.

cgmorton says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:31am

Wait a second, Mouse 2 to throw axe? Damn it I played through the whole game with only melee XD

mungoman1 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:18am

This game is morbid yet hilarious and fun!

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:06am

That was horrible and fun in a sick way.
Some sound would be nice.

tuben999 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:13am

Hatred mixed with Hotline miami? :D really cool game.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:43am

Very pleasant slicing action! Love the 2nd menu item XD.

TwixtorTitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:14am

Very satisfying! Probably the best game I have played so far.

zanenga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Hey! You commented in my game "Aye The Destroyer".

I'm just making sure that you know that you can move using WASD. I forgot to tell that in-game. It's now fixed and it should take care of most of the difficulty issue. If you could give me your updated thoughts I would be very glad.

Thank you!

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Good game!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Loved it! Simple yet fun :)

tanjent says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:51pm

If it had children and animals it would have been even more grim. Good work! Impressive for 48h. Blood could've stayed inside the houses, breaks the "immersion" a bit.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Help??! No one can help you, PEASANT!

Cool combat system, perhaps a little more difficulty would make it more fun. As an artist, I think you guys could have used a couple more frames for the art but this was a fun, mindless hack and slash regardless. Good job, guys!

-Loi LeMix

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]