Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Whoops was that alive?

by Benjaminsen - Compo Entry

How to play. Click and drag mouse or finger to shoot (Drag farther from the origin point to increase power)

HTML5 game written completely from scratch (Including engine), in less than 48 hours.
I got prematurely excited about an hour before the Compo started and wrote the game engine - deduct me points if you see fit.

The game works well on both web and mobile.

Sadly no sound or music, as HTML5 support for such is bad, and so are my skills in creating it ;) - Definitely give me a bad rating here!

Total time spend: 18h 47m
Engine: JavaScript + Canvas, written in ~30 minutes before Compo started.
Langage: Raw JavaScript
Art: PhotoShop (PSD included in source)
Licence: MIT / Do whatever you want with this :)

Work log
------------------------
Friday (1h 3m):
Fri - 20:15 > 20:48 - Wrote game engine
Fri - 21:00 > 21:30 - Drew globe + stars in photoshop, added to engine
[Being social at the Kayak kickoff party in boston, Sleep]

Saturday (9h 20m):
Sat - 08:30 > 09:15 - Wrote down game concept into notepad.
Sat - 09:15 > 09:22 - Tried to figure out how to connect to IRC on a mac…
Sat - 09:22 > 10:40 - Drew UFO, created dialogue template, uploaded first sneak preview.
[Lunch]
Sat - 15:20 > 16:52 - Wrote dialogue system, completed intro development.
Sat - 16:52 > 17:09 - Posted online, irc, twitter etc.
Sat - 17:09 > 18:50 - Worked on Level1 (Large drone, astroid, controls etc, physics)
Sat - 17:50 > 19:00 - Posted 04 update on game online.
Sat - 17:50 > 20:10 - Explosions + minor control updates!!
Sat - 20:10 > 20:20 - Shared explosions with the internet.
[Food + Sleep]

Sunday (8h 24m):
Sun - 10:22 > 12:06 - Worked on ending to game
[Lunch]
Sun - 13:30 > 15:00 - Completed ending and made scene transition system
Sun - 15:00 > 18:36 - Completed game setup & wrote level 2
Sun - 18:36 > 20:00 - Wrote level 2 & 3, verified Mobile support.
Sun - 20:00 > 20:10 - Submitted to website.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#167Graphics3.78
#302Innovation3.26
#384Humor2.90
#387Fun3.13
#432Overall3.17
#665Mood2.67
#817Theme2.65
#1627Coolness40%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:25am

Took me a while to work out what I had to do, but once I got the hang of it, it was great fun. Really nice gravity sim & particle effects!

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Nice and relaxing little game, but I've got stuck on "Tee hee" part

jsmars says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Really nice planetary physics and game progression with cutscenes.. as you say too bad no sound and music, really felt like it was missing. Nice overall game tho, but how come first and third shots are super easy and second one is near impossible? Took me like 30 tries :D

Benjaminsen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:44pm

jsmars, basically ran out of time after creating level 2, so threw together what I could for the deadline, with some crazy messy copy paste coding.

pkenney says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Great graphics, the feel was really there. The click and drag shoot dynamic was a little tough to get used to, especially since it shot my single bullet no matter where I clicked. I also wished the retry time was shorter (when I accidentally clicked on the screen and lost my bullet, I wanted to try again immediately).

The game froze a couple times for me, once on the "teehee" screen, and then I refreshed and played again and it froze at the very end when the drones were returning to the mothership.

But again, I really liked the feel of the game!

Benjaminsen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:26am

pkenney, what browser did you play in?

Jimbly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:27am

Apparently I kept on trying to shoot the wrong direction on the second level... was much easier when I finally shot along my direction of motion... =)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:31am

That's really impressive. Freezes occasionally for me, though.

magenta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:55am

Great for touch screen. Nice and polished! Really liked the second one :}

May have stumbled on a bug where I (clumsily) dragged the mouse twice fast enough which made the game halt on the first level.

sprawl says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:59am

I really like the feel of the game, the orbs animation is spot on. It's very impressive that you coded that from scratch without engine. Great job.

The game froze on me twice when the ship was gathering the orbs after the "Te He, Get it" level. I'm assuming this was the ending.

Benjaminsen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:05pm

For all of you who have freezing games, what browser are you using?

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Liking it, but the difficulty spike between lvl1 and 2 is insane :D

demogorgon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:12pm

That was awesome... I hope you make more levels after the compo.

Mantlair says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Good take on theme!

leffe108 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Great graphics and level 2 was challenging (the first one where you should target the moon). Took me some time to figure out first which stone to aim at and second to actually succeed at it.

pkenney says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:27am

@Benjaminsen I played in firefox

ArchBang says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:34am

Got stuck chasing the moon! Nice work in such a brief time, the explosion effect is particularly impressive. Took me a long time to hit the first moon. Some odd directions some of the time when I tried to shoot. Good effort!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:53pm

I have no idea what CHONMg is, but I had a good time collecting it. Also because I'm a sucker for Newtonian and orbital mechanics :) Too bad the game is short, but well done for getting an ending in anyway :D

For HTML5 audio, I strongly recommend Howler.js. Works flawlessly on all browsers/platforms I've thrown at it.

dalbinblue says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:36pm

The graphics are very well done, and detailed; they are reminiscent of "Insanely Twisted Shadow Planet". The game is very solid as well, with the only complaint there that if a shot has escape velocity, it takes a while for the level to reset for another shot.

The biggest thing I would actually say to improve was the length of the game. It's a very fun concept, and only having two levels where the solution wasn't immediately obvious did make me crave more. Looking at your timeline, I can see why this was the case, as you only worked on the game for about 16~17 hours total, which is still impressive for how polished the game is.

Overall, excellent job, especially for your first entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]