Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Attack!

by IronPencilGames - Compo Entry

Go head-to-head against a friend in this local multiplayer city destruction game! One player controls the monster trying to wreck the city, while the other controls a tank trying to destroy the monster!

NOTE: This game is 2-player local multiplayer ONLY!

Controls:

Monster - Left click to move, right click to breathe fire
Tank - WASD to move forward/back and turn (tank controls), space to fire gun
Raise/Lower volume with Page Up/Page Down

Monster tips: Buildings take 3 fire breaths to destroy, but the tank only takes one. Your fire breathe reaches just a little bit beyond a building if you're right against it, so if the tank comes too close to the other side of the building, let loose. The tank moves faster than you, so don't go chasing it down over long distances or they will tear you up as you approach.

Tank tips: You'll blow up in only one hit, so you have to keep your distance while pestering the monster with shots. You do move faster than the monster, so if they come after you just make sure you have an escape route.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#270Audio3.14
#334Fun3.21
#351Humor2.96
#461Graphics3.11
#490Theme3.36
#540Overall3.04
#550Mood2.89
#644Innovation2.71

Comments

goet says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Pretty nice take on the classic 2 player tank duel games, although some map variations and obstacles would have been nice.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:24pm

this is not just a childly drawing looking game.
The details from stopping the dragon when it attacks to letting the player play on different input divices and
change able audio setting.
just nice

scriptorum says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:28pm

I like the balance of the monster versus the tank. Definitely different tactical approaches.

Deadpan-Gamez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:42pm

The art is amazing, great job :)

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Played solo but it was really fun. The audio is awesome, great job!

mattthehoopy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Simple, but a nice game overall. Bit of random map gen wouldn't go amiss ;)

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Great job !
+ Graphics,Audio,Fun,Theme

Pampattitude says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:24pm

We had so much fun playing your game!The graphics added some appeal

Multiplexor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Nice indeed, I like how everything looks childish somehow, it is a quite nice artstyle!

Also loved the music and the special effects :P

Grhyll says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:42am

Pretty nice and fun, however it seems to me that it's veeeery unbalanced, I just don't see how the tank could win '_' Maybe I've missed something.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:35pm

It's definitely tough being the tank! During dev it seemed tough to win as the monster, so I increased his speed just a little bit. As the tank you really have to keep your distance and control the monster's movement by forcing him to avoid your shots.

One thing I wanted to do but didn't have enough time (personal stuff came up towards the end of the compo) was to allow the players to adjust the difficulty by raising/lowering the monster's HP. Ahh well!

Thanks for checking it out, and to everyone else who seems to have enjoyed it so far as well! :)

General says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Interesting idea of 2-player game where the players should use different tactics!

Here're my video reviews:
Your game is at 26:07

General says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Interesting idea of 2-player game where the players should use different tactics!

Here're my video reviews: http://youtu.be/AkOdas_qL9A
Your game is at 26:07

flokitall says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Fun little asymmetrical multiplayer, nice job!

This would have been a pretty fun little game even if you only had two tanks fighting each other, but giving each player a character that plays completely different definitely made the game a lot more interesting.

The music suits the game and although I'm not a fan of the graphics, they do their job. Nice touch adding the volume controls!

Well done!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Nice overall - loved the song and noises :D

Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Love the hand drawn graphics, but I found that the game was pretty unbalanced :/ (Or maybe I just suck) I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/aXZw1Jpw2JA

Xanjos says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Pretty awkward testing this on my own but I like the concept and I love the hand-drawn art style.

3CGames says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 6:44pm

I finally got round to playing this with a friend. Initially the monster seems completely overpowered but after playing a few rounds, it actually feels balanced. I think the game can lead to stalemate situations though. Pretty cool for 48 hours!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]