Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Cleanup of the Black Lagoon

by Culturebosh_games - Jam Entry

Controls:

Menu Navigation - WASD + Space
Game - WASD + "L" to eat/"L" to spit

Our entry is a 2D arcade-style "eat 'em up". It's fast and frantic, good luck and please let us know your High Score!

You are "The Creature" and the humans are chucking all their trash in your Lagoon. You're not putting up with that, right?

Swim around, grab the rubbish and spit it back out of your home!

Culturebosh! accepts no responsibility for damaged "L" keys or RSI....

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#163Fun(Jam)3.60
#180Humor(Jam)3.52
#205Audio(Jam)3.50
#276Overall(Jam)3.52
#329Mood(Jam)3.38
#376Innovation(Jam)3.20
#435Theme(Jam)3.57
#477Graphics(Jam)3.50
#1314Coolness47%

Comments

Kaev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Got ~170000 points!
Nice game, but in my opinion the humans are the monsters in this game - and on earth. Why do they throw all their shit into the water? >.<
Didn't found any bugs and the graphics are nice, 10/10 would play again

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:42pm

213870 - a lot of fun.

johnhattan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Cute game. Really like the pixelly graphics. As for the theme, I may be overthinking this, but I did get the "I Am Legend" vibe that "if you are the only person among monsters, then you are the monster", so I thought it followed the theme better than most.

As for the gameplay, it was okay. Seemed like the main strategy seemed to be to wait until your green-meter got near the top, then plow across the bottom and throw a huge amount of stuff in the air. As such, I wasn't sure I was actually playing it right, but I did get a really high score.

Pampattitude says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Took me way too long to get the scoring system >.< ... but it was fun!

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Fun, it got pretty hectic after a while. My final score was 271,250

AlexPGilbert says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:26am

got up to 162,170 wooo! Fun game, great job

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:58pm

That's a pretty sad game over screen :(

I ended up with 140010, eventually I went down to the bottom and just shot everything out from there where it's stopped moving and was a surprisingly effective strategy for whatever reason.

I liked the music, it was a surprisingly long loop.

The controls aren't standard. Usually when you don't have a mouse, you use arrow keys, as it gives more space on the keyboard for your hands, with your control scheme it was rather cramped. WASD is, by convention, almost always for mouse.

Nice overall, though :)

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:58pm

266k score before I had to leave the lagoon :<
The amount of dynamite being thrown in to lagoon could have exploded the whole lake out of the earth to be honest ^^;

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Wow, the mechanic of having the trash pile at the bottom is what makes this game really great. Just plowing through the floor mashing L was very satisfying. Great job! Nice music too!

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Good game, well done.

Mutt says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:05am

I got such a kick out of this. Any game that lets you eat bags of garbage, beer cans and heroin needles is a winner in my book.

Pretty well rounded too - nice graphics, nice sound (I like the sad music at the end), fun gameplay, etc.

My best score was 174,880.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:53am

Nice Idea and Good Game

Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Great little game love the man on the boat with the pig :D Got a good chuckle out of that :)

xvw says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Time to leave. :'( 178710

I love the idea!
Very humoristic!

mubox says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:57pm

A lot of fun. :)

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:48am

It's interesting to throw thing! I mean as fish...
The game became a lot of fun and challenging latter the game.
Nice job!

Ibai Aizpurua says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:46pm

I have a lot of fun playing it. Good job guys!

Aaranos says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Nice level of difficulty increasing as you go to the point where you just get overwhelmed and find out your total. I felt like the dynamite hit me unfairly quite a few times, from either it staying there longer than the animation or transparent pixel collision. Overall, fun, looks good, and sounds good.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]