Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dead Code

by Memphis Game Developers - Jam Entry

The first Ludum Dare entry by the Memphis Game Developers! A spin-off game in our Fallen Space universe.
"404: MERCY NOT FOUND!"


Read this in an overly dramatic movie narrator voice:

"In the year 2793, a lonely cargo station is just winding for the night. When a falling crate damages the loader robot, causing a critical error. Can the men and women aboard survive 2 tons of industrial strength malice?"

Controls:
WASD - move around
Left Mouse Button - attack
Spacebar - jump to cursor
Shift - run

HUD:
"Bugs in Code:" - the amount of people left alive
"?/!" - whether or not someone can see you. (Attacking while unseen insta-kills)

Premise:
We wanted to make an homage to classic, B grade slasher flicks. You play as a slow moving, melee antagonist slowly killing everyone. The plan is to incorporate 80s stereotypes as your special abilities. The ones we got in are
-"Where did he go?!" if no one can see you, you can jump teleport
-"Is he dead?" When you die, you can come back to life by killing someone
-"Let's split up, gang!" Victims won't stick together if they see you.

Caveat:
Due to various schedule conflicts. We couldn't start until Saturday morning, and couldn't work Monday until the evening. So this is more of 52 hour game jam, prepare for glitches. ;)

Update: Added OSX and Linux builds. Nothing was changed in the game.
Update: Reuploading to MEGA as we hit the dropbox limit, sorry if we missed anyone!
Update: Due to numerous complaints about people falling through the doors. We've made a slight tweak to the door script, and touched up a gap in geometry. These are the only changes, and we decided to make them as they are potentially game breaking and occur enough to frustrate our friends. Nothing else has been touched in order to keep within the rules of LudumDare. We are working on a Post LudumDare v1.1 that will actually make this a solid game, but it will be a separate post. Thanks to everyone who has tried our game so far!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#248Mood(Jam)3.50
#250Graphics(Jam)3.95
#577Audio(Jam)2.60
#747Theme(Jam)3.14
#796Overall(Jam)2.91
#814Innovation(Jam)2.64
#952Fun(Jam)2.45
#1578Coolness41%

Comments

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:06am

:( no mac/web version - what a sorrow for me

tweedle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:07am

I'm immediately reminded of 'Alien' or '2001' with the horror space theme. Cool ideas here. Graphics are sweet, and I like the jumping ahead mechanic. I want more!

flatgub says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:04am

Wow, this looks awesome, Graphics are stunning!
I had a lot of trouble actually attacking people, as they'd run up and down the wall, and i wouldn't be able to hit them in time. Also one of the door at the end of that big dark room seemed to open along the wrong axis...

DanteDouglas says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:45am

I'm getting a 500 error when I try and access the windows download :(

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:55am

Sorry about that, we hit the dropbox bandwidth limit. We're going to reupload to MEGA.

Galan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:56am

Really like the graphics and music! If it weren't for the glitches and the sluggish controls, I think this would have been a really fun game.

lycanpoet says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:59am

Good game, Graphically amazing. Nice work.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:29am

Beautiful looking but somewhat glitchy game. Fun concept, great assets. I was the monster indeed.

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:36am

Great art work and mood! Couldn't finish though...
Here some bugs I found:
- I teleported to outside the ship (but still I liked the mechanic!)
- At the spot I killed a human appeared another human that I couldn't kill
- I couldn't read the HUD (1360x768)
- A human and me got stuck at the door

Also camera and player movement was difficult to manage, and humans were too fast to get a kill if they didn't stop xp
I guess the music in the intro could also be in the game ^^;

But still great job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:43am

Graphics are great! Enemy AI is a little wonky, though.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:46am

I dropped out to space in the first level. :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:48am

[From MGD:Jonathan Schrack] There comes a time when it's 7:57pm and you have to just pray that all your colliders are in place ;)

Bonus points to anyone who can figure out how to trigger the glitch that makes you a Smooth Criminal ( http://bit.ly/1KjaO4K ) for the rest of the level. :D

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:12am

That was impressively nice looking and controls were great. I can't tell if the bugs were on purpose, but I kept falling to earth when I passed the doorways...

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Sorry to bother you (I wish I could PM...), but I tried to fix the physics simulation slo-mo bug in my game! Would you like to try it again?

Halleflux says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:26am

The graphics are absolutely amazing. It's really hard to believe that you managed to do all that in 52 hours. Well done!
It's unfortunate that the camera and the lights don't work too well, it's hard to see any of the detail you put into the textures and animations. =\
Unfortunately, the game beyond that kinda falls apart. You have a good premise, but the AI is weird, the controls (and again, camera) are difficult... It's just hard to do anything.
I would recommend raising the ambient lighting some and making your camera and controls solid, and work from there. I'd look forward to a post-mortem!
Well done, for 52 hours =P

Halleflux says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:26am

Oh, and the robot fell down. I think it was just after attacking.

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

ripter says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:24pm

OSX Getting an error:

Dyld Error Message:
Symbol not found: _mono_set_dirs
Referenced from: /Users/USER/Downloads/*/DeadCode.app/Contents/MacOS/DeadCode
Expected in: /Users/USER/Downloads/*/DeadCode.app/Contents/MacOS/../Frameworks/MonoEmbedRuntime/osx/libmono.0.dylib

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Mac version doesnt work.

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

KaiseanGames says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:25pm

I've had some problems with collisions - mech falling through the floor. But other than that, nice execution.

Anti says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Graphics are really good. The controlls seemed awkard at first but got used to it quite fast. The linux client was a big buggy but overall great entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]