Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

I Dream of Cthulhu

by Wontonz - Compo Entry

The stars are aligning and dead Cthulhu rises. Or at least that's what he's trying to do. As the Eye of Cthulhu, you take control of his avatar in the dreamscape he so desperately wants to escape. To do so he much increase the madness of the world's population, find forbidden knowledge, convert cultists and sacrifice them for the cause of your awakening. But watch out, navigating the dreamverse becomes a lot more difficult as the madness of the world's population increases! Make sure you've got a sufficiently mad world and have sacrificed all the cultists you need and have all the knowledge necessary for your cult leader to read the Necronomicon and fulfill your destiny before time runs out!

--------------------------------------------------------------
Controls
--------------------------------------------------------------
WASD: Movement
ESC: Exit

--------------------------------------------------------------
How to Play
--------------------------------------------------------------
Run the Eye of Cthulhu into the Words of Power to influence the world and your cultists while avoiding the hampering effects of the dreamsicles

Win Condition:
Awakening Progress at 100%
World Madness over 90%
Forbidden Knowledge over 90%

Failure:
Time(5 minutes) runs out and the stars are no longer in alignment

--------------------------------------------------------------
Stats
--------------------------------------------------------------
World Madness: This is how much your influence has spread on the world. Increasing the amount of dreamsicles that spawn, some random abilities and a chance to periodically gain a new cultist.
Cultists: Can't have a cult without cultists. These guys are needed as sacrificial lambs for your eventual awakening
Forbidden Knowledge: Obscure and Arcane information. You need Knowledge for wanderlust and to awaken.
Awakening: This is the progress you have from sacrificing cultists to bring you to your full awakening.

--------------------------------------------------------------
Words of Power
--------------------------------------------------------------
Madness: Madness will increase the madness of the world. It also has a chance to convert a cultist and at higher levels will also provide progress to awakening and knowledge
Wanderlust: Will increase your cultists by a larger amount but uses a bit of knowledge and madness as it is transferred to other cults
Curiosity: Gain Knowledge and the eccentric cook who found it into your cult.
Sacrifice: Sacrifice 5 Cultists to increase the madness of the world and bring you closer to awakening.

Plays best with in 1920x1080. Not Tested in Mac or Linux so let me know if you have issues.
--------------------------------------------------------------
Built in 48 hours from scratch using
--------------------------------------------------------------
Unity
Audacity
BFXR
Bosca CEOIL
Paint.Net

TODO Wishes:
Add more depth to the cult system
Anchor UI to the correct location so minimap and Stats show up for lower resolutions
Animate the Eye
Remove the borders for a more open experience
Tweak the dreamsicle numbers and behavior

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#165Innovation3.52
#234Theme3.74
#248Mood3.32
#502Audio2.64
#527Graphics2.96
#540Overall3.04
#587Humor2.42
#786Fun2.52
#1537Coolness42%

Comments

APC says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Cool Idea. I thought it was pretty hard though. I made it to 24% and it started to get difficult to move around.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Gets a little boring. After a couple of minutes all I was doing was using the minimap to find each "sacrifice" to increase the awakening.

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:54pm

I found this great overall, the style of gameplay was very unique and I found that furthered the quality of the game greatly, I found it fun overall but found it quite difficult and never managed to reach the victory conditions, the art style was great and I loved the dream space fog effect, I liked the audio and found that it furthered the mood and lastly the mood was excellent(the art style and graphics contributed greatly to it), great game well done!

Komradus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Pretty trippy experience. The challenge scaled well, but I got way too hyped for the ending. Good fun though.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Psychedelic! I'm a bit dizzy now... but the concept of Madness is very well represented :) Thanks for adding the minimap, it is invaluable. I would have liked to see some more visual representation of the different "resources", e.g. a progress bar of how far you have to charge them to awaken.

Hork says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:31am

Definitely surreal enough to be a dream. Great concept. A fun gaming experience!

HACKhalo2 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:09am

this was hard, yo. and really trippy. I really couldn't look at it for long periods of times with the spinning and such, but interesting take

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Kinda fun, was a cool little game. I was so woozy after it xD

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:14am

The Cthulu has awoken! Interesting game mechanics and trippy experience. My only complaints are that the ticking sound was a bit too obnoxious and some of the text didn't fit on the screen.

Ramiel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Nice little game. I liked the artstyle and gameplay. However it seems to me that the main view is pretty much useless. Steering via the minimap works perfectly so I just used that one. Maybe more dangerous enemies not shown on the minimap might create the need to use the main view.
And one more thing. The cultist view at the bottom was pretty awseome ;)

Aglavra says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:30pm

It was a bit difficult, but I finished it. From some point, the cult starts to grow on its own, so you can concentrate on finding "sacrifice" words, and in this case you will do it in time. It would be nice to have some way to win additional time, though.

mubox says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Like your minemap. :]

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]